English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2007, 21:35   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
My BPPC 040 to 060 upgrade

Okay! i got my BPPC back from PG in Sweden.

Just wanted to share with you all the SUPERB work that he did. The quality of the soldering is FANTASTIC.

He desoldered my 040, soldered a perfectly fitting Socket. Installed a lovely 68060 with mask 71E41J, added a socket for the oscillator, changed multiplier to keep PPC speed unchanged but 060 speed at 64mhz and flashed the firmware. Tested the board and posted it back - insured.

Need to add a heatsink and fan to 060 then she gets fired up...


Last edited by DDNI; 29 May 2007 at 10:26.
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 May 2007, 21:36   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
great news!!!!
my rev2 DCE bppc also had a socketed real 060/60 mhz!
keropi is offline  
Old 25 May 2007, 21:43   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@DDNI
Fantastic Job indeed!!!


I should really post picies of the job JJB did on my 060 its was a complete rescue... its a shame i didn`t take a pic of it before it went for repairs... i honestly thought it was a gonner....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 25 May 2007, 22:03   #4
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
So who can tell me what magic libraries and apps I need to set up in order to get the most from this puppy???
DDNI is offline  
Old 25 May 2007, 22:10   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI
Total cost 90.00
Including the 060? That is a bargain!

Quote:
Need to add a heatsink and fan to 060 then she gets fired up...
It shouldnt need one at 64MHz but if you want one
alexh is offline  
Old 25 May 2007, 22:34   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Yes including the 060!

Now which version of 68060.library is recommended. Do I need Cyberpatcher/oxypatcher?
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 May 2007, 00:02   #7
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI
Yes including the 060!

Now which version of 68060.library is recommended. Do I need Cyberpatcher/oxypatcher?
Yeah, Per Gunnar does great jobs, he did my two BPPC's

You should use the latest libs found here http://phase5.a1k.org/files/040_060Libs.zip

Cyberpatcher is fine but Oxypatcher is suppose to be slightly better
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 26 May 2007, 00:57   #8
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
What? Where? How?

So, how can one send a turbo board to Per Gunnar for modding? Who is he? What's his email address for instance? Would like to know just in case please.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 26 May 2007, 01:33   #9
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
the cpu libs should be in the firmware of the bppc

Cyberpatcher will be best suited to the phase5 libs.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 26 May 2007, 11:23   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Ta Mad-Matt. I just plopped the card in and it worked...!

Now where to find Cyberpatcher... any help out there???


edit: Found it here. http://phase5.a1k.org/index.php?id=1

Last edited by DDNI; 26 May 2007 at 11:30.
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 May 2007, 12:16   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
now go register WarpDT !

and remember to disable cachebility of the Chip-Memory , with the ChipNoCache option in whdload.prefs... if u don't disable it, u will get major slowdowns!

also DDNI, make some PM space man!

Last edited by keropi; 26 May 2007 at 12:30.
keropi is offline  
Old 27 May 2007, 02:27   #12
billy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: US / A
Age: 42
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI
Okay! i got my BPPC back from PG in Sweden.

Just wanted to share with you all the SUPERB work that he did. The quality of the soldering is FANTASTIC.

He desoldered my 040, soldered a perfectly fitting Socket. Installed a lovely 68060 with mask 71E41J, added a socket for the oscillator, changed multiplier to keep PPC speed unchanged but 060 speed at 64mhz and flashed the firmware. Tested the board and posted it back - insured.
Total cost 90.00
That's just HOT!!! {drool} people with those kind of skills & merit deserve kudos!
billy is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 09:56   #13
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Nice, almost makes U wanna go looking for dead ones on Ebay...
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 March 2008, 18:06   #14
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Downloaded Cyberpatcher, unpacked it, DBL click on Cyberpatcher.... Is that it running?
DDNI is offline  
Old 15 March 2008, 18:18   #15
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 473
Put it into WBStartup folder. It runs in background.
DJBase is offline  
Old 16 March 2008, 02:56   #16
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Some nice modding there
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Amiga1200 OS4.1 Upgrade Kit! BPPC 060/60 PPC330 Mediator 1200TX +Radeon9250 fitzsteve MarketPlace 5 18 March 2013 22:40
CyberStorm MKII upgrade 040->060 mabus Hardware mods 7 16 June 2012 23:28
Cyberstorm Mk-III 060 - 060, 040 dummy libs Akiko support.Apps 1 07 February 2011 21:30
Upgrading Phase5 Cyberstorm MKII 040/40 upgrade to 060/50... mabus support.Hardware 13 16 January 2008 03:31
Swap: My BPPC 240/060 + SCSI For A BPPC 240/060 + Money or Blizzardvision CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 8 11 September 2006 07:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23449 seconds with 11 queries