English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 January 2002, 03:02   #1
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,392
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
CD32 Project 32

ANyone got this working ok? I have a bunch of isos, I used Daemon tools for the iso, and everytime it errors ( winuae error )
It has two versions of winuae in the folder, 14 and 17.. looking on the page, it says it works better with 14.
Any help would be much appreciated

Don't directly type your signature. If you want one, configure it in your UserCP
Have a nice day
stainy is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 January 2002, 08:31   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Sure it works ok What OS are you using ?? XP ?? There are some slight problems with that, but the Author (hi @WindowsKiller ) hopes to fix it for next release !
RetroMan is offline  
Old 14 January 2002, 19:45   #3
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,392
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
yeah XP

ok, I`ll sit tight thanks retro
stainy is online now  
Old 14 January 2002, 21:35   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Apparently, if you disable XP Themes, it'll work without any problems.

Right click on your desktop, click the appearance tab and under Windows and Buttons, change it to, Windows Classic (Butt Ugly) mode.
Ian is offline  
Old 14 January 2002, 22:15   #5
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,392
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
oh

Ok thanks I`ll give that a whirl
stainy is online now  
Old 15 January 2002, 11:38   #6
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
cool

Ok, Project 32 works fine on my XP machine, I always use the classic look in XP, so I don't know what will happen if I change that look.

I also use Deamon Tools to mount the ISO-images. The only games I have tested so far are IK+ and D-Generation as these are the games which are supported by Project 32 and which I could find on the net too.

Now I would like to test a game which has a nice big intro and has nice audio tracks. I have Banshee ISO (which is track 1) and I also have 2 audio tracks in mp3 format. Can someone tell me how I can make 1 CD of all 3 files, or to make it more complicated... can I make an ISO-image on my PC which contains all 3 files resulting in a complete CD32 Iso-image? I know Banshee isn't supported (yet) by Project 32, but I might need this help for a similar game which is supported by Project 32.

Thanks in advance.
Riempie is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 15:56   #7
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
I'm starting to doubt... does Project 32 even support CD music / audio tracks? Or does it 'only' emulate the data (gfx, sfx)....
Riempie is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 17:10   #8
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally posted by Riempie
I'm starting to doubt... does Project 32 even support CD music / audio tracks? Or does it 'only' emulate the data (gfx, sfx)....
atm it doesn't support cdda. Because there aren't so many games with cdda and I don't want to waste time for that now. Maybe later, if it supports more games...

Last edited by pcGTW_Webmaster; 15 January 2002 at 17:16.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 17:17   #9
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
atm it doesn't support cdda. Because there aren't so many games with cdda and I don't want to waste time for that now. Maybe later, if it support more games...
What's the point of playing a CD32 game then? Especially when it's basically the same thing with the A1200 version.
 
Old 15 January 2002, 17:37   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Most CD³² games also have better InGame music/sound samples than the disc versions ..... so it doesn´t allways has to be CDDA
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 19:43   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Really? I've always thought that CD32's good sound was something about the audio capacity of the medium.
 
Old 15 January 2002, 20:08   #12
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Sure it´s all about disk capacity, no doubt about that, but it isn´t allways necessary to have extra audio tracks to feature better music/sound !! Most times they only use bigger samples that are stuffed inside the data track ..... just like on a floppy
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 January 2002, 22:22   #13
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Akiko

Ok, now I've succesfully tested Project 32, I tried the demo-version of Akiko.
I tried Total Carnage and Akira which doesn't seem to work. Has anybody tried Akiko in combination with Deamon Tools? Anybody got a game working with it?

And to Windowskiller:
how hard is it to implement cdda-support? Can't you 'use' some features of Akiko which seems to support it?
Riempie is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 01:17   #14
Nian
Junior Member
Nian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sol / Earth
Posts: 45
Angry Hrm...

Erm the very idea of cd32 emulation is to let you use those special versions of amiga games with all those features. I for one would think that its essential to have cdaudio. Just to prove how good the games were, noone wants to emulate the shit games they want the classics and surely Fire&Ice, Liberation, Disposable Hero, Super StarDust, Sensible Soccer (Euro Championship) make it worth having cdaudio? Not to mention the dozens of other great games that got the revamped music. No your emulator is pointless without it. and don't forget that there were a few games like Simon The Sorcerer that don't work on anything faster than a 2xCDrom. their speech stuffs up.
Nian is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 01:25   #15
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
You got better audio also WITHOUT CDDA support ..... AFAIK there are only 2 or 3 CD³² games with extra Audio Tracks !!! All the extra music is stuffed into the data track itself, so it IS supported by Project 32 anyway, so why complain ???
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 January 2002, 01:36   #16
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm, maybe CDDA is not a must. I can always play the mp3 in the background
 
Old 16 January 2002, 12:55   #17
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
BTW, can someone tell me (or point me to a website ) how I can burn these CD32 iso's on my PC and then play them again from my real CD-drive attached to my Amiga?

I know there was a website which explained all this, but the CD32 websites I used to visit a lot doesn't seem to be up anymore...
Riempie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Introducing - Project: CD32 icbrkr Amiga websites reviews 14 19 December 2013 23:22
cd32 project idea i challenge ... sian request.Other 11 15 June 2013 19:34
Unofficial CD32 Conversions (An RGCD Side-Project) Heavy Stylus Amiga scene 102 08 May 2011 22:20
cd32 new project ? Dexther support.Games 0 19 September 2005 13:07
Project-X/Ultimate Body Blows (CD32) killergorilla HOL data problems 3 11 September 2003 21:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18825 seconds with 11 queries