English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Thread Tools
Old 17 May 2007, 01:40   #1
Another World
Posts: n/a
Password Sytem ..... Missing !

There are things i'll never understand
One of this is the absence of a password system in platform games
Only few titles have it
Don't you think this is a fault ?
Restart all times from the beginning
It's not my idea of fun
I'm tuned for replies

Good Night
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2007, 01:45   #2
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 39
Posts: 6,907
Yeah, it's a real pain in the backside. What were they thinking???

Probably not really the answer your looking for but... if using WinUAE then you can use Save States to get around this
DamienD is online now  
Old 17 May 2007, 02:33   #3
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 35
Posts: 1,335
I guess some of them did it to increase total play time.

Thank God you can use savestates these days as DamienD mentioned!
laffer is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 15:08   #4
Graham Humphrey
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 29
Posts: 10,676
As a general rule, it seemed to be mostly arcade conversions that didn't have passwords, presumably to stay as faithful to the original as possible, and most arcade games aren't that long anyway (Rodland is a case in point - even without passwords is doesn't take long to play through at all, so if there were passwords you could complete it extremely quickly indeed).
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 16:08   #5
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: .
Posts: 3,399
Originally Posted by DamienD
Probably not really the answer your looking for but... if using WinUAE then you can use Save States to get around this
you could do the same on a real amiga with an action Replay
Dizzy is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 16:14   #6
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,128
Originally Posted by Dizzy
you could do the same on a real amiga with an action Replay
Yep, i finished the later levels of Wolfchild with it, ten years ago.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 16:22   #7
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 593
Yeah, I used to use my Action Replay regularly for that!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 18 May 2007, 20:46   #8
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 36
Posts: 1,117
I do not like the password system.There is nothing compared to one long play with a hard training of many hours before,although I never manage to finish the game, that gives more attraction to the game.if I like a game it does not matter to me to play repeatedly.

I don't imagine Lethal Weapon without passwords.it's of the most difficult games that I know and without passwords can be almost impossible to complete,and with passwords also

Last edited by frikilokooo; 18 May 2007 at 20:52.
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 18 May 2007, 21:45   #9
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 188
I love Rock'n'Roll (no pun intended).

But... there's just too many levels to play through! If there is one game I think suffers considerably from lack of a password system... Rock'n'Roll must be the one.
Legerdemain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMitcp problem with password paulisthebest support.Other 2 04 November 2009 09:28
Boing Bag 2 password? GreenMeanie support.Apps 37 02 April 2008 04:10
AmFTP Password Decoder Chaeo support.Apps 3 29 January 2005 00:06
Forgot password :o( Pete support.Apps 3 30 December 2004 21:20
Password protection in Breathless? Tim Janssen support.Games 3 31 May 2002 09:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19077 seconds with 11 queries