English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 May 2007, 13:07   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Question A2000 Comp.Z Tower: info on floppy port mod...

I got this Comp.Z towered A2000 (dead mobo though, waiting for new one) and I need some info on this floppy port "mod" it has....
it seems it is power related??? I don't get it, is it used to power something internally?







any info?
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 May 2007, 13:24   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Disk motor and reset leds? Where is the red wire connected to?

Can you take a macro shot of the connector's rear end, as I'm not sure where any of the wires really go, actually. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 13:37   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
red is ground AFAIK, and looking the connector pins from left to right, on the 3rd goes the black, and on the 5th goes the brown cable...
keropi is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 19:33   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Ok, then it looks like motor + reset.

Both are active low, so perhaps it's for a pair of buttons or a momentary toggle switch.

I don't know what that would be used for, though.. Perhaps something cracking or piracy related?
Jope is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 22:50   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I really dunno, I received the tower and this cable was just hanging AFAIR
also for some strange reason, this tower has built-in monitor switcher, with 2xVGA inputs and an RGB one...
keropi is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 22:58   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 2,262
Sounds nice and custom No idea what use being able to tweak the motor + reset lines is...

I installed 3 switches on my A2000:

1. Swapping KS1.3 + KS3.1
2. Turning HD booting on + off
3. Turning AR3 on + off (Can't boot 3.1 with AR3 enabled)

Oh and I installed an NMI button for HrtMon & coding
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 16 May 2007, 23:22   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
at first I thought it was the parallel port that he was draining power from (or feeding?) but then I realised it was the floppy port... too bad the previous owner got it 2nd hard and knows nothing....
keropi is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 13:44   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
here is a HIGH-RES pic...
keropi is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 14:52   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 9,293
Mysterious Hardware Hacks!!!!

i just love 'em

could it be an LED indicator

could it be a sector counter

could it be a small thermo-nuclear activator.... with keropi's gear... whom knows.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 14:58   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
maybe I connect a "free sex&beer" jumper on it???
keropi is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 15:14   #11
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,356
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
maybe I connect a "free sex&beer" jumper on it???
If that is what it does, im making one asap lol
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 16:08   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 9,293
Keropi
Quote:
maybe I connect a "free sex&beer" jumper on it???
ElectroBlaster
Quote:
If that is what it does, im making one asap lol
Then I am making two AND a 5x replicator to rent out the other 5




..... red to ground right????
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 17:13   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
@ Zetr0 :

starting a pimpin' business eh? profitable, u get to wear funky clothes, u get the right to decorate with fur your pimp-mobile, bang your chicks... hell yeah, I'll open the GR branch!
keropi is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 21:43   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 9,293
SWEET!!!!


Just call me "Pimp Ze" ... now just gotta find some muscle and the pimp ride is complete!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 17 May 2007, 22:40   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I am gonna export to u some chiquitas!
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2000 Upgrade Info and Advice Needed Please northern_retro support.Hardware 5 15 February 2011 00:54
My First mod - A1200 Tower h0ffman Hardware mods 1 09 September 2008 04:20
Info mod ripper nnever2000 support.WinUAE 2 26 July 2006 18:28
Mod info extraction LaundroMat request.Apps 1 20 March 2006 22:56
any info on building A1200 Tower? technium support.Hardware 2 26 August 2004 15:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16797 seconds with 11 queries