English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2007, 19:33   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Question Help in creating a script to launch an executable...

I need some help amigos!
I want to make a script to turn off cpu caches, run the prog, and when the prog exits to enable the caches again....
the command I need to run is: gg FAST
I tried a simple script, but the cpu_enable-cache command does not execute _after_ gg quits... (reminds me of win9x DOS scripts made to unpack rip-games, I wish there was a startx command for amiga! or is there one? it launches a prog, but the batch file does not continue until startx is finished...)

why? when using a GoldeGate3/486 card on a cpu higher than 030, it is advised in order to run OK, to disable the amiga cpu caches... on my csppc with socketed oscillators, when I use the 64mhz one for the 060 the GG program does not even start! so I reverted to 50mhz, but still need a better solution to run the GG software reliably...

maybe someone can hack this to the GG executable? (keropi points at musashi5150 )

gracias!
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 May 2007, 09:05   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Got your PM dude

A simple C program with a scanf or similar would wait until you press <return> - that would be a quick and dirty solution for you and would literally take 1 min to code up.

Searches Aminet....

Or there is this:
http://aminet.net/util/batch/WaitAnyKey.lha

Worth a try... and if doesn't work I'm sure we can come up with something else for you...
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 04 May 2007, 09:09   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
excellent!
I will check it in the evening, when I get back home...
keropi is offline  
Old 04 May 2007, 09:15   #4
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
It just depends at what level the GG takes control of your keyboard. But don't worry, if not we can map it to your joystick firebutton instead for example
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 04 May 2007, 09:31   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
about the keyboard thingie... I find it that if I play some old DOS games that use alt and ctrl as buttons, the keyboard can lockup! the game keeps playing, but no controls are available... only way is to reset the amiga (the reset amiga shortcut works, alt+ctl+del does not however) Happens in Comander Keen games for instance... remapping keys works fine and no lockups... also has it ever happen to you that the pc part freezes, but u cannot use the keyboard to switch to amiga and u have to reboot?
hey musashi5150, is it hard to re-write/hack this GG prog? maybe have it do the cache stuff itself? have u ever looked at it? I must say, the software on speedy amigas is somewhat buggy....
keropi is offline  
Old 04 May 2007, 10:52   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I've never had any problems with it on my Amiga at all - always works ok, no keyboard freezes. Have you tried NOT using the FAST argument? I don't usually use it.

I've never looked at the exe, but it would be fairly easy I think to write a wrapper around it that enables and disables caches - but if that keywait prog works then it probably isn't necessary.

I'm a bit oldskool and always run it from CLI anyway then I manually turn the caches on again afterwards
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 04 May 2007, 10:57   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yeah, never really tried without the FAST option, I recall it says on the manual that if u use real ISA vga, it helps a lot... I still believe it is due to caches, my script does not work ok... I will check the keywait proggie...
keropi is offline  
Old 05 May 2007, 09:53   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I received yesterday the RBM TowerHawk 4000 towering kit, and wass in hurry to test it... lol
the gg486 does work on this 7xZorro busboard by 95% ... I can no longer run sysinfo or play tyrian, and in order now to play AloneInTheDark I have to disabe the 486slc2 internal cache... also DOOM quits with a bunch or addresses...
I am also waiting for an A2000T with a gg486 inside, I will compare compatibillity.... for sure the gg does not work 100% on the rbm, I wonder what causes the probs with this handfull of software...
keropi is offline  
Old 05 May 2007, 21:39   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
damn, it appears that these strange issues are because I replaced the CL-5420 vga I had with a CL-5422 ... that change caused all the probs... now everything is like I had the normal 4000 zorro-busboard...
who would have guessed it... :?

also the FAST option is great, without it the vga speed is about half (when using a real isa-vga...)
keropi is offline  
Old 05 May 2007, 21:41   #10
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Did the keywait prog work ?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 05 May 2007, 21:45   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
ofcourse, I was about to edit my previous post! it works PERFECT, thanks musashi5150!
keropi is offline  
Old 05 May 2007, 21:47   #12
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Your welcome mate - glad to have pointed you in the right direction.
musashi5150 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make it executable from WB? bodhi Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 01 August 2013 02:40
Executable script file/arguments shrub3056 support.Apps 1 26 July 2011 18:08
File not executable amigapd support.Apps 3 22 February 2011 17:59
File not executable ancalimon support.WinUAE 8 15 February 2008 17:18
Cybernoid 1 and 2 executable... the wolf request.Old Rare Games 0 29 June 2004 01:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17838 seconds with 11 queries