English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2007, 18:46   #21
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
So only Emuloader?

Nobody have some hidden awesome loaders they've been keeping a secret?
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2007, 18:53   #22
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
There are a lot of frontends, matey. But i'm using mostly Gamebase for my own setups, because it supports scripts with "per game" settings.

D-Fend is useful, if you want to play with Dosbox.

GameEX is really nice Multi Frontend, but it is very slow (looks like a Windows XP Media Edition).

http://www.e-lation.net/site/frontends_win.html
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 April 2007, 19:35   #23
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
I'm using Vapourwares MAGE! *The invisi edition*. Its good and even has its own support channel on IRC so you can ask questions like `where is it` and `will it ever be released` and `can i run APU-TCP-CRP games on it` and `Do you have a recent picture of my genitals` etc..
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 22:49   #24
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
Quote:
EmuLoader is excellent, And its coded in Delphi. So its double excellent.
ähem. Delphi has so many bugs, i cant count them

gamebase uses access... sorry but gamebase is technical outdated, not only a bit

@retro-nerd: why arent you on the ecc-board no more?

Last edited by Coder; 29 April 2007 at 22:58.
Coder is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 23:09   #25
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coder
ähem. Delphi has so many bugs, i cant count them

gamebase uses access... sorry but gamebase is technical outdated, not only a bit

@retro-nerd: why arent you on the ecc-board no more?
ECC is not really bad for console emus but definitive not useable for computer emulators. I'm waiting for MAGE and hope for a miracle.

By the way: I'm using a real amiga now.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 29 April 2007 at 23:15.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 23:21   #26
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
Quote:
ECC is not really bad for console emus but definitive not useable for computer emulators.
ecc is in development was nicht ist, kann ja noch werden
Coder is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 23:28   #27
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coder
ähem. Delphi has so many bugs, i cant count them
Ahh .. That some talent you have there, Not many can talk outta their arse and in another language too.

I bet you run `Nix` too, because `M$ WinBlows` has so many bugs also...

.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 23:33   #28
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coder
ecc is in development was nicht ist, kann ja noch werden
No, i don't think so. There is to much focus on adding useless features like the online db, tweaking gui etc.

Der Drops ist gelutscht.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 April 2007, 23:34   #29
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
Quote:
Ahh .. That some talent you have there, Not many can talk outta their arse and in another language too.
that make it better, right

i can only talk for me, but i wouldnt use delphi for my next project
>4 years of development, in my spare time although on my work, are enough...

By the way, my own (unreleased) Frontend is developed in Delphi too... but i wish, i choosed an other language / IDE
here you can take a look on it:
http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/2...enannt1zt6.jpg

Last edited by Coder; 29 April 2007 at 23:52.
Coder is offline  
Old 30 April 2007, 10:38   #30
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
I used OLL but for some reason recently it crashes after some operations. I almost have to re-install it every time I wanna use it..

Does LusSpace rename files like OLL? Don't suppose it uses the same DAT files??
Methanoid is offline  
Old 30 April 2007, 15:43   #31
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid
Does LusSpace rename files like OLL?
Nope, it doesn't rename the files. I'm pretty sure it uses the files names from the latest TOSEC DATs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid
Don't suppose it uses the same DAT files??
Not sure on this one. To download LusSpace you need to register on their website. To save you the trouble I'll put the LusSpaceFE1.17.zip (which has DATs inside) into The Zone! so you can take a look
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 April 2007, 20:02   #32
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
Toolmanager...without the icons (just plain text)!
i think you don't need any screen capture to figure it out....
pbareges is offline  
Old 06 May 2007, 18:23   #33
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
Quote:
No, i don't think so. There is to much focus on adding useless features like the online db, tweaking gui etc.

Der Drops ist gelutscht.
it takes often years to develop a good program.
Du bist zu ungeduldig. Mich stört eher, das sie sich sehr aufs Marketing konzentrieren
Coder is offline  
Old 06 May 2007, 18:31   #34
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coder
it takes often years to develop a good program.
Du bist zu ungeduldig. Mich stört eher, das sie sich sehr aufs Marketing konzentrieren
Sorry for the german switch:

Nicht wirklich. Ich hatte den Eindruck, das beide Programmierer zu wenig Ahnung von den Konsolen & Emulatoren haben. Phoenix sprach immer von "Multi-roms", bis ich rausfand das er Spiele mit mehreren Disketten meinte. Und Plattformen wie Gamecube oder PS2 einzubauen war schon recht albern. Die Script Unterstützung fehlt immer noch etc.

Ich habe halt kein Interesse mehr daran, es werden bessere Frontends erscheinen, ganz sicher.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 07:50   #35
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
my Frontend is nearly complete too... Since 2 years a homepage is planned I must release it... and a english translation is missing now too, its available in german only.

here it is an actually screenshot:
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/2...benanntdp5.jpg

and here it is:
http://www.datenschleuder.eu/get_8b9...e755cee2f.html

it will be shareware...

i dont know exactly why i am writing this (here), because an english translation doesnt exists now...
Coder is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 11:19   #36
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
Looks interesting - but not enough to pay for it.
Please list some of the unique features it will have.

I don't think I would pay for a frontend to emulators that already have a (reasonable) frontend and that will not "revolutionize" the way I interact with them.

But keep up the good work.
NLS is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 14:31   #37
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
I bet you know no one program, which has similar features.

Its an Client/Server Program

It is not just a frontend...

-- Client / server capability, the database can be on a other computer
-- programmable database engine, other programs has predefined inputfields, my not. You can say what inputfields you want to have.
-- Built-in screenshot generator, screenshots were build automatically, without intervention, generated in the resolution as requested and directly assigned to a game. Either automatically at intervals or at the push of a button during the gaming.
-- Support for 2 databases where can be switched
-- Program can run from a read-only medium
-- embedded webbrowser, IE and Firefox/Mozilla are supported. Tabbed Browsing is supported. Favorites from IE & Firefox & Opera were involved automatically at the program startup

sorry for the bad english...

But it is fairly complex and not for everyone, I accepted.

In any case, you should not judge too quickly ...

It uses commercial database components (IBDAC) to reach this speed... but i has optimized the performance too...

Last edited by Coder; 24 January 2008 at 14:49.
Coder is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 15:06   #38
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
I don't judge - I am just saying it should be really unique for someone that needs those unique features and another free frontend will not suffice, for you to get money for it.

Hope for the best for you and your creation.
NLS is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 18:54   #39
Coder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 28
it will not be so easy to reach this result... i am working on it for so long. The appearance wasnt my priority, so it looks not so professional like other programs...

Although not much should be sold, enough people will illegal copy the programm - as it is always...

it needs only ONE registration to worth more than freeware for me.

By the way, it uses Firebird 2.0 as its database system.

Last edited by Coder; 24 January 2008 at 20:40.
Coder is offline  
Old 24 January 2008, 21:42   #40
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 43
Posts: 408
nice

let me know if you need a beta tester (I may eventually even register if there is a reason)
NLS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In search of frontends... IntrepidX New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 24 April 2010 15:38
Help ! Problems with user menus and start menus in Directory Opus 5.8 beltrixx support.Apps 0 27 May 2009 09:30
Probs with that Lemon and other Frontends ade42 support.WinUAE 1 25 May 2009 04:40
Amiga games with good menus/shops killergorilla Retrogaming General Discussion 52 17 May 2007 20:41
Frontends? ras2a New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 August 2006 16:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21531 seconds with 11 queries