English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2007, 14:28   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Good menus/frontends.

Weird request this one.

I'm not after a frontend to use at all, I just want people to give some examples of which frontends they think work really well, giving the user exactly what they need in terms of useability and visual splendour.

I'd appreciate a screenshot, and if you can be arsed, a little explanation on why you think it's so good, how it differs from others, any excellent features it has, and how you navigate it.

I don't use any frontends apart from AGS on my A1200 (which I'm getting really tired of).

Let's just call it research.
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:03   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Igame. It works, it is fast (despite docs saying its slow). It hasnt crashed yet. Setting up screenshots is a pain though as is classifying games by genre. A pop up window on game exit asking you to pick a genre would be good. Maybe a dat file with all games already classified to a genre would be nice.
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:05   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
I mean any frontend, MAME32, whatever, not just Amiga frontends.

Sorry if I didn't make that clear
killergorilla is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:11   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
I used Offline List. I needed the way to know which games have English language (GBA) and this frontend does that nicely.



I've set couple of emulators to work with it and it works well, but it's not how I usually run the games.
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:16   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I know, but if it aint Amiga it aint worth writing about lol
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:16   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Damn Anubis your collection of GBA games must have cost you a fortune
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:17   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
I use LusSpace FE with my SNES DVD and it's quite cool, works with loads of different emulators / systems

DamienD is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:21   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Hmm...

Those two look identical, I can see a theme here

Keep em coming!

Anyone use one as a frontend for an arcade cabinet or something like that?

Maybe something without a mouse?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:25   #9
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI
Damn Anubis your collection of GBA games must have cost you a fortune
And to ensure money spend, you have to make sure you have backups of everything you own!
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:27   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Here's a site with MAME FrontEnds:

http://www.zophar.net/frontends/mame.html

Personally, I don't use them though so can't comment how good they are etc...
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:28   #11
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
0.7d (2004/01/22) ! .. You've not updated in a while eh.

.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
I used Offline List. I needed the way to know which games have English language (GBA) and this frontend does that nicely.



I've set couple of emulators to work with it and it works well, but it's not how I usually run the games.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:38   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
I'm using Emuloader for Mame. It has some nice gamefilters and a online connection to MAWS.

Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 17:57   #13
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
EmuLoader is excellent, And its coded in Delphi. So its double excellent.
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 18:10   #14
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Emuloader seems convincing. next time i put some order here i'll try it.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 18:22   #15
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_0rga5m
0.7d (2004/01/22) ! .. You've not updated in a while eh.

.
No, I don't update front end that I don't use that often. Screenshot is from their web site, and btw I don't use official dat files, but NoIntro one.
Anubis is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 18:25   #16
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
I use Emuloader here too.
Ultron is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 20:32   #17
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana
Emuloader seems convincing. next time i put some order here i'll try it.
Emuloader is the king amongst MAME frontends.
I started my MAME experience with MAME32 but after switching over to MAME/Emuloader there's no turning back.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 20:53   #18
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay
Emuloader is the king amongst MAME frontends.
I started my MAME experience with MAME32 but after switching over to MAME/Emuloader there's no turning back.
cool! but does it use the bare mame executable or the various hacked ones also? so to use their features like filters, scale etc.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 21:04   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Emu Loader is a GUI for MAME (TM), ZiNc, Daphne, AGEMAME and HazeMD emulators.
It is compatible with all versions of Windows. This frontend started as a hobby and a
learning project. When I first discovered MAME back in 1997, I couldn't find a frontend
with everything I wanted.
At the very beginning, it was known as "Mameloader" (between friends), but before I
could release it to the public, another frontend came out first, exactly with this name.
Oops... change of plans! "Visual MAME" / "fxMAME" / "guiMAME" /
"Arcade PC - MAME Frontend." ??? None of those names came to life, heh. With the help of
"Chen Yu-hau" from Taipei/Taiwan, Emu Loader slowly became popular. But now it has become
something much bigger and well known in the emulation scene. I got help from others too of course,
but if it wasn't from Chen's initial help, the development would have been terminated.
Thank you all!

WARNING: DOS MAME and MAME32 are not supported by the frontend!
I'm using it with Mame32 Plus! and it works fine. You can load a Overlay PNG for your desired filter effect.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 26 April 2007 at 21:21.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 April 2007, 22:28   #20
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
I'm using it with Mame32 Plus! and it works fine. You can load a Overlay PNG for your desired filter effect.
hey that's interesting, thank you, i'll try it for sure
Marcuz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In search of frontends... IntrepidX New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 24 April 2010 15:38
Help ! Problems with user menus and start menus in Directory Opus 5.8 beltrixx support.Apps 0 27 May 2009 09:30
Probs with that Lemon and other Frontends ade42 support.WinUAE 1 25 May 2009 04:40
Amiga games with good menus/shops killergorilla Retrogaming General Discussion 52 17 May 2007 20:41
Frontends? ras2a New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 August 2006 16:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23996 seconds with 11 queries