English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 December 2007, 21:45   #21
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
TBH: Nothing that could remotely run OS4. (Not one of my many computers has a PPC in it)

While the above is a nice idea I honestly believe it's a non-starter, if anyone wishes to prove me wrong I'd be very happy. (and for Hyperion)

At the risk of going over well worn ground; so you know my POV:
-OS4 @ this point makes no sense.
-Non-the-less I'd happily buy a copy if I could use it.
(how many people here use 'Amigas' because it makes sense?)

-Call it history or politics, OS4 has been compiled to the wrong platform.
why?
Two reasons:
-Hardware availability + price of joining in.
-IMO: The Amiga is dead. It's a retro-hobby now. (or ought to be) Keeping it on 'life-support' is both hampering that retro-hobby and hampering the development of 'modern' Amiga-like OS's such as OS4.

For any that disagree with this POV, that's fine. Please don't take this as OS4 or Amiga bashing - it's not.

Sorry wandering off-topic...
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 December 2007, 21:46   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Hyperion didnt even do the drivers for the internal SCSI controllers on the A3000 or A4000T or the G-REX PCI bridgeboard!

They are not going to have done any drivers for a sharkppc and hidden them on the AOS4 classic disc, no matter how much you want it to be true.

If you like the idea, buy one for $20, get a Prometheus for $200 and get coding, if you cant code it's tough.
alexh is offline  
Old 01 December 2007, 23:08   #23
CU_AMiGA
Banned
CU_AMiGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Exeter
Age: 32
Posts: 959
oh great! more lies and broken promises! vapourware strikes yet again! here is wot i think of the whole fucking fiasco! no wonder are sharky friend aka JAWS at the bottom has such a snarly/angry face!


Last edited by CU_AMiGA; 01 December 2007 at 23:14.
CU_AMiGA is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 11:58   #24
Brass
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 55
Important News

IMPORTANT NEWS for everyone with a mediator ( well possibly )

I have spoken to sonnet these cards are PCI and should run in theory on anything PC included.

These cards have NO firmware so no firmware updates to get it to work in theory.

What it does come with is software for the Mac.

I.E you turn it on and it goes.

I have brought one and will attemp to get it running on my mediator by figuring out what the mac software does and then attempting the same thing. If I have to try it on the PC first so be it.

Just thought you would all be interested in the firmware stuff.

Cheers

Forgot to mention the chipset is TSI-107 from Tundra formaly motorola MPC series chip

Last edited by Brass; 19 December 2007 at 12:00. Reason: more info oops
Brass is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 14:49   #25
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
To avoid a new thread......


Additionally he felt that support for DMA PCI cards in AmigaOS4 mediator based machines should not be hard to develop....
Sorry, I'm a bit confused with this stuff, so a question:

In theory could you get a SharkPPC PCI card for an 060 based Amiga with Mediator and run OS4.0 and PPC Amiga software like Wipeout 2097 while retaining a conventional Amiga boot option?
Angus is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 15:06   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
In theory could you get a SharkPPC PCI card for an 060 based Amiga with Mediator and run OS4.0 and PPC Amiga software like Wipeout 2097 while retaining a conventional Amiga boot option?
Maybe, it probably depends on the firmware / compatibility of the Mediator/Prometheus/G-REX to support multi-master PCI systems.

Also it would be more like an AmigaOne with bolted-on Amiga rather than the current PowerUp solution.

You would almost certainly need a PCI gfx card as accessing the Amiga chipset via PCI will probably not work well (if at all).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brass View Post
attempt to get it running on my mediator by figuring out what the mac software does and then attempting the same thing.
Sorry to piss on your parade, but unless you are a good Amiga coder who knows the ins and outs of AmigaOS 3.x and AmigaOS4.0 you don't have a chance. If Hyperion chose not to develop down this route, you can trust that it was for a good reason.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brass View Post
Just thought you would all be interested in the firmware stuff.
Yeah, I did speculate there was no firmware, good to know for sure.

Last edited by alexh; 19 December 2007 at 15:18.
alexh is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 16:22   #27
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
[quote=alexh;380373]
You would almost certainly need a PCI gfx card as accessing the Amiga chipset via PCI will probably not work well (if at all).

quote]

Well, I think that's a given - you need a Voodoo 3 or similar for a mediator to actually work at all.

But anyway, hmmmmm......

Is there any reason to suppose these will become available?
Angus is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 19:05   #28
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
If Elbox needs one of these $40 cards for development purposes DiscreetFX does not mind buying it for them.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 19 December 2007, 22:35   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
Is there any reason to suppose these will become available?
No. The PPC chips are no longer made.

All there are is whatever back stock Sonnet still have / second hand market.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 15:29   #30
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
@ Brass

Appartently there is some electrical incompatibility with the Shark/Sonnet PPC cards and the Mediator, in that the card requires 3.3V, but the Mediator does not provide it. There is a comment by platon42 on amiga.org:

http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/v...r=ASC&start=25

Quote:
Because it cannot work in an unmodified Mediator *ever* as it's missing the required 3,3 V traces. It cannot work for other reasons, at least not if it wants to have access the the motherboard hardware. mboehmer could elaborate on this, and I'm sure you will find some information about it somewhere.
The following URL has info on the different PCI standards with relation to 3.3V and 5V, and that they should be keyed differently, although some cards are keyed for both slots:

http://www.meinberg.de/english/info/pci.htm
Calgor is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 18:26   #31
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
@alexh
hmm true, yet when imbecilies are willing to pay $800+ for a 040 603e BPPC, it suggests there is a market for the SharkPPC
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 18:45   #32
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
hey Fred thats a mis quote !! Why I oughtta come over there and rip yer throat out! Instead I'll eat yer mother stuffed with chestnuts and orange on the 25th.....
DDNI is offline  
Old 23 December 2007, 19:00   #33
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
@ Brass

Appartently there is some electrical incompatibility with the Shark/Sonnet PPC cards and the Mediator, in that the card requires 3.3V, but the Mediator does not provide it. There is a comment by platon42 on amiga.org:

http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/v...r=ASC&start=25
I read that too, but the electrical compatibility could be overcome, it's more likely that it doent support Multi-master.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:49   #34
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Hi there,
I figured most of you would be curious to know my experiment..
Got me a Sonnet Crescendo 7200 G3@400 which by the way comes (as is already known) with 3 RAM sockets. Thus, i plugged in two 128MB RAM sticks from my powermac (not common SDRAM because it won't even fit physically) 5V ones. A friend of mine has a Mediator TX board so we fitted it there and fired 'er up. It was a no-go. Meaning: The 4.0 floppy booted, rebooted, and came to a Shell where we got the message of not enough memory.
This was a stock A1200 with no extra memory/acc boards of any kind.
Other than that, we had a Voodoo 3 3000, and fast ATA but the results were the same with/without 'em.
So we guessed that we needed some extra memory for the 1200 before we would repeat the test. We borrowed an 1240 card with 32MB, did the same again, and after reboot we did not get the memory message.
What we did get was a return code 20 error.
if we gave the Bootloader command we got an error of Kickstart/intuition.library.kmod not opening
Tried various changes in the hardware such as jumper settings on the Mediator, remove Voodoo, PCI slot changes, but always got to the same error.
Maybe the $20 (plus shipping went to $51) was a waste of money but i ain't that much worried about it. We Amigans are known to spend money and sell bodily parts anyway...
It's just that if it worked it would save a lot of people's wallets. OWC has had them in stock and i thought what the heck? let's give it a try.
If anyone has a bright idea or two just shoot!
My 2 cents of participation..
salax54 is offline  
Old 28 July 2008, 23:58   #35
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
no go, no way it will just work...
keropi is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 22:32   #36
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by salax54 View Post
Hi there,
I figured most of you would be curious to know my experiment..
Got me a Sonnet Crescendo 7200 G3@400 which by the way comes (as is already known) with 3 RAM sockets. Thus, i plugged in two 128MB RAM sticks from my powermac (not common SDRAM because it won't even fit physically) 5V ones. A friend of mine has a Mediator TX board so we fitted it there and fired 'er up. It was a no-go. Meaning: The 4.0 floppy booted, rebooted, and came to a Shell where we got the message of not enough memory.
This was a stock A1200 with no extra memory/acc boards of any kind.
Other than that, we had a Voodoo 3 3000, and fast ATA but the results were the same with/without 'em.
So we guessed that we needed some extra memory for the 1200 before we would repeat the test. We borrowed an 1240 card with 32MB, did the same again, and after reboot we did not get the memory message.
What we did get was a return code 20 error.
if we gave the Bootloader command we got an error of Kickstart/intuition.library.kmod not opening
Tried various changes in the hardware such as jumper settings on the Mediator, remove Voodoo, PCI slot changes, but always got to the same error.
Maybe the $20 (plus shipping went to $51) was a waste of money but i ain't that much worried about it. We Amigans are known to spend money and sell bodily parts anyway...
It's just that if it worked it would save a lot of people's wallets. OWC has had them in stock and i thought what the heck? let's give it a try.
If anyone has a bright idea or two just shoot!
My 2 cents of participation..
Great try But it won't work as the OS4 Bootloader only knows to look for blizzard ppc or cyberstorm ppc ...

No other support for PPC card. Theoretically it could work if support were added, though.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 17 August 2010, 23:02   #37
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenHD View Post
Theoretically it could work if support were added, though.
I don't think it could. We've discussed this before. The current mediator chip-set will almost certainly not be enough to use this card.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Debian work on PPC boards? wXR Amiga scene 2 16 February 2013 03:35
Elbox Shark G3/G4 - Real Amigas Thread Only !!! dir_marillion support.Hardware 7 19 March 2006 18:26
For sale: Blizzard PPC boards DoctorQ MarketPlace 19 27 June 2005 09:28
AmigaOne - Pegasos - Shark PPC Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 28 21 September 2002 05:32
PPC boards, why? oldpx support.Hardware 10 24 April 2002 12:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21189 seconds with 11 queries