English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2007, 20:24   #61
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
My Eyes!

Can't bloody focus.


.
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:33   #62
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
some lovely picture for Retro-Nerd and Damien


Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:33   #63
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay
Looky, I'm using scanlines!
Am I l33t or what?
hahahahaha

...you really have way too much time on your hands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy
some lovely picture for Retro-Nerd and Damien
Awesome
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:36   #64
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
hahahahaha

...you really have way too much time on your hands


Awesome
Not only that. The scanline shot isn't correct, look at Ironclaws for a proper one.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:00   #65
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Behold, my new windows look...
Double scanlines!
Double the blackness!!
Double the nothingness!!!

Last edited by Shoonay; 13 May 2008 at 13:44.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:05   #66
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
You play your amiga games which such big square pixels? Now i understand why people uses plasma TVs for it.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:08   #67
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Yeah, i'm using 409600x262144 for pal and 409600x204800 for ntsc games
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:10   #68
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay
Yeah, i'm using 409600x262144 for pal and 409600x204800 for ntsc games
Screenshots, please!!!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:14   #69
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Sorry, the plasma doesn't fit on the scaner panel
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:18   #70
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Screenshots, please!!!
They only show reality shows on his tv

Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:21   #71
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Sim Birds? I guess it needs a HOL entry, Dizzy.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:41   #72
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 609
Well, I use both, whichever I think looks better at the time!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 21:59   #73
Freakyweakywoo
(c) killergorilla 2007
Freakyweakywoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 276
I hate scanlines! Why would you want every other line to be a row of black pixels?!??! OHhhhhhhh yeeeessssss please make half my screen out of black pixels, pfffft
Freakyweakywoo is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:05   #74
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakyweakywoo
OHhhhhhhh yeeeessssss please make half my screen out of black pixels, pfffft
and take away half the sound scansound
Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:05   #75
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakyweakywoo
I hate scanlines! Why would you want every other line to be a row of black pixels?!??! OHhhhhhhh yeeeessssss please make half my screen out of black pixels, pfffft
Why have blocky, square pixels that look like something on an old PC and not a real Amiga???

I sort of agree with you about "black" though, this is why:

MAME32; has 25%, 50% scanlines.
Gens32; has brightness/intesity slider.

Also, if you look at real arcade monitors you can see what looks like faint transparent scanlines (which look wicked and help define the graphics). I guess this is why MAME implemented scanlines, to try and get that same feel (doesn't work as well though obviously)...

Last edited by DamienD; 28 March 2007 at 22:12.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:07   #76
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Screenshots, please!!!
Alright, You asked for it

This is my plasma tv, in my multiplayer room, where i play DynaBlaster with my - much older - friends. Currently browsing the web for cheats:


Here's a clouse-up - just look at the nice square pixels, and notice: NO SCANLINES :


As a bonus, here's my new mobile/handheld tv! Multiplayer mayhem while traveling:

(Don't mind the Tyskie beer commercial in the bkg )
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:19   #77
Freakyweakywoo
(c) killergorilla 2007
Freakyweakywoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 276
That has to be the largest image anyone has ever posted on EAB
Freakyweakywoo is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:22   #78
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Nah. Would've post a bigger one but PaintShopPro9 gives me only 32767x32767 :]
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 22:38   #79
Freakyweakywoo
(c) killergorilla 2007
Freakyweakywoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 276
Will anyone ever top 32767x32767?? Just think with scanlines there would only have been 16383.5 lines of visible infomation. The rest would have been black, awesome
Freakyweakywoo is offline  
Old 29 March 2007, 00:07   #80
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 563
Am I the only one who owned an M1438s Multisync-Monitor ? Damn, I hated this piece of crap. Produced 100%-scanlines as in the picture posted by Iconclaw. And that on a real miggy. F****ng piece of crap. That's when I learned that I prefer clearer pixels over scanlines .
MAME has a few nice filters for simulating a TV. But nothing beats the real thing (or an arcade monitor ).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00415.JPG
Views:	267
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	13508  
Konrad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29964 seconds with 13 queries