English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2007, 19:00   #41
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath
Does HOL have any screenshots with scanlines?

NO because they're shite!

Nuff said!
Not really, Belgarath. The screenshots are single pixels in 320x256. No wonder they look good, especially in this tiny size. NOW nuff said.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:01   #42
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Not really, Belgarath. The screenshots are single pixels in 320x256. No wonder they look good, especially in this tiny size. NOW nuff said.
You beat me to it Retro
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:04   #43
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
There's enough EVIL that developers did to the poor pixels through all these years.
Let's not kill them by ourselfs!
Yes to lovely big square pixels!
No to scanlines!!!
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:11   #44
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay
There's enough EVIL that developers did to the poor pixels through all these years.
Let's not kill them by ourselfs!
Yes to lovely big square pixels!
No to scanlines!!!
Sure, all what you want. But the amiga has non-square pixels. That why old PC DOS games looks so ugly in 320x256, compared to amiga games back in time.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:15   #45
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Those scanlines should be removed as an option.

It's just as covering your eyes while playing, everything becomes darker etc. Even it creates problems with newbies in emulation.

So death to scanlines!!

Ban all in 'yes' option for scanlines!!
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:16   #46
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath
Does HOL have any screenshots with scanlines?

NO because they're shite!

Nuff said!
Hey, I've seen several shots with scanlines in HOL.. promise... don't recall which games... but they are there somewhere.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:20   #47
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Who's side are you on?

And there aren't any scanlined shots in hol!
Belgarath is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:32   #48
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Sure, all what you want. But the amiga has non-square pixels. That why old PC DOS games looks so ugly in 320x256, compared to amiga games back in time.
Exactly

For example; in ScummVM, play the Amiga version of The Secret of Monkey Island... Looks absolutely rubbish, square and much like the PC version... Why, no scanlines filter
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:51   #49
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath
Who's side are you on?

And there aren't any scanlined shots in hol!
Sorry if I might be wrong, but I look at HOL pictures everyday, and I'm almost certain I've seen 1 or more with scanlines.

Are you sure it's not one of those "contributed" ones?.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 19:56   #50
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Are you sure it's not one of those "contributed" ones?.
hahahahaha, could have been me
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:00   #51
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Sure, all what you want. But the amiga has non-square pixels. That why old PC DOS games looks so ugly in 320x256, compared to amiga games back in time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Exactly

For example; in ScummVM, play the Amiga version of The Secret of Monkey Island... Looks absolutely rubbish, square and much like the PC version... Why, no scanlines filter
No. The Amiga did output pure square pixels, but we all had antialiasing TV quality monitors with the blur effect switched to max
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:00   #52
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
hahahahaha, could have been me
your new avatar

Last edited by Dizzy; 16 October 2009 at 23:28.
Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:08   #53
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Or this one.
Attached Images
 
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:09   #54
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Or this one.
hehehe I couldn't be arsed to do so many lines
Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:10   #55
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy
hehehe I couldn't be arsed to do so many lines
I just drew 2 lines on white back, copied them and pasted, copied the 4 lines and pasted, copied the 8 lines and pasted a few times over his avatar with transparent back on in mspaint... took 10 sec or so.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:11   #56
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
...or this one:
Attached Images
 
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:14   #57
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Too bright lines. .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:16   #58
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Too bright lines. .
Ok, then:
Attached Images
 
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:17   #59
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Only #000000 will do .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 20:22   #60
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Looky, I'm using scanlines!
Am I l33t or what?

Last edited by Shoonay; 13 May 2008 at 13:44.
Shoonay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41113 seconds with 13 queries