English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2010, 18:54   #441
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Yes, the LCD/TFT dilemma. I know. Lowres Games = CRT FTW!!!
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2010, 22:59   #442
Dan Locke
Registered User
Dan Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Now that I know how to do it, I use (at double resolution) a combination of 20% scanline transparency, 0% scanline level, 5:4 pixel aspect ratio, and bilinear filtering. It's beautiful.
Dan Locke is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 00:27   #443
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Regarding the Bilinear filtering:

What I do is a two-stage filtering system. First, use a nearest-neighbour algorithm to scale to the nearest integer scaling. For example, if you're running at say, 800x600 and your "screen" is 320x256 then you'd scale to 640x512. This will render with nice sharp pixels.

Then you scale up (or down) from there to 800x600. The pixels still appear sharp, but the minimal bilinear filtering applied smooths out the jaggies without blurring.

If you've got a current copy of zxspin, you can see this option working if you select Direct3D rendering and "reduce filter blurring" in the display options/effects tab. The only drawbacks are a very slight performance hit and the increased video-ram usage due to the intermediate stage.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 14:53   #444
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
"Beta 7:

- added support for D3D mask/overlay image files (config file only, gfx_filter_mask=<path>) Automatically tiled if image is smaller than display size, uses D3DX function to load image files, .bmp, .dds, .dib, .hdr, .jpg, .pfm, .png, .ppm, and .tga supported (this was requested somewhere in req.UAE Wishlist long time ago or something..)"


You might want to check WinUAE's beta thread for extra info
Does someone have an "RGB Triads"-like overlay (png) just to see how that looks like with Amiga games?
john4p is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 17:51   #445
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
Does someone have an "RGB Triads"-like overlay (png) just to see how that looks like with Amiga games?
http://sites.google.com/site/pauldunn/ZXSpinPOV3.rar

This is the current zip file of ZXSpin. Don't bother with the emulator, it's pretty buggy at the moment. However, there is a folder in there called "overlays" which contains loads of them that you can try with WinUAE.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 21:13   #446
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Thanks - but there's only an .exe-file in the archive which doesn't start here (Vista). Needs some DLL.
john4p is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 13:37   #447
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
Thanks - but there's only an .exe-file in the archive which doesn't start here (Vista). Needs some DLL.
whoops. Sorry about that

http://sites.google.com/site/pauldunn/ZXSpin_07s.zip

Try that instead. It's the full distribution of ZXSpin. Again, it's only being rewritten so just grab the overlays and leave the emulator alone.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 14:07   #448
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Thanks. Looks pretty good:


(rgb.png)


(rgb2.png)


(rgb3.png)

I still slightly prefer the 25% scanlines...


P.S. Maybe with an option "gfx_filter_mask_transparency" the new overlay-feature would be useful.
john4p is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 14:28   #449
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,125
Well, this one does look good:


(aperture1x2rb_Aaron.png)
john4p is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 14:31   #450
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
You need to be using a much higher resolution

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 18:37   #451
galu
Registered User
galu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 118
How is the mask/overlay thing in WinUAE implemented? I'm asking here before posting to the WinUAE.prb board
Shouldn't the overlay supposed to be overlayed on the top of the filtered image?

I can't set it up - with or without filtering, with or without autoscaling, in Lores, Hires and Superhires.
I'm getting this with any of the filters enabled:

http://jo.galu.info/download/wuar1.png
http://jo.galu.info/download/wuar3.png

And something like this (the mask is distorted) in windowed modes w/o filtering (quickstart config):
galu is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 00:44   #452
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Looks like your gfx card isn't tiling properly. The overlay should be applied after the image is scaled up to your chosen resolution, and not scaled at all - just tiled across the whole screen at 1:1 mapping.

I'd say that in all likelihood it's your card at fault rather than WinUAE, but I've been wrong before ;-)

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 07:06   #453
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
What I would like to see is:

1) Scanlines that are thinner than the actual rasters, with a little bit of vertical "bloom" on the rasters - probably requires minimum 3x original size to do properly
2) Horizontal softening only (since CRT TVs do not have razor sharp pixels, but soft transitions between pixels), and generally rasters don't bleed into each other like pixels on the same raster, due to the scanlines)
LocalH is offline  
Old 05 October 2010, 02:26   #454
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Devon, England
Age: 35
Posts: 142
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
If you use a Beta, just tick der Direct3D option in the filter Tab.

Sorry for the bump but I've just upgraded to 2.3.0 and I've lost the ability to use these 'prettier' scanlines as discussed on the last page (i.e.. Scanline transparency-25, scanline level-0). What's the equivalent of the Direct3D tick box on the new build ?

What happens on my system is both of the scanline levels sliders no longer seem to have any effect over the final image when WinUAE is booted. Other than that WinUAE works perfectly - I just quite liked the effect of the TV-esque look I managed to get with 2.2
mcbpete is offline  
Old 05 October 2010, 10:25   #455
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Scanlines are evil!!!! >___<
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 05 October 2010, 11:52   #456
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Devon, England
Age: 35
Posts: 142
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Quote:
Originally Posted by MazinKaesar View Post
Scanlines are evil!!!! >___<
I thought that two but john4p converted me with this 'finding' - http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=405 (and this: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=407 )
mcbpete is offline  
Old 06 October 2010, 10:54   #457
roberthazelby
Amiga user since 1990
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, England
Age: 42
Posts: 327
Scanlines on a real Amiga/console etc look absolutely fantastic, but I find that emulated scanlines often look poor in comparison.
roberthazelby is offline  
Old 07 October 2010, 01:30   #458
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Well, I was an advocate of REAL scanlines (not emulated ones), but now that I have a fully up-scanned display, I am getting used to no scanlines and it's not bad

So, no scanlines!
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37671 seconds with 13 queries