English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2010, 10:40   #421
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
Yeah, the scanlines look pretty authentic to me. I've always strived for a similar effect.

To me No 7 looks like an old monitor and No 8 is pretty close to a TV.

They both help with the blockiness anyway.
Christian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 February 2010, 02:09   #422
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Devon, England
Age: 35
Posts: 142
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
I'm clearly being a bit stupid as I can't get the '25% scanline' effect that john4p posted. So I've gone to Display and set Line Mode to Scanlines, and in filter I've set Scanline Level to the number 25 (which I assume must mean 25% ?). What do I do about scanline transparency (if anything), and what does the 1:1 drop down box to the right refer to and the Disabled drop down box to the left.

At the moment it looks just like the horrible scanline effect that's made me not use that setting in the first place whereas john4p's pic looks lovely.... (I'm running v2.0.1.0 BTW)

Last edited by mcbpete; 01 February 2010 at 02:22.
mcbpete is offline  
Old 01 February 2010, 03:09   #423
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Doesn't really matter which kinds of scanlines you use, the purpose is to soften the harshness of low res blown up to 32" super sharp super square displays of today. The result is a more forgiving experience, more like the game designers would have intended it on all kinds of home computers and consoles of the day.

Right now my fave displaymode is 640x400 in WinUAE "hires single" (640x256) analog-resized to get square pixels in games on my CRT. Even though the CRT is a PC CRT and thus has less pillow-shaped pixels, at least I get rid of the doubling effect in f.ex. 512x384 or 640x480 or higher resolutions.

It actually rocks If you don't have or want a real machine, get a CRT + emu.
Photon is offline  
Old 01 February 2010, 04:35   #424
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbpete View Post
I'm clearly being a bit stupid as I can't get the '25% scanline' effect that john4p posted. So I've gone to Display and set Line Mode to Scanlines, and in filter I've set Scanline Level to the number 25 (which I assume must mean 25% ?). What do I do about scanline transparency (if anything), and what does the 1:1 drop down box to the right refer to and the Disabled drop down box to the left.

At the moment it looks just like the horrible scanline effect that's made me not use that setting in the first place whereas john4p's pic looks lovely.... (I'm running v2.0.1.0 BTW)
Disable the Line Mode "Scanlines", use "Double". If you get deformed fonts with the Direct3D filter set the Horizontal/Vertical Size to "1x" instead of "FS". A "Scanline Transparency" of 25-30% plus 25% "Scanlines Level" looks pretty good.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 February 2010, 12:46   #425
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbpete View Post
I'm clearly being a bit stupid as I can't get the '25% scanline' effect that john4p posted. So I've gone to Display and set Line Mode to Scanlines, and in filter I've set Scanline Level to the number 25 (which I assume must mean 25% ?). What do I do about scanline transparency (if anything), and what does the 1:1 drop down box to the right refer to and the Disabled drop down box to the left.

At the moment it looks just like the horrible scanline effect that's made me not use that setting in the first place whereas john4p's pic looks lovely.... (I'm running v2.0.1.0 BTW)
For the above examples I set Scanline transparency to 25 and left Scanline level untouched at 0...

Scanline transparency 25 means the scanlines are 75% transparent.
Scanline level 0 means the scanlines aren't brightened.
john4p is offline  
Old 01 February 2010, 20:37   #426
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
I'd love to see these in WinUAE ;-)

D.
"Beta 7:

- added support for D3D mask/overlay image files (config file only, gfx_filter_mask=<path>) Automatically tiled if image is smaller than display size, uses D3DX function to load image files, .bmp, .dds, .dib, .hdr, .jpg, .pfm, .png, .ppm, and .tga supported (this was requested somewhere in req.UAE Wishlist long time ago or something..)"


You might want to check WinUAE's beta thread for extra info
Maren is offline  
Old 01 February 2010, 23:22   #427
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Devon, England
Age: 35
Posts: 142
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Quote:
Originally Posted by john4p View Post
For the above examples I set Scanline transparency to 25 and left Scanline level untouched at 0...

Scanline transparency 25 means the scanlines are 75% transparent.
Scanline level 0 means the scanlines aren't brightened.
Gotcha, works like a charm now. Thanks

(and thanks Retro-Nerd - I previously had it on double but thought that to use the emulated scanlines that I had to stick it on the scanlines setting !)
mcbpete is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 01:49   #428
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
"Beta 7:

- added support for D3D mask/overlay image files (config file only, gfx_filter_mask=<path>) Automatically tiled if image is smaller than display size, uses D3DX function to load image files, .bmp, .dds, .dib, .hdr, .jpg, .pfm, .png, .ppm, and .tga supported (this was requested somewhere in req.UAE Wishlist long time ago or something..)"


You might want to check WinUAE's beta thread for extra info
W00t. Shame that D3D9EX craps out on this machine

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 02:07   #429
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Well, the implementation is very fast actually, it's not anywhere near as demanding as the built-in effects. As a matter of fact, I notice no performance drop at all, and mind you this is a GeForce 6200 "powered" machine
Maren is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 12:01   #430
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Well, the implementation is very fast actually, it's not anywhere near as demanding as the built-in effects. As a matter of fact, I notice no performance drop at all, and mind you this is a GeForce 6200 "powered" machine
It is practically free on any DX9 class hardware (uses and requires multitexturing)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 February 2010, 18:13   #431
Marlon
Registered User
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England, York
Age: 48
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbpete View Post
Gotcha, works like a charm now. Thanks

(and thanks Retro-Nerd - I previously had it on double but thought that to use the emulated scanlines that I had to stick it on the scanlines setting !)
So, another convert to the Scanlines cause . To those who remain unconvinced, JOIN US, JOIN US NOW. You know you want to.
Marlon is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 18:52   #432
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
No I don't
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 19:39   #433
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
me neither
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 19:49   #434
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Me neither. I'll never, ever convert!!!!!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 21:32   #435
Marlon
Registered User
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England, York
Age: 48
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Me neither. I'll never, ever convert!!!!!
If you do not convert, you will simply be assimilated into the Scanline collective.
Marlon is offline  
Old 02 February 2010, 22:08   #436
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
what and have felt tip lines drawn all over my body !!!
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 February 2010, 12:05   #437
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I like the 25% ones because they don't look like scanlines, but just adds a nice effect. Don't know if I really would call myself a scanline convert... On the other hand I think everybody who dislikes the 'half black' look should give 25% a try
TCD is offline  
Old 03 February 2010, 12:18   #438
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon View Post
If you do not convert, you will simply be assimilated into the Scanline collective.
I have Dr. Rodney McKay with me, you would loose, and be desintegrated!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I like the 25% ones because they don't look like scanlines, but just adds a nice effect. Don't know if I really would call myself a scanline convert... On the other hand I think everybody who dislikes the 'half black' look should give 25% a try

I agree the effect is quite cool. I've tried it myself just for a bit, but honestly it stresses too much my eyes after a while. So Direct3D bilinear ftw!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 03 February 2010, 17:49   #439
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Argh! Bilinear Filtering is a no-go.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 February 2010, 18:51   #440
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Argh! Bilinear Filtering is a no-go.
In 800x600 of course no. But in 1280x1024 (native monitor resolution) of course yes. That resolution without bilinear filtering the image is simply ugly.
AmigaFriend is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40368 seconds with 13 queries