English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2007, 18:28   #21
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
If better quality can be aquired, why not obtain it?

heck, the reason why I was stuck in Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis for 5 months was that I couldn't find the 1x1 pixeled gear on the ground, not clear enough on a TV. But not long ago, I finally completed the game in Winuae as I could finally SEE the 1 pixel gear, yay!.

Was the same in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade; there was a casette tape, taped to the back of a table, it was 1x1 pixel big too.... had trouble spotting it on a blurry, lousy TV.... NOT ANYMORE!.. I see it all, yay!.
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:30   #22
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
It looks about the same for me except the fact that WinUAE better centers the display. (there is something funny going on with my miggy )

I connect my laptop to the TV and I don't see much difference.

You can make actually WinUAE look even better then on real hardware, but I don't see why is that a problem?!

Real amiga didn't intentionally have HD installs for the games, so I assume none of you 'like to get perfect feel' uses WHDLoad either. Same goes for speed up drive speed and rest of WinUAE added options...
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:34   #23
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
)I connect my laptop to the TV and I don't see much difference.

You can make actually WinUAE look even better then on real hardware, but I don't see why is that a problem?!
I'm talking about PC MONITORS. And why you connect your laptop to the TV? To get the real look, right?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:36   #24
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
i've moved ironclaws vote, but his name stays (sorry)
I feel foul and dirty having my name in "Yes, I prefer scanlines."

I must take a shower and sit in a courner....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
I'm talking about PC MONITORS. And why you connect your laptop to the TV? To get the real look, right?
Nah, to get a bigger picture.

I like it big and pixelish.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:38   #25
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
you can multi-quote in one post ya know
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:38   #26
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
Nah, to get a bigger picture.

I like it big and pixelish.
Well if you are talking about connecting to TV then I don't use scanlines either. Why would you need to???

The problem as Retro-Nerd pointed out is that when using PC monitors the games look absolutely shite without scanlines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
I feel foul and dirty having my name in "Yes, I prefer scanlines."

I must take a shower and sit in a courner....
You feeling foul and dirty has nothing to do with scanlines or your name in a poll option
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:41   #27
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Well if you are talking about connecting to TV then I don't use scanlines either. Why would you need to???

The problem as Retro-Nerd pointed out is that when using PC monitors the games look absolutely shite without scanlines


This has nothing to do with scanlines
the games do look shite, but they look worse with scanlines!
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:41   #28
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
You feeling foul and dirty has nothing to do with scanlines or your name in a poll option
ROFL!

Ironclaw is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:43   #29
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
He feels dirty because he's been associated with your kind DamienD.

I wouldn't feel dirty. I'd feel there was no turning back and buy an Atari and sleep with it.

Luckily I don't use scanlines so I am a legend. You DamienD are a cad.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:44   #30
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Scanlines?
That's prolly how Data from Star Trek "sees" the world

Tho, he's on vertical
Shoonay is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:45   #31
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
He feels dirty because he's been associated with your kind DamienD.

I wouldn't feel dirty. I'd feel there was no turning back and buy an Atari and sleep with it.

Luckily I don't use scanlines so I am a legend. You DamienD are a cad.
i'd use an atari to beat him up with or something equally painful
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:46   #32
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Luckily I don't use scanlines so I am a legend. You DamienD are a cad.
I assume you can't find the tickbox in WinUAE, right KG?

Edit: dlfrsilver and subone joined the scanlines club, THATS are real legends.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:50   #33
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,173
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Just love interlace mode => love scanlines !!! it makes the games look nicer
on the the screen.

what is the trouble here ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:51   #34
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver
Just love interlace mode => love scanlines !!! it makes the games look nicer
on the the screen.

what is the trouble here ?
kill hiiiiim
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:52   #35
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
I wish WinUAE had a TV emulation like MAME does... RGB triad filters and all, it really helps it look like a TV, a good portion of the Aliasing is gone, and Arcade games have alot more of it, in the Amiga much was removed by hand and attention to pixel art.

Examples at: http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/rgb.html
Ultron is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:53   #36
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
-------------------------------
From now on whenever I reply
-------------------------------
to a person who has put YES
-------------------------------
as their vote I shall 'improve' it
-------------------------------
by adding these shitty lines
-------------------------------
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:54   #37
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Edit: dlfrsilver and subone joined the scanlines club, THATS are real legends.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver
Just love interlace mode => love scanlines !!! it makes the games look nicer
on the the screen.
Amen
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:55   #38
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
-------------------------------
From now on whenever I reply
-------------------------------
to a person who has put YES
-------------------------------
as their vote I shall 'improve' it
-------------------------------
by adding these shitty lines
-------------------------------
ROFL
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:57   #39
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
For the yes-men

Dizzy is offline  
Old 28 March 2007, 18:58   #40
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Does HOL have any screenshots with scanlines?

NO because they're shite!

Nuff said!
Belgarath is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27379 seconds with 13 queries