English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Scanlines or NO scanlines?
Yes, I prefer scanlines. 65 26.86%
No, I don't like scanlines. 156 64.46%
I don't care which one. Any would do fine for me. 21 8.68%
Voters: 242. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2009, 14:33   #321
Nostalgeek
OT Whore
Nostalgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Switzerland
Age: 35
Posts: 280
Scanlines are bad for your health. Say no to scanlines.
Experts agree: scanlines make you turn deaf faster than masturbating.

I particularly enjoyed KG's image of watching a dvd under heavy snow to get the real old feeling
Nostalgeek is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2009, 15:21   #322
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,595
Scanlines \o/
pmc is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 20:58   #323
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
better scanlines or no scanlines it's like prefering natural girls to girls chirurgically remodeled. The first is like her moma made her, while the second is half human and half non-human ahahaha ouarff
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 23:17   #324
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Scanlines look all right on LCDs, because they have an insane overcontrast. I recommend 1920x1200 resolution, fill screen, and set scanline transparency. You don't need pitch black scanlines, you know. Looked GREAT on my 1920x1200 15" laptop screen, not so good on my $1200 27" 1920-LCD.

On CRTs, contrast is not "consumer-adapted" like on LCD, so enabling scanlines usually looks drab / dark. Maybe I'll try 1920x1200 on my CRT, but...

Native resolution and Hz is always best, ie. the glorious 1084 etc. \o/ My preference for WinUAE is 512x384@50 Hz on my 21" Dell Trinitron CRT, "Lores/Normal" in Display setting. Nice centered 14"-size picture in native resolution, no scanlines needed


I'm talking game and demo perfection in emus now. If you spend your time in Workbench, just go with 060+AGA and highest resolution and go windowed and don't use scanlines.
Photon is offline  
Old 07 October 2009, 03:54   #325
waal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris / France
Age: 42
Posts: 133
Scanlines are better. When correctly tuned, they recall me my beloved 1084. And I never understood the interest of the other filters in Winuae.

Edit.

What ?! 65.85% against scanlines ? It's like dreaming about a fantasy world where most computers would depend on Microsoft.

Last edited by waal; 07 October 2009 at 04:04.
waal is offline  
Old 08 October 2009, 11:47   #326
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
I don't mind too much games with scanlines on my CRT monitor (mind you, it's not a "Flatron"). That's part of the reason I sold my 15" TFT for a 19" CRT, I knew it would make games and demos look more "Amigaish".

On my [showing off mode = activated] S-PVA (Super Patterned Vertical Alignment) apt at 180 viewing angles, 300nits brightness, with a response time of 6ms, a Contrast ratio of 1000:1 , 21 inches LCD plugged through the DVI port to a Radeon HD card, [/ end Showing off] they just don't look right.

May be I should get someone to tell me how Scanline Transparency is to be configured (1:1, 1:2, 1:3, 2:1 ...), but adding a lot of Transparency does not seem to make any clear difference on my setup.

I use 2xsal as default filter (started using it correctly very recently I believe, as I noticed HiRes or even LoRes would be much nicer than SuperHires), and it doesn't bear any Scanline Transparency or Level setting.

A bit lazy to post pic, but not posting, along with the screenshots, the pictures of the monitors themselves on which the action takes place would be pointless.

Last edited by NewDeli; 09 October 2009 at 10:25.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 09 October 2009, 10:23   #327
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
I use scanlines in Winuae, mame, zsnes, kgen and all the emulators for older machines;
For example, i can't play Street fighter 2 or shinobi on mame without scanlines.
On dosbox, i use super2sai filter, i found it to be the best one.
Jgames is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 15:53   #328
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
I love scanlines

If you own the correct hardware and know what you're doing, the results will be pretty close to what you'd get with an interlaced monitor.
Maren is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 20:36   #329
Dan Locke
Registered User
Dan Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Really, what's the point? It looks nothing like an actual TV, and makes everything 50% darker and nearly illegible. Most emulators have "TV" filters anyway, so why bother?
Dan Locke is offline  
Old 05 November 2009, 20:47   #330
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
A "TV" filter blurrs the whole image, looks awful. It more a bilinear filter with a brighter scanlines effekt, e.g. the VisualBoy Advance "TV" filter.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 00:40   #331
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
I like my pixels free of any scaling/filtering, e.g 320x512 (256 used for scanlines) Proper gamma calibration can do magic for the dimming. Seriously, most people badmouthing scanlines simply don't know how to get the best out of them, but to each there own I guess.
Maren is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 00:44   #332
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
I like my pixels free of any scaling/filtering, e.g 320x512 (256 used for scanlines)
Would love to see your monitor then
TCD is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 00:45   #333
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,946
The only time I loved scanlines was in Need For Speed 1. And that was because with scanlines my computer (pentium 120) could run the game smoothly in SVGA.
gimbal is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 00:58   #334
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Would love to see your monitor then


http://aoc-europe.com/manuals/CRT_9K...PECS/Specs.htm

It's an AOC Envision 9Glr. Nothing fancy, but gets the job done
Maren is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 01:04   #335
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Well, I was wondering if you had a 320x512 native resolution monitor, since you mentioned no scaling I get your point though and like you said each to their own
TCD is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 01:11   #336
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well, you can have a 320x512 resolution, no scaling, in fullscreen (smaller area of screen). If it is "double height" then you can scale it in an analog way either with the screen menu or Powerstrip, to squeeze the scanlines together. Pretty good solution.
Photon is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 01:27   #337
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Well, I was wondering if you had a 320x512 native resolution monitor, since you mentioned no scaling I get your point though and like you said each to their own
CRT monitors don't really have "native" resolutions, at least not in the way LCD's do, they supposedly look better under the recommended mode, but truth is you can pretty much set to what you want and it will still look great, of course, always bearing in mind the limitations in the circuitry. Generally these low-res, low-refresh rate modes aren't available from modern video drivers, but that doesn't mean they are not supported, all it usually takes is a custom modeline.

However, this resolution trickery is not without flaw. I'm stuck with 50.1hz of vertical refresh rate for native amiga resolutions, perfect 50hz appears to be impossible under this particular circumstance, but I ain't complaining, better this than some LCD piece of junk
Maren is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 01:45   #338
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Anyway, I [ Show youtube player ] that half of the lines are darker on a real 1084
TCD is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 01:59   #339
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Nothing beats an interlaced monitor
Maren is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 02:03   #340
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Yep I just try to reproduce the picture I have from my 1084s (memory might be foggy though ) and I guess you do the same, so again it's down to each to their own
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 21:07
Another scanlines effect Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 6 27 June 2010 20:37
scaling and scanlines AxelFoley support.WinUAE 9 17 October 2009 01:13
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 11:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 13:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22545 seconds with 13 queries