English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 March 2007, 21:04   #1
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 46
Posts: 2,558
iGame - MUI based game loader on Aminet

This ( http://aminet.net/util/misc/iGame.lha )was new on Aminet and it looked a good idea I though... it appears to be a quick launch MUI menu system for WHDload games.

The software is apparently slow when loading lots of games but it may be an idea to keep an eye on the website to see if the guy can overcome this problem...

http://igame.amigahellas.gr/
Peter is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 25 March 2007, 21:50   #2
DamienD
Registered User
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 37
Posts: 5,058
Very cool

@bippym; isn't this the same sort of thing that you were planning to create?
DamienD is offline  
Old 25 March 2007, 22:11   #3
Dizzy
DEAD
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: .
Posts: 3,399
Wow cool

EDIT: This is not Off-topic it's too good, put it in the news section
Dizzy is offline  
Old 25 March 2007, 22:16   #4
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 8,359
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
guys do a forum search for igame and yes it is similar to my idea

Moved to amiga scene
bippym is offline  
Old 25 March 2007, 22:27   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 8,905
Just tested it with a few games. Very nice, for a first release.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 00:17   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
the author is MrZammler!!!!!
keropi is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 12:23   #7
Bamiga2002
Blizzard PPC Club rocks!

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 3,151
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Does this mean i don't have to use WangiPad anymore??

Cool !
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 15:08   #8
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 37
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
Does this mean i don't have to use WangiPad anymore??

Cool !
Well, whatever you find best to work for you

@All

Thanks for trying out iGame. Hope you like it.

As for the slow thing part: I'm developing iGame on a 060 amiga, with ~200 games. Since I'm a lazy guy, I left the list sorting to MUI... bad choice. On the 060 it's ok (2-3 secs tops to sort 200 games), however when I tried it (just recently) on an A1200 with 030 with 2000 games the results where embarrasing (10 - 30 secs to load the list...)

Since fixing that will require some heavy modification, and since it's been a long time since I started it (did I mention I'm lazy? ) I thought I should release it now and start fixing the slowness for the next version.
MrZammler is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 15:23   #9
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 32
Posts: 7,907
We are all entitled to be lazy every now and then

I presume it's mouse controlled?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 15:26   #10
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 37
Posts: 184
@killergorilla

Yeap, click all the way.
MrZammler is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 15:30   #11
Shamino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parramatta NSW
Posts: 36
Well, not using MUI would certainly help with the speed...

:-)
Shamino is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 15:52   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 32
Posts: 7,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZammler
@killergorilla

Yeap, click all the way.
Ah I see, cheers for the answer
killergorilla is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 19:30   #13
Flashlab
Registered User
Flashlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 158
Excellent idea! Downloaded it at once, but I have this strange bug. Whenever I start a game it ask for a device and I have to cancel the requester twice to start the game. I used SnoopDOS to check what the programs looks for and it's an .info file. Both the device and the .info file consist of strange characters...
Flashlab is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 19:50   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
I just tried it, and the list is invissible, the background and text color is the same ...
keropi is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:11   #15
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
I just tried it, and the list is invissible, the background and text color is the same ...
Same problem here

The versions before this worked, don't know what he's changed that makes the list invisible now

Keropi, my greek friend..send him a message in greek about our issues
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:23   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
keropi is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:25   #17
Dizzy
DEAD
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: .
Posts: 3,399
they meet down the local bench and talk about amiga memories

http://www.explorecrete.com/mycrete/.../greek-men.jpg

Dizzy is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:32   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
not really, we actually take long walks in traditional uniforms...

keropi is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:34   #19
Dizzy
DEAD
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: .
Posts: 3,399


so you can answer the question do you wear underpant under the uniform
Dizzy is offline  
Old 26 March 2007, 20:56   #20
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 37
Posts: 184
@Flashlab

Damn, strange... I'll have to think about that a bit...

@AmigaZ & Keropi
Is the list there, but only the text is the same as the BG? I.e. clicking on a game starts it? What about the list under the screenshot, is it visible?

Hope we find a solution or else we're gonna have to solve this with keropi over our Amigas and a bottle of ouzo!!

@Dizzy
Small world!! The pic you linked there, is from my island!! Yep, typical Cretan ppl (but no I dont look like those on the pic - yet)
MrZammler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iGame 4.3" LCD Portable Game Console Anemos Retrogaming General Discussion 22 23 November 2012 11:14
Game loader stuck on certain track after save state restore andreas support.WinUAE 2 26 March 2011 19:59
His Dark Majesty - turn-based fantasy strategy game for Atari 8-bit Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 0 13 June 2010 00:22
[Found: Millenium] Moon-based strategy game antonvaltaz Looking for a game name ? 8 29 October 2009 16:05
War strategy based game name morofastud Looking for a game name ? 5 02 June 2006 14:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20153 seconds with 12 queries