English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2007, 16:43   #1
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
Amiga software development

Quick question from somebody completely new to this Amiga thing:

Is it just me or are quite a few of the people writing Amiga software a little unfriendly when it comes to the issue of software registration/donations?

I'm noticing quite a few seem to take a "pay up now or I'll stop working on the program and then you'll be screwed" stance which is surprising coming from a BSD/Linux background where it leans more towards "if you like my program, feel free to send me a little beer money to show your appreciation".

I don't thing it's wrong to expect money for your work or anything like that but is this just the way it is with the Amiga or am I missing something?
tootoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:00   #2
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Firstly, welcome to EAB

Secondly, I have no idea really, I only use WHDLoad which doesn't force you to register and the people who work behind it are awesome.

You have any examples?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:08   #3
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
Oops, the WHDLoad site was what got me noticing it in the first place. From the registration page:

"If nobody registers I will do nothing more for WHDLoad - it is that simple."

I'm sure they're great people and as I said I'm totally new to the Amiga so I'm not exactly in a position to comment. I just expected more of a Linux style development system, you know, all nice and open so everyone can help keep the machines alive and running.
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:27   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Well don't be put off by that

Maybe that line could be changed to something more friendly!

Don't worry though WHDLoad really is a superb piece of software and I heartily recommend you do register if you find you like it. It can be used without registering with very few restrictions.

If you do decide to get whdload up and running within workbench you might want to check out my site for some game downloads.
http://guildserver.co.uk/kgwhd/
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:34   #5
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
Yeah, I'll register a copy 'cos it looks like a useful bit of software.

Monkey Island is wearing my floppy drive out and it's a damn nuisance trying to use a mouse, change disks and drink beer at the same time.
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:37   #6
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Sounds exactly like you need whdload then

Always a prob with the beer and the mouse and the drive and stuff

Get yourself an avatar too, I'm crap at remembering names.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:51   #7
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
There we go.

Does WHDLoad suck up the Amiga's precious memory or is it usually not a problem? You forget how small 2MB actually is (A1200HD).
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 17:56   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Strange avatar you have there, but memorable

WHDLoad doesn't use any memory until you load a game. A lot of the games won't be able to run with 2MB, especially the multidisk games.

WHDLoad needs the RAM because it kills the operating system, loads the entire game into RAM and plays it from there. Then when you quit the game it restores the OS as it was before. Pretty clever stuff, but you really need a RAM upgrade to make the most of it.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:04   #9
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
It's a Gyroid statue from Animal Crossing on the Nintendo but to be honest I think it looks more like a novelty...erm...anyway...

Looks like I need to keep trying to get hold of an accelerator off eBay then. Cheers for the advice.
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:12   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924


yep, your avater does look a tad... erm... yeah! Especially with the "reservoir tip".

Yeah accelerator's are the way to go, I'd pick up a blizzard 030 if you can. With 32/16mb of RAM if possible.

How big's your HD?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:22   #11
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
Ha, "reservoir tip", genius.

Been trying to get an 030 with a nice chunk of RAM but I keep missing out, last one I bid on went for 150 in the end (!). I've seen 'em go for less so I'll have to keep looking.

HDD is about 200MB so I'm guessing I'll be alright for a bit.
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:25   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Ah ok, I was thinking it might be one of the amazing 20MB ones you used to get

200mb should do you for a while, I think I still have my 214mb drive sitting somewhere with a load of old whdload games on it.

Trouble is once I started doing the packs it ran out pretty quickly
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:28   #13
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
200 meg wont last long once you start installing... it does get a bit addictive - I'm up to around 800 meg of games and I'm sure there are many more people on EAB will a lot more than this...
Peter is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:30   #14
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Yeah it soon goes once you get your teeth into it.

If I didn't have beneath a steel sky and t-zer0 installed on my drive I'd probably be around 2gb I think.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 18:32   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
3 gb ? lol
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 20 March 2007, 19:02   #16
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
4gb !
DDNI is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 19:04   #17
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
FECK i JUST PASSED A THOUSAND POSTS



1000 POSTS !!!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 19:06   #18
tootoid
Registered User
tootoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 37
Does the Amiga have any tools for disk checking then? In which case how long does it take to check 3GB of files on an A1200 for example? Wouldn't the disk have gone rusty and seized up by the time it finished?
tootoid is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 19:13   #19
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
ofcourse not! I used Quarterback tools in the past..

But now I use SFS filesystem, never had any problems really..
kriz is offline  
Old 20 March 2007, 19:26   #20
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by tootoid
Ha, "reservoir tip", genius.

Been trying to get an 030 with a nice chunk of RAM but I keep missing out, last one I bid on went for 150 in the end (!).
Hi tootoid,
A warm welcome to EAB.
Someone (not me) on a.org is selling a Blizzard IV for 100 --> Link
lopos2000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Amiga SAS/C development package lucadip MarketPlace 3 17 March 2011 18:06
Help needed with programming Amiga development forum Cammy Amiga scene 18 06 February 2011 18:37
Amiga development freehand Retrogaming General Discussion 4 18 April 2010 18:53
Next-gen Amiga development LaundroMat Coders. General 3 05 October 2002 01:30
Amiga - future development? LUKas007 Amiga scene 244 21 September 2002 13:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26405 seconds with 11 queries