English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2007, 14:02   #1
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeċ / Sweden
Posts: 188
The Akiko... was it ever actually used?

...I'm rather curious. I've been looking for information concerning the Akikochip fitted in the CD32 and what games actually used the chip. The only game I've heard of so far that made use of the chip is Wing Commander, but how accurate is this information?

Does anyone actually know what games made use of the chip? Did Wing Commander really make use of the chip?

Last edited by Legerdemain; 19 March 2007 at 14:35.
Legerdemain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 March 2007, 14:11   #2
SilentBob
Junior Member

SilentBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 241
Microcosm for the CD32 also used the Akiko chip, I think that was widely advertised back in the days.
SilentBob is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 14:12   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,935
All games used it because it contains CD controller and CIAs

(yes, Wing Commander uses C2P part of Akiko)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 March 2007, 14:16   #4
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeċ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentBob
Microcosm for the CD32 also used the Akiko chip, I think that was widely advertised back in the days.
I've seen it mentioned... but I can't understand where the chip could be utilized in any way to provide a more fluent experience when playing the game? Or am I just missing out on something here...
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 14:17   #5
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeċ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
All games used it because it contains CD controller and CIAs
Hehe, yes, true... but I wasn't aiming at that, but that you were aware of... and I don't know why I am writing this reply at all...

Legerdemain is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 14:28   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I did some experiments and the Akiko does accelerate C2P nicely - but it's still shit on 020 with no fastmem.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 15:08   #7
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
All games used it because it contains CD controller and CIAs
You mean the game doesn't have to be written the exact way, to "see", or rather USE it's features? Cool!

*goes off, searching the AmiNet for a do-it-yerself "How to solder Akiko to a Blizz 030 FAQ"*
Shoonay is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 16:49   #8
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
While we're talking Akikoness - what are people's opinions of the Akiko emulator? Is it still worth it nowadays? Should I bother parting 15 euros for it? And so on.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 17:00   #9
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
The Akiko emu? what where how!!??
DDNI is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 17:05   #10
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
http://www.airsoftsoftwair.de/en/prod_akiko.html But its old and outdated now, I would not buy it
kriz is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 17:53   #11
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I'd imagine WinUAE does a much better job.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 18:33   #12
Shamino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parramatta NSW
Posts: 36
Nah, it's just a rip-off of UAE.
Shamino is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 07:21   #13
Ze_ro
Registered User
Ze_ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Winnipeg / Canada
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
You mean the game doesn't have to be written the exact way, to "see", or rather USE it's features? Cool!

*goes off, searching the AmiNet for a do-it-yerself "How to solder Akiko to a Blizz 030 FAQ"*
I'm a little late to the thread, but thought I'd add my 2 cents...

From what I've read, there are actually a number of standard CD-ROM functions that were left out of the Akiko's implementation. Anyone know more about this? Are the missing functions anything useful?

The Akiko chip also has 1K of NVRAM for CD32 games to store information... though not a whole lot of games took advantage of this. Most of the adventure games let you save your game (Darkseed, Simon the Sorceror, Universe and Beneath a Steel Sky all do I think), as does Cannon Fodder... Fire & Ice will save highscores on there too. 1K isn't a whole lot though... even a Cannon Fodder save will take up about half of that.
Ze_ro is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 12:44   #14
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 497
I don't know much about this chip but I remember back in the day seeing ads with "Chunky to planar!!!! WOW!" etc. apprantly similer to Mode 7 SNES or something, is there anywhere I can see this thing in action?
DrF is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 15:51   #15
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
It doesn't offer Mode7... nothing like that. No graphics tricks or funky screenmodes. It only does basic C2P which is far too slow on standard CD32 anyway.

In other words - nothing you can actually "see" or be amazed at.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 26 September 2007, 16:48   #16
DrF
Blessed A1200 Of TeH Rat
DrF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bham, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150 View Post
It doesn't offer Mode7... nothing like that. No graphics tricks or funky screenmodes. It only does basic C2P which is far too slow on standard CD32 anyway.

In other words - nothing you can actually "see" or be amazed at.
Bah, the ads. lied to me, I would make a complaint to Amiga Action & Amiga Format but I guess I am a little bit late.
DrF is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gloom Akiko C2P? Whitesnake support.Games 5 23 April 2007 20:01
Any news on a new version of Akiko ? sut Amiga scene 4 13 January 2005 14:58
Akiko update Twistin'Ghost Retrogaming General Discussion 0 19 August 2002 03:27
Cd32 Emulator (AKIKO) Doozy support.WinUAE 3 06 December 2001 09:41
Akiko is out to grab MethodGit Amiga scene 1 03 December 2001 00:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18512 seconds with 11 queries