English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2007, 09:08   #1
Nick99
 
Posts: n/a
Cdrom with Oktagon 2008 controller..how?

Hi everybody,

as i want to remember the old times i bought an amiga 2000 with an oktagon 2008 controller, hdd and cdrom built in. The previous owner told me that he reinstalled the harddisk in order no to give me his private data. Since this time the cdrom doesnt work anymore. He mentioned it would be a problem with the driver but he doesn't know what to do.

I've copied AmiCDFS to l: and copied the CD0 the CD0.info from a WB 3.1 to devs/dosdrivers. In the CD0 mountfile i've entered

Code:
Device = oktagon.device
Unit = 2
The SCSI-Unitnumber is correct, as i checked the jumpersettings on the drive but everytime i type "dir CD0:" the Amiga answers "Could not get information for CD0"

By the way: I'm using Kickstart 2.04.

Can someone help me please?

Thanks in advance,
Nick99
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 March 2007, 12:39   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Get idefix97.lha from Aminet, unpack it to RAM: (don't install it) and run the FindDevice program. It lets you easily find the device name and unit number your CD-ROM drive is on.
thomas is offline  
Old 18 March 2007, 15:28   #3
Nick99
 
Posts: n/a
Ok. I did and IDEfix tells me the Device "oktagon.device" and Unit Number 2. These settings are already in the CD0-mountfile and also in the Tooltypes of CD0.info.

What's up next? Ah and the error-message when i try to "dir CD0:" is followed by "object not found"!?

Should i try to install IDEfix?
 
Old 18 March 2007, 18:38   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
I've copied AmiCDFS to l: and copied the CD0 the CD0.info from a WB 3.1 to devs/dosdrivers.
Erm, if you want to use AmiCDFS, then you should copy the CD0 from the AmiCDFS archive, not the one from a Workbench disk.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 March 2007, 07:23   #5
Nick99
 
Posts: n/a
Ahhh. Thank you. This could be the right way! I've downloaded the complete AmiCDFS-package and found some files which are not on my harddisk! Maybe this is the problem. I will install the complete package later today and tell about the success.
 
Old 25 March 2007, 20:55   #6
Nick99
 
Posts: n/a
Now i've installes everything from the AmiCDFS240.lha to the right place but it doesn't work. Could it be, that i need to edit more to the CD0-File? I changes only the "device" to "oktagon.device" and the "unit" to the right number.

But do i have to change some of the other parameters? The installation-guide in the AmiCDFS-archive wasn't much helpful to me.
 
Old 26 March 2007, 12:59   #7
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
I believe the original oktagon.device didnīt support CD (not sure) - but isn't there some softxxx.device popping up if you search the bus? Or try oktapussy.lha from Aminet; it's granted to work.
zipper is offline  
Old 06 April 2007, 21:09   #8
Nick99
 
Posts: n/a
Well i've got it now! I "simply" installed the workbench again to the harddisk, then installed AmiCDFS2 and used "scsi.device" in the CD0 mountfile. Now it works!

I feel, i've got to learn again on the amiga like in the 90s!

Thanks to all for your help!
 
Old 06 April 2007, 22:08   #9
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper
I believe the original oktagon.device didnīt support CD (not sure) - but isn't there some softxxx.device popping up if you search the bus? Or try oktapussy.lha from Aminet; it's granted to work.
oktagon.device 6.10 sure supports cd, as im using yamaha4x burner on a2000
Chain is offline  
Old 09 April 2007, 19:14   #10
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
oktagon.device 6.10 sure supports cd, as im using yamaha4x burner on a2000
Well, I think I had an older version.
zipper is offline  
Old 09 April 2007, 20:31   #11
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Thats not a problem as you can replace it. Jusf find near smeone with eprom burner, there is 27c256 eprom on card, which is quite common
Chain is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 11:34   #12
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 563
I had an Oktagon2008-Controller with CD-Rom by the time 2x was the fastest cd-rom speed you could buy (i.e. old and long ago ). I never changed the eprom. So are you sure that you have to change it ?
Konrad is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 11:46   #13
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
Last time I had Oktagon in use I drove it with the Oktapussy driver from Aminet.
zipper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oktagon 2008/A2000 radzik Hardware mods 5 03 March 2009 16:25
Sundown Demoparty (UK) 2008 12-14th September 2008 rc55 Amiga scene 15 01 September 2008 13:19
Amiga Forever 2008 Released 31.05.2008 ma693541 News 18 08 July 2008 09:17
Oktagon 2008 Rev.7 Board Drake008@ support.Hardware 5 11 April 2007 22:52
For Sale: Oktagon 2008 Zorro II SCSI controller Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 September 2006 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20722 seconds with 11 queries