English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2007, 00:52   #1
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Odyssey whd demo

Inspired my the release of the remixed tunes for this demo on amigaremix.com, I decided to trake a look at this demo as I dont remember it.

Now i dont know if its a problem but once the little spaceship comes on and flying across the planet....is is surposed to just continue flying forever ??. music keeps playing and screen keeps scrolling but no sign of an end to it clicking fire/mouse buttons and numerous keys does nothing.

A very short demo for 5 disks .....
now i havent tested to much, just running it in uae with jit dissabled(else it crashes).
Mad-Matt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 March 2007, 09:52   #2
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
Something must be wrong with your UAE configuration. This demo lasts for almost 45 minutes.
mailman is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 13:19   #3
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Ive tried reinstalling from these disk images as linked to by the whd site, ftp://ftp.funet.fi/pub/amiga/demos/Alcatraz/

but these seem unusable as the dms files are single sides 40 tracks each ! who would ever make such images.

ive tried writting the a's to 0-39 and b's to 40-79, but no go :/
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 13:33   #4
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
Such images were popular in the past. You need unpack them directly on disks (RAD). First take diskA and then diskB. The UNDMS tool should do the job properly.
mailman is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 14:57   #5
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 162
with my original ADF dumps, and winuae 1.4 a500 ecs 512/512 it's ok
see the zone
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 07 March 2007, 00:50   #6
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
thx ill try it booting from floppies. installed them with whd, and same problem, but only under uae mind, havent tested on my actual amiga as yet.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 07 March 2007, 10:26   #7
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 162
you have a problem with uae configuration.
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 07 March 2007, 11:51   #8
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
its not a uae config problem, its a whd problem with uae if anything
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 07 March 2007, 12:01   #9
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
If you are using UAE then what is the problem with running the demo directly from ADFs? Why bothering running it from WHDLoad?

Bear in mind that WHDLoad is not meant to work with emulated Amiga but with original Amiga. For that particular it is still developing.
mailman is offline  
Old 07 March 2007, 13:57   #10
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 162
you can try the original Alcatraz HD installer :
http://aminet.net/demo/mega/Odyssey-HD.dms
http://aminet.net/demo/mega/odys1.lha (version 1.1C fix for a1200)
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 31 December 2007, 02:53   #11
Anarkhya
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post

Now i dont know if its a problem but once the little spaceship comes on and flying across the planet....is is surposed to just continue flying forever ??. music keeps playing and screen keeps scrolling but no sign of an end to it clicking fire/mouse buttons and numerous keys does nothing.
I've encountered the very same problem with this demo (got from pouet.net - 5 adz)
I'm also running under WinUAE emulation, have you found a way to fix this?
 
Old 01 January 2008, 01:15   #12
heavy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 169
no fix, works fine here
heavy is offline  
Old 01 January 2008, 02:04   #13
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The disk images will work within an a500 emulation. They dont work within an base 1200 emulation or from a highend workbench/whdload (Even with a1200 fixed disk image) . Dont remember if i ever tested on my actual amiga. Trying cycle exact with a1200 config (yes im aware its an 68000 ONLY option) even caused disk read/write error warning durring odessey logo.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 01 January 2008, 06:54   #14
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Cool demo
Pyromania is offline  
Old 01 January 2008, 23:58   #15
Anarkhya
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The disk images will work within an a500 emulation. They dont work within an base 1200 emulation or from a highend workbench/whdload (Even with a1200 fixed disk image) . Dont remember if i ever tested on my actual amiga. Trying cycle exact with a1200 config (yes im aware its an 68000 ONLY option) even caused disk read/write error warning durring odessey logo.
It's fine! A mate suggested me to use a basic A500 cfg (1.3 ROM, OCS, 512 KB chip + 512 KB Slow ram).

'Seems that my custom OCS/ECS cfg was not fully operationnal.
Thanx!
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odyssey Reborn - Odyssey demo remake viddi Amiga scene 4 11 October 2013 23:41
Odyssey whdload (demo) freeze under winuae ED-209 project.WHDLoad 10 18 March 2013 08:21
Odyssey WHD not working hoborg support.Games 2 23 August 2007 13:49
Error message when loading Odyssey WHD mikey support.Games 2 13 July 2006 20:06
Final Fight whd and Entity whd? PiCiJi request.Old Rare Games 7 18 October 2003 03:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18725 seconds with 11 queries