English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Thread Tools
Old 27 February 2007, 18:21   #1
Posts: n/a
Any chance on getting a modified WinUAE?

I'm thinking of a future where the Clone-A will be available for the IBM and others, and would love to have a modified WinUAE that could "bang" the new hardware. Would this increase the speed of emulation? I would think that a lot of cpu time is being used to recreate the custom chips.

Strictly speaking, how fast could an emulated 680x0 run if everything else was in the FPGA?

All props to Toni Wilen for such a wonderful program.
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 February 2007, 19:22   #2
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,741
Not gonna happen.

How is the 680x0 emulator going to talk to the FPGA? PCI to 680x0 bridge? Difficult and time consuming development that I doubt the authors are intending to do.

How will the un-emulated features that WinUAE lacks (such as internal buses) work when interfacing between the two?

I still think that the release of MiniMig & Clone-A is a long way off. They represent a LARGE amount of effort and I cannot see their respective authors giving them away for free just yet.

Last edited by alexh; 27 February 2007 at 19:28.
alexh is offline  
Old 27 February 2007, 20:07   #3
Posts: n/a
Clone-A w/ WinUAE

I would be more than willing to pay the price requested for just that type of product. If I'm not mistaken, WinUAE relies on low-level support from the underlying OS, such as TCP/IP, etc... If the Clone-A had a driver, Toni could do an include and have the "real" harware at his disposal.

Of course there will be some parts that will have to stay emulated, such as the CPU, etc. Just think that there would be some kind of increase in speed by having the FPGA work as a coprocessor.
Old 27 February 2007, 21:20   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 17,873
I agree with alexh. There is no way this can work without huge compromises...

- Synchronization would be nearly impossible. You can't stop or slow down custom chips without side-effects (or lost data)

- How to get sound and video back to host? What about all kinds of random i/o-signals needed? It won't be trivial.

- There is no need for fast CPU and custom chip emulation. Emulated gfx card modes don't use or need custom chips and most games that need custom chip modes won't work with "too fast" cpu or bus..

Things that are easy in software can be extremely difficult in hardware and vice versa..
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Chaos Engine, modified Exl Amiga scene 25 23 June 2010 08:02
My heavy modified A1k :D Ratte Hardware mods 16 27 November 2008 22:36
Modified A2386SX for Zetr0 Magic Hardware pics 6 23 August 2008 14:17
Terrorliner (Modified) aubergine request.Old Rare Games 3 30 January 2006 14:26
Terrorpods (not modified) sborat request.Old Rare Games 6 25 July 2001 11:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10704 seconds with 11 queries