English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2007, 14:49   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
eBay-based Amiga rip offs!

I'll start with this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/IDE-To-CF-Wit...QQcmdZViewItem

I got my adaptor cards for about $2.50...so he's installed copywrited (and easily downloaded, should you be so inclined) material and included a $10 CF card...hardly worth it!

Notice the horisontal blurring of the image...he's purposely moved the camera side-to-side when taking the pic, so as to make it impossible for anyone to easily identify the adaptor as one they've already seen (or might see) on eBay for only a few bucks.

Link the nasty stuff you've seen and let's out these rip off merchants!

For what it's worth, I've seen a member of this forum selling CF/PCMCIA adaptor setups + software...his pricing schedule is much better & well within the limits of what you'd consider reasonable

*edit* - Oh, and take a peek at the CF card...looks like he found it in the gutter, it sure ain't new...in fact on closer inspection the sticker looks like it's been peeled off...as if it's from another CF card!

PZ.

Last edited by Fingerlickin_B; 16 February 2007 at 15:35.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 February 2007, 15:46   #2
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
That is unreal! Some poor sucker is even asking questons...
Peter is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 16:31   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Is Belco far away from Victoria, Fingerlickin_B? Go and kick his greedy ass.

But on the other side: Some days ago a Blizzard 1230 IV card was auctioned for 246 . I've e-mailed the seller. He was more than surprised about the high bids.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 16:35   #4
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
Ugh don't you just hate people like that.

Though I have to be honest, if fingerlickin_b didn't point that out, I probably would have fallen for it.

This brings up an interesting point. Say I wanted to use CF instead of an IDE HDD on a 1200...would I need an adapter like that or could I use the PCMCIA slot CF reader as a hard drive?
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 16:44   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
If you want to use CF instead of IDE, you need an IDE to CF adapter.

If you want to plug it in the PCMCIA slot, you need a PCMCIA to IDE adapter, but that is only suitable for storage and file transfer, not booting.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 18:00   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
nearly 60 for a 1gig card? wtf!

I got my 4gb card and adapter for less than 35 hmm maybe i am in the wrong business... but then again its not in my nature to WILLINGLY rip people off (limb from limb)

@boing
CF IDE and CD PCMCIA heres how
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274

Lumping one in an A600 ide
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=27727
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 19:47   #7
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Laptop-Compac...QQcmdZViewItem

Kind of looks familiar ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 20:00   #8
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 473
There is much more of that crap......self-burned kickroms, pcmcia nic for 20 Euro with a driver disk from aminet, same with wlan, pirated software collection cdroms,.....ebay is full with such stuff.
DJBase is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 01:39   #9
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
I send this message: "I paid somewhere in the region of $2.50 for my 44 pin IDE to CF adaptors which are working in both my A600s.
This one must have extra features I am unware of, could you please list them for me before I buy?"

The seller's reply: "You must have bought them from asia? So don't forget to add your postage & Banking fees of $30.00. If not i would like to know where you bought yours from $2.50? I don't think so!!! When one is listed by itself on ebay it goes for Over $30.00 + postage."

Mine came to about $6 each after adding postage from Hong Kong, so god only knows where this $30 figure came from!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 02:05   #10
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B

Mine came to about $6 each after adding postage from Hong Kong, so god only knows where this $30 figure came from!

PZ.
No it didnt come from his nuts (thats the keyword for the loopy smiley), but very close, the same place the sun doesnt shine from.
whiteb is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 02:07   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
that seller sounds like a complete f*cktard!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 04:28   #12
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well, if it's the pirated stuff on the card you guys worry about, report it to eBay, it's easy. Simply tell them he's selling pirated software on that card. Just do an ethical self-check first and see if your own conscience is clean
Photon is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 05:39   #13
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B
The seller's reply: "You must have bought them from asia? So don't forget to add your postage & Banking fees of $30.00. If not i would like to know where you bought yours from $2.50? I don't think so!!! When one is listed by itself on ebay it goes for Over $30.00 + postage."

Mine came to about $6 each after adding postage from Hong Kong, so god only knows where this $30 figure came from!

PZ.
I just grabbed 2 for $AU11 each... You'll have to send me the link to your seller. (altho one for the 1200 and 1 for the SX1 should be enough..)
jabsy is offline  
Old 17 February 2007, 08:04   #14
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
There was a spanner head selling a 100meg hdd for over 100AU with wb3.1 installed for ages on ebay.com.au...

Last edited by T_hairy_bootson; 17 February 2007 at 13:04.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 01:11   #15
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Hahaha, she (the seller) must have read this thread...the card in the picture has now been changed

T...I believe you are talking about the same seller

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 01:44   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B
Hahaha, she (the seller) must have read this thread...the card in the picture has now been changed

T...I believe you are talking about the same seller

PZ.

And she lowered the price to AU $85.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 03:00   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
hmmmmmmmmm

(rough converted ammount) 48.00

For
1GB card
60 minutes configging harddrive from a laptop setup (i do this in under 30mins)

lets see..... I can buy a 1GB card here for under 10 to my door!

that means the seller is making 38 for an hours work!

man i am in the wrong f*cking business!

oh wait up.... i have a concience and dont like F*cking people over!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 10:18   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
He's changed the advert to 256Mbytes
alexh is online now  
Old 20 February 2007, 12:05   #19
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
well my hope is that people realise he/she is ripping people off. Infact if i am not mistaken EBAY policy is that you cannot trade installed software without original installation media.

hmmmmm
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 01 March 2007, 05:50   #20
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/IDE-To-CF-256...QQcmdZViewItem

No longer using "Amiga" in the item title I see?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a US based EBay buddy DDNI MarketPlace 14 19 October 2008 01:47
Possible SATA option in IDE based Amiga's? Paul_s Hardware mods 13 19 September 2008 08:34
Amiga game rip-offs Retroplay Nostalgia & memories 24 02 April 2008 19:37
How to Rip music from games on Amiga or WinUAE. Smiley support.Apps 8 21 July 2005 19:13
looking for Amiga disk based mag technium Looking for a game name ? 0 25 August 2004 11:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29008 seconds with 11 queries