English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2007, 18:53   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Games in laced mode?

Are there any standard Amiga games (non-RTG) to utilise interlaced screenmodes? I know that darkseed does.

I mean the actual game itself not just the menu screens.

Were the interlaced modes actually useable for anything without causing severe eye strain or is it only really thin horizontal lines that cause noticeable problems?

Last edited by killergorilla; 15 February 2007 at 20:02.
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 February 2007, 19:09   #2
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Are there any standard Amiga games (non-RTG) to utilise interlaced screenmodes? I know that darkseed does.

I mean the actual game itself not just the menu screens.

Where the interlaced modes actually useable for anything without causing severe eye strain or is it only really thin horizontal lines that cause noticeable problems?
Evil's Doom uses it, makes your eyes red pretty fast
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 19:48   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Slam Tilt, Pinball Illusions (very bad looking with sd/ff ).
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 19:50   #4
StrategyGamer
Total Chaos AGA is fun!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 873
Arrow Total Chaos AGA = Interlace Forever!

Total Chaos AGA: http://hol.abime.net/3861
All versions use interlace mode throughout the entire game. Causes no eyestrain.

Interlace does not cause eyestrain. If it did then nobody could watch TV since TV signals are interlaced.

Only thin horizonatal high contrast lines cause visible flickering in interlace mode. So if you have a game with 256 colors or more with properly designed graphics then there is no problem.


Total Chaos OCS: Wizard War II (No HOL entry) uses interlace on "Information Screens" only. Looks nice. No eyestrain.


I have other games which are interlaced and DO cause terrible eyestrain due to they only use 8 or 16 colors and are badly layed out with lots of high contrast horizontal lines that flicker more than a 70's disco.

StrategyGamer is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 19:52   #5
rgen
Registered User
rgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Aachen/Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to rgen
Lionheart use it for smoother copper background gradations and you can press i to toggle it on and off and see the effect.
rgen is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 20:06   #6
rgen
Registered User
rgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Aachen/Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 190
Send a message via ICQ to rgen
SimCity 2000, SimLife and Pairs AGA use it for higher resolution but can also be played with DblPAL/NTSC or VGA modes.
rgen is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 20:13   #7
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
Big Red Adventure
mailman is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 21:13   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,746
The text adventure Wonderland and probably Biing too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 21:45   #9
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
Klondike AGA

( which oddly enough is not listed in HOL ? )
blade002 is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 22:13   #10
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,609
Pinball Prelude does when it goes to multiball
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 15 February 2007, 22:50   #11
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Forgot to add Sim Ant
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 01:34   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
So generally, nothing that you'd want to look at for any length of time.

The pinball tables where ok for a short period of time but not lengthy game sessions.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 16 February 2007, 20:03   #13
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
Big Red Adventure and Darkseed are quite decent adventure games which may take you some time finishing them.
mailman is offline  
Old 19 February 2007, 07:10   #14
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
A Amiga pd version of Missile Command went into Lo RES Interlace mode.

Nice game.
redblade is offline  
Old 19 February 2007, 19:26   #15
bobbybearing
Zone Friend
bobbybearing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgen
Lionheart use it for smoother copper background gradations and you can press i to toggle it on and off and see the effect.
hum? the screen mode doesn't change (bplcon0=$5600). It seems to be a copper effect and not laced mode
bobbybearing is offline  
Old 19 February 2007, 19:53   #16
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 188
A-Train can be run in high-res. Though, I can't bear to play the game this way since it is pathetically slow... just scrolling around the map takes forever...
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 00:41   #17
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 71
Biing is also laced. its painful to play imho but i played it quite long
pTah is offline  
Old 20 February 2007, 01:43   #18
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 609
Was Hollywood Poker Pro in interlace? I can't remember!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 18 September 2007, 03:12   #19
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,159
perhaps burnout but not sure
turrican3 is offline  
Old 18 September 2007, 12:07   #20
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
AAARRRGGHHHHHH!

MY EYES! MY EYES!

It had a few uses, like outlined above - the shorter the better. Some nice intro screens in laced, which was about as long as I could stand the flicker on a standard TVset without my brains melting out my ears.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blitz2: Hires laced BippyM Coders. Language 24 29 July 2012 21:18
Games which could run in serial mode (Amiga)? Paul_s Retrogaming General Discussion 12 25 July 2011 00:24
Laced mode problem Hobbe support.WinUAE 7 23 June 2009 05:27
Can't get games on full screen mode Gonzouk support.WinUAE 15 01 May 2007 00:14
That laced mode prob VermillioN support.WinUAE 3 16 November 2002 16:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30183 seconds with 11 queries