English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2007, 09:35   #1
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Scandoubler / Flickerfixer Production?

Hello everyone,

I hope it is the right place for this.

I could start production of flickerfixer/scandoubler for ANY type of AMIGA, but I would need at least 100 customers, the price would be cheap, but I first need to know how many of you still need it?

External, similar to DCE ScanMagic

Regards,
PEnemy

Last edited by Penemy; 07 February 2007 at 09:49.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 February 2007, 09:39   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
internal? external? based on what design?
keropi is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 09:43   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Yeah, please give us more info.
Jope is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 09:46   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
I want one as long as the quality is good.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 10:26   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
The price would have to be below 100 as you can already get external RGB scandoublers for that price which work with the Amiga (and everything else!)
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 10:50   #6
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
The price would have to be below 100 as you can already get external RGB scandoublers for that price which work with the Amiga (and everything else!)
Something like that, the end use price would be something below 100 eur
 
Old 07 February 2007, 11:08   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I have been trying to promote a very cheap 2-chip solution to scandoubling for ages using Averlogic chips. AL251 Scandoubler + AL875 tripple ADC
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 11:27   #8
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
I have been trying to promote a very cheap 2-chip solution to scandoubling for ages using Averlogic chips. AL251 Scandoubler + AL875 tripple ADC
Yeah, those are cheap nowdays, but what about flicker fixer?
ANd no customer for your solution?
 
Old 07 February 2007, 11:46   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
but what about flicker fixer?
The AL251 IS a de-interlacing scandoubler (i.e. flicker-fixer)

Quote:
And no customer for your solution?
Not to the level to make it profitable. Maybe you could drum up more customers if the input was a SCART socket rather than an Amiga 23-pin video connector. That way it would also work with Atari ST, SNES, MegaDrive, PS2, XBOX etc. etc.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 12:13   #10
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
The AL251 IS a de-interlacing scandoubler (i.e. flicker-fixer)

I see..

Not to the level to make it profitable. Maybe you could drum up more customers if the input was a SCART socket rather than an Amiga 23-pin video connector. That way it would also work with Atari ST, SNES, MegaDrive, PS2, XBOX etc. etc.
Well, honestly, I dont want make so profitable, just to cover some expenses, ok I will see about adding scart
 
Old 07 February 2007, 12:16   #11
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
100 euro? i will buy two or three for that price!
Chain is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 14:07   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
The price of scandoublers is artificially high.

The electronics cost next to nothing these days due to the launch of LCDTV's (Which all have Deinterlacing Scan doublers in them).

By choosing the right "high volume" parts, you should be able to make a low cost SCART to 15-pin VGA box and sell for well under €100 and make about 10% profit.

Last edited by alexh; 07 February 2007 at 14:14.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 14:15   #13
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
The price of scandoublers is artificially high.

The electronics cost next to nothing these days due to the launch of LCDTV's (Which all have Deinterlacing Scan doublers in them).

By choosing the right "high volume" parts, you should be able to make a low cost SCART to 15-pin VGA box and sell for well under 100 and make about 10% profit.
Which is, if you ask me, fair enough ;-)
 
Old 07 February 2007, 14:21   #14
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
Why scart?

I want a scandoubler for the amiga only, I have a RGB to scart connector but others outside of Europe will not. Besides wont you lose some quality from the scart connector? I am happy to keep playing my consoles on the TV, none of which even have a scart output. Couldn't people who want scart connectors have an optional cable made up?
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 14:45   #15
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Would be good to have both attached, I think you'd certainly get more customers if a SCART was included.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 14:46   #16
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I think one should consider anything but the 23 pin connector, when you consider the rarity of the damn thing. Scart is pretty much available everywhere (even in Japan). I think a 25 pin connector would be even better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson
Besides wont you lose some quality from the scart connector?
No way.
coze is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 15:30   #17
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ume / Sweden
Posts: 188
I would be seriously interested (read: most certainly buy one)... but ONLY as long as the scandoubler offers 24-bit and is compatible with the A1200 (there are no 24-bit scandoublers for the A1200 unless one is using a Zorro bridge... thus buying one for the A1200 today renders useless if one wants to be able to display AGA correctly).

Though I just noticed that we are talking about an external one. Well, fair enough... although I would prefer an internal one.
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 15:45   #18
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
As I mentioned somewhere else and has already been mentioned here, you can pick up a 15" LCD/TFT nowadays that will scandouble/flickerfix for under 75 euro, the outlandish prices associated with scandoublers/flickerfixers are just totally unjustified when almost every TFT, LCD and Plasma on the market can do the job.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 16:04   #19
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ume / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
As I mentioned somewhere else and has already been mentioned here, you can pick up a 15" LCD/TFT nowadays that will scandouble/flickerfix for under 75 euro, the outlandish prices associated with scandoublers/flickerfixers are just totally unjustified when almost every TFT, LCD and Plasma on the market can do the job.
Well, the only problem is that one has to deal with pixel-aspect-ratio-errors as long as one isn't outputting the screens native resolution. So, either you will get a somewhat blurred picture (or if running via digial input, sharp picture which just looks plain crap). What is there to bother about? some might say, but I am really bothered. The only time I feel its perfect to use TFT/Plasma is when running in that certain screens native resolution... everything else doesn't simply cut it for me (that is also why i prefer CRT-HDTV's instead of Plasma/TFT HDTV's, the CRT-HDTV's do look great even when running lower resolutions than the screens native resolution).
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 16:09   #20
Penemy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
As I mentioned somewhere else and has already been mentioned here, you can pick up a 15" LCD/TFT nowadays that will scandouble/flickerfix for under 75 euro, the outlandish prices associated with scandoublers/flickerfixers are just totally unjustified when almost every TFT, LCD and Plasma on the market can do the job.
Ok, what resolution, and WHERE can you find 15" LCD for 75 EUR?
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I buy a flickerfixer/scandoubler? mange_lars support.Hardware 5 28 September 2010 09:36
ScanDoubler + FlickerFixer Test Driver MarketPlace 6 15 September 2009 01:23
MV 1200 Scandoubler/flickerfixer repairs Dave_wb support.Hardware 2 31 July 2009 20:24
LCD TV or Flickerfixer / Scandoubler olas support.Hardware 91 23 April 2008 15:45
scandoubler flickerfixer blues Dave_wb support.Hardware 5 13 December 2007 17:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.55772 seconds with 11 queries