English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2007, 21:06   #1
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 223
Game in c2p?

To all(?) amiga-classic-coders out there:
Do you think it would be possible to code a 2d-platformer game running on classic-Amiga (AGA) on a 256colour chunky-screen (160x120 and perhaps magnified *2 during gameplay)?
I played with the idea but am not sure if it's a good idea or if the hardware is capable of dealing with it(?)
Would be pretty easy to add parallax-effects, sprite-priorites and stuff like that on a chunky-screen and in full 256-colour glory.
Ideas or thoughts?
oRBIT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 January 2007, 21:15   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
A decent Amiga (040+) should be ok with that...

020/030 users would benefit from Blitter acceleration, but the end result on these machines might not be fantastic. Akiko could be used on CD32 to speed c2p, but due to the poor 020 cpu it would be only slightly faster than using the Blitter.

Are you sure planar couldn't be used? Surely it was made for sprite based games
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 30 January 2007, 22:42   #3
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 223
Sprites on ECS/AGA systems are somewhat limited in the amount of colours as you perhaps are aware of.
With a c2p environment you could have in theory 256 coloured sprites (using the same palette as the backdrop of course).
"Mushashi" that alias seems familiar... Have you coded demos in the past or something?
oRBIT is offline  
Old 30 January 2007, 23:01   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,588
The Musashi you're referring to is from Poland, not from UK. And he's one of the most underrated coders on Amiga, at least in my opinion.
Anyway, about the actual question, why do you want to use c2p for a simple platform game? Also who said you have to stick to Sprites only? You can use BOBs or even COBs (CPU Objects ) or anything. I don't really see the need for c2p for a platform game.
StingRay is offline  
Old 30 January 2007, 23:34   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Heys oRBIT,

Interesting project a c2p based platformer...

there shouldn`t be any real problem if you are basing the project in about 4-8MB of fast ram other than speed to the custom chips ( not an issue if you are aiming to use on an rtg graphics card ) you will be locked to only 1 256 colour palette per screen/frame but i am sure you are aware of that.

lumping screen data from fast-ram chunky to planner will be dependent on processor (and nippy c2p code i recon you could get away with 320x200x256 on an 020 with 4-8MB, it wont be pretty though.... slow-down a lot if you start translating/rotating and scaling.

An 030 platform might be a better a solution as mentioned before, you will miss out some of the special effects like Bobs, Gels and sprites. but i am sure that with a clever tack such using them with a static first 16 colours in the 256 pallet for things such as laser beams or somnik should be able to include them some how....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 01:17   #6
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
i recon you could get away with 320x200x256 on an 020 with 4-8MB
That would be ok for a demo (and even that would be pretty slow) for a full featured game using 320x200 c2p the 020 is much too slow! At least if we're speaking about real cpu c2p here.
StingRay is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 10:04   #7
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by oRBIT
Sprites on ECS/AGA systems are somewhat limited in the amount of colours as you perhaps are aware of.
As StingRay mentioned, BOBs/COBs are the way to go - it never even crossed my mind you'd want to use hardware sprites - yuk

Quote:
Originally Posted by oRBIT
"Mushashi" that alias seems familiar... Have you coded demos in the past or something?
Nothing famous, just a few intros. Again as StingRay mentioned there is a famous Polish Musashi, who is a very good coder. (I hadn't heard of him when I took my nick).

Last edited by musashi5150; 31 January 2007 at 12:02.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 11:36   #8
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 223
I'm not sure if the blitter could deal with alot of blits since a decent CPU(68040+) is faster than it anyway(If I am not mistaken).

About this Musashi guy, wasn't he the guy that coded the "another brick in the wall" demo for AGA? It was quite insane, I think it fitted the entire PinkFloyd song on a 880K floppy together with lots of cool effects. Watch it if you haven't.
oRBIT is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 11:56   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,588
That was the "Tear Down The Wall" demo he coded for Union, an almost 1 man show and a pretty cool one indeed. I don't like the "object show" part in it though. Anyway, great demo, especially for 1995. My favourite demo by him will always be Deformations though.

You can leech the demos here:
Deformations
Tear Down The Wall
StingRay is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 11:59   #10
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,588
Oh, and 040 is indeed faster than Blitter, even 030 already is. But a platform game that requires 040? I don't really know what to think about that.
StingRay is offline  
Old 31 January 2007, 16:36   #11
oRBIT
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gothenburg/Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 223
@Stingray: Tried them both in WinUAE but both fails..

EDIT: Got tear down the wall working but deformations crashes after the coke-can scene..

Last edited by oRBIT; 31 January 2007 at 19:18.
oRBIT is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 22:28   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,588
Nice you got at least one of them working. I have the same problem with Deformations, I remember it also had quite some problems running on my real A500 back then. It can also be that the image is broken, I'll check on my A5oo asap and let you know.
StingRay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on C2P using blitter only neoman Coders. General 2 21 July 2013 23:14
Coders Challenge #2: C2P oRBIT Coders. General 4 04 June 2010 19:12
Any C2P experts here? oRBIT Coders. General 36 27 April 2010 08:26
C2P Speed question Thorham Coders. General 5 20 January 2010 05:27
C2P....help! NovaCoder Coders. General 8 17 December 2009 01:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.62209 seconds with 11 queries