English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2008, 18:16   #41
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
I did crop it a bit.. however, the title screen is bigger than the gameplay.. but I left that out of the video in the end and forgot to crop the rest more. Going to upload the intro screen and all that as 'Part 0', just haven't gotten around to it. Figured most people would rather skip straight to the gameplay instead of watching minutes of the opening pictures first (recorded quite a bit there as the tunes are so nice).

Btw, you'll notice the outside areas fill the screen more too.
laffer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 December 2008, 05:18   #42
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by laffer View Post

Btw, you'll notice the outside areas fill the screen more too.
They are pretty much the same, just a tiny bit difference on the bottom... still, cropping would be soooo much nicer ... no excuses. And even if the title screen is maybe full height, the game itself is not, so... it should have been cropped... oh well, you do what u want ... my movies would fit perfectly anyway.... as I'm just a perfectionist and find it a bit annoying when people don't care enough about the looks of their movies.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 09:04   #43
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
Do you mean by using the new Youtube widescreen function?

There will still be black borders on the sides, though.. and at the top and bottom in the inside parts (unless I zoom the video in those bits).

EDIT -

Here is a test video I uploaded on a channel I use for crap videos.. I got rid of as much of the borders as I could, but the quality seems to have dropped somewhat (remember to choose high quality though).

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by laffer; 19 December 2008 at 12:28.
laffer is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 14:23   #44
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by laffer View Post
Do you mean by using the new Youtube widescreen function?

There will still be black borders on the sides, though.. and at the top and bottom in the inside parts (unless I zoom the video in those bits).

EDIT -

Here is a test video I uploaded on a channel I use for crap videos.. I got rid of as much of the borders as I could, but the quality seems to have dropped somewhat (remember to choose high quality though).

[ Show youtube player ]

Don't know about that as I havn't uploaded a movie in a while. Can you crop movies there? Will upload a movie someday soon and find out.... too bad I havn't recently so I know what it can do.. and can't be bothered to do it right now anyway :P. When I crop movies, I do it in Virtual Dub or MeGUI (the tools the RAG community use for our movies)

Yes, of course, the sides will always have borders when it comes to amiga games, all you have to do and should do in all movies, not just amiga games is to just crop the top and bottom removing the blackness there, and the movie will automatically scare to best fit the window.

The outside uses more space on the bottom than the inside... I don't play SotB nor do I can to watch the whole video to find out, but outside and inside should use the same amount of space, so I think reason why the inside have more black at the bottom is that text messages comes there, no?. So my picture example was a bad choice, I should have used a picture from the outside, THAT one should have filled the top and bottom of the screen, then on the inside some black should be at the bottom, IF you know what I mean and IF the black missing part a the bottom of the inside is for text messages

Ok, took a look at screenshots on HoL, yup, so obvious what to do, the title screen is the same size as the outside, so, all the black area should have been cropped from the title screen, or from above and under an outside screen (saying above and under, because if u crop sides on an outside screen, the title screen will not fit as it uses that space), makes no difference, this will ofc leave some black space under the inside screen, which is the way it should be http://hol.abime.net/1891/screenshot

The is no reason why the quality should change, unless you re-encoded the movie from previously encoded movie, or something...



So, uhm, as the inside screen is smaller than the outside screen, how did you get both to fit the window?, did you stretch the inside part or cut away some of the bottom of the outside?. Because according to the images at HoL, the outside should have no black ontop or under, but the inside should have a tiny bit black on the bottom

So, really, in all movies, even if it's real movies, game movies, the top and bottom should never have blackness, the sides depends on the content, in this case the sides of the outside and inside should ofc have some blackness in the original video, as the title screen and other picture screens uses that space. So, as a rule, always look for the biggest screen in the game and crop away the black from it, and the rest will be perfect.

Hope what I've just said isn't confusing , I just typed away :P
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 14:35   #45
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
thank you for pretty colors
s2325 is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 14:38   #46
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw View Post


So, uhm, as the inside screen is smaller than the outside screen, how did you get both to fit the window?, did you stretch the inside part or cut away some of the bottom of the outside?.
None of those. I just zoomed in the inside parts, and since the video is in widescreen resolution, nothing was cut. You'll see the inside bits are wider.
laffer is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 14:54   #47
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
thank you for pretty colors
Yeah, done like that before, when I can't be bothered to make [quote]s for each thingy :P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by laffer View Post
None of those. I just zoomed in the inside parts, and since the video is in widescreen resolution, nothing was cut. You'll see the inside bits are wider.
Ok, but the movie is now much better and more enjoyable to watch, good work
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 16:44   #48
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
OK, here is the fixed movie.. and in 'HD' this time

I'm very impressed with the quality! Have a look -

[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
laffer is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 20:10   #49
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Now YouTube just need to support 50/60 hz framerates.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 19 December 2008, 23:26   #50
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Now YouTube just need to support 50/60 hz framerates.
And a scanline filter option for the condemned, eh?
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 01:31   #51
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
I found in Sega Master System version:
- you can find flask which give you long and slow jumps
- there is no tree to enter, just small stump without branches
- you need to find and use key to open tree/stump
- press B button to open window with inventory
s2325 is offline  
Old 11 May 2010, 02:56   #52
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
longplay of Master System version: http://www.youtube.com/user/sega8bit#g/u
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 May 2010, 00:38   #53
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
MasterSystem version have new boss, it's just background from castle: [ Show youtube player ] Also you can throw coin in well.
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 May 2010, 01:23   #54
capehorn
Registered User
capehorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,268
0:36 in this video is interesting http://www.youtube.com/user/sega8bit#p/u/10/b2e3WeeN9XQ .

That area is programmed into the map of the Amiga version, yet it is impossible to access because you can't jump that far. Of course the Amiga version was programmed first and then ported to other systems, so the people who converted it must have seen that area and decided to do something with it.
capehorn is offline  
Old 08 October 2011, 22:12   #55
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
Full longplay of Master System version: [ Show youtube player ] For me most interesting part was when beast was transformed to half beast from Shadow of the Beast 2 at 30:22
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 October 2011, 22:20   #56
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
different version endings: [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 12 October 2011, 23:47   #57
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
The SMS longplay was very interesting, odd how they put the Hydra boss from the castle in the tree forest, instead of the other dragon like boss that's usually there... and as a replacement for the Hydra in the castle, they used this creature that's normally just part of the background
laffer is offline  
Old 13 October 2011, 22:10   #58
laffer
Zone Friend

laffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 1,335
Here are two let's plays (playthroughs with commentary) of Shadow of the Beast -

[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

The second one is in French, but has English subtitles (Genesis version) -
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
laffer is offline  
Old 17 October 2011, 20:48   #59
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,815
[ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 18 October 2011, 11:42   #60
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
[ Show youtube player ]
I wonder what platform this is on? Flash?
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow Of The Beast 2 ben111g request.Old Rare Games 19 26 July 2006 23:46
Shadow of the Beast II robotriot HOL data problems 4 10 August 2005 02:58
Shadow of the Beast alexh project.SPS (was CAPS) 4 05 March 2005 11:56
shadow of the beast HELP!!! cmarcel23 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 11 August 2002 03:14
Shadow of The Beast lappen support.Games 8 30 July 2002 01:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.51231 seconds with 11 queries