English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2007, 12:19   #1
Soul_scientist
Registered User
Soul_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 24
Amiga 600....

Been toying with the idea to get one for a while now,
basically because of the size of it, really cant remember much
else about it....worth picking one up?

Thanks
Soul_scientist is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 January 2007, 12:30   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Amiga 600 is basicly an Amiga 500 with internal IDE and Pcmcia port (both of which are very difficult to find expansions for A500). I think an A600 has the potential to become the ultimate whdload gaming machine for classic games, with the right expansions (1mb chip, 2-4 mb fast pcmcia, a decent rom which can run the IDE). There is also an accelerator in progress at individual computers for A600, I suspect prices of A600 boxes could rise if the expansion gets released.
coze is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 12:32   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Do you have any other Amigas?

I personally don't think the A600 has anything to offer over other Amigas.

If you want to play oldschool games I'd really recommand an A1200 with a HD some RAM and WHDLoad. If you want to use programs then I'd still recommend an A1200.

If you are REALLY short of space then go for an A600 (It's not THAT much smaller than an A1200 really)
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 12:44   #4
Soul_scientist
Registered User
Soul_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 24
Well i used to own an A500, basically i just want to use it for games, i have an amiga emulator but prefer the real thing.

Thanks for your info guys.
Soul_scientist is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 12:46   #5
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Well if it's for games and you have a little cash to spend I'd really recommend getting an A1200, a HDD (mine is 3.2gb which is perfect), and an 030 accelerator with 16/32mb RAM.

If you don't want to splash out the cash for an accelerator, try and pick up a RAM card with 8mb.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 13:03   #6
Soul_scientist
Registered User
Soul_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 24
Cool, looks like ill sway towards the A1200

Whats the usual going price for second hand ones these days?
Soul_scientist is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 13:54   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Good question..

I've not looked in to buying amiga hardware in a long time. Anyone have any ideas? Or even better, have some stuff they want to part with
killergorilla is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 14:04   #8
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
A1200's are going for around 35 - 45 approx in good condition on Ebay but you can pick them up a fair bit cheaper if you go for one that has suffered the dreaded case yellowing - be careful though, some sellers idea of good condition may not be yours... the A1200 I bought which was listed as being in excellent condition was far from it - be prepared to do what I had to do and strip the whole thing down and give it a thorough clean...

Ask Sellers to email you additional photos of the Amiga as well...
Peter is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 14:12   #9
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I would go for an A1200 in your situation.

I had a couple of A600's a while back and they are really neat little machines but they are difficult to expand and slow.

The 030 I fitted into one of the A600's caused me a real headache - just kept crashing all the time...

I agree, if a more stable 030 expansion became available for the A600 it would dramatically improve it's popularity - I would probably buy another one.
Peter is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 14:15   #10
Soul_scientist
Registered User
Soul_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 24
Excellent stuff, will have a browse for one once i get home from work.

Looking forward to some long nights of gaming
Soul_scientist is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 23:19   #11
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
The only reason I brought an A600 was because the motherboard was small enough for a descent laptop project, had it for 6 years now and have yet to so much as touch it for at least 3.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 23:35   #12
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Yeah but now you've finished your A1200 what you gonna do?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 01:25   #13
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
get my life back lol!
Mick_AKA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Plastic Dust Cover for Amiga 500 & Amiga 600 S0nic MarketPlace 0 14 February 2013 17:41
I got an Amiga 600. gklinger support.Hardware 16 14 August 2008 04:16
Amiga 600 anyone? jettaman MarketPlace 1 14 April 2005 06:46
PC HD in AMIGA 600 Sergiator support.Hardware 10 31 March 2005 00:37
Should I buy an Amiga 600? One1 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 81 18 December 2004 20:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17622 seconds with 11 queries