English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2007, 21:55   #1
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Emulating Amiga on PPC Macs....SUCK

One advantage that Windows (purely because of the ubiquity of Windows) has over Mac OS is the preponderance of superb emulators. WinUAE is brilliant, STeem Engine is fantastic, etc.
So my attempts to emulate Amiga on any Mac I have ever had stinks. Solution:
Buy that Intel iMac I have been saving up for, and then I can use all the windows emus I want
Fred the Fop is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2007, 22:00   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
windows has a MUCH larger userbase from any other OS , which give it a huge advantage, no matter how much better (if better) any other os is... in the end it all comes down to numbers...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 January 2007, 22:27   #3
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 44
Posts: 365
The Amiga emulator in MESS is shaping up - here are some recent WIP screenshots:
http://rbelmont.mameworld.info/?p=172

Here's the SDL port of MESS for mac:
http://www.macmess.org/

If you look around in the forums maybe you can find something interesting:
http://www.bannister.org/forums/ubbthreads.php/ubb/cfrm

Good hunting.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 00:33   #4
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
The same story in Linux really. Emulators in general are pretty poor there, and the whole Linux 'backend/frontend' method just doesn't work for me.

WinUAE with it's integrated GUI and unbelievable feature set won't be beaten.

I think Fred has the right idea. There's no point struggling with rubbish emulators (with all due respect to the developers) when you can install Windows and use it solely for that.
P-J is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 01:24   #5
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
windows has a MUCH larger userbase from any other OS , which give it a huge advantage, no matter how much better (if better) any other os is... in the end it all comes down to numbers...
You are essentially repeating what I said, but then again, you are a friend of that idiot Dizzy...
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 01:30   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
You are essentially repeating what I said, but then again, you are a friend of that idiot Dizzy...
now I realize I am repeating what you said, and furthermore I am repeating what you said about me repeating your first post.
keropi is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 02:48   #7
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
now I realize I am repeating what you said, and furthermore I am repeating what you said about me repeating your first post.
I might be repeating what I said about you repeating after me, but I'll digress, as this can be repetitive, as per the oft repeated refrain heard in lectures:

"Those who ignore the daft are likely to repeat history"
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 02:50   #8
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
The same story in Linux really. Emulators in general are pretty poor there, and the whole Linux 'backend/frontend' method just doesn't work for me.

WinUAE with it's integrated GUI and unbelievable feature set won't be beaten.

I think Fred has the right idea. There's no point struggling with rubbish emulators (with all due respect to the developers) when you can install Windows and use it solely for that.
Yep. The Mac emus for NES, SNES, C=64, Speccy, and a few others are really excellent. But the rest is mostly crap.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 02:53   #9
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sune Salminen
The Amiga emulator in MESS is shaping up - here are some recent WIP screenshots:
http://rbelmont.mameworld.info/?p=172

Here's the SDL port of MESS for mac:
http://www.macmess.org/

If you look around in the forums maybe you can find something interesting:
http://www.bannister.org/forums/ubbthreads.php/ubb/cfrm

Good hunting.
Wow.The forum at Richard's place i never paid attention to. Thanks Sune.
What is kinda sad is we Macsters rely on Richard for a lot of our emulation needs. He is damn good, just that it would be nicer if we had more guys.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 08 January 2007, 18:49   #10
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,135
WinUAE in XP on my black Macbook runs like a dream
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 09 January 2007, 04:19   #11
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
WinUAE in XP on my black Macbook runs like a dream
I am sure! I am saving for an intel iMac. I am putting aside 1% a day ($20) for a 2.33 core duo 2 gb 20" screen, etc. I have a G4 Powerbook and it is still good, but I definitely want an intel, the age on this baby is starting to show.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 09 January 2007, 07:14   #12
shillard
Registered User
shillard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Newcastle / Australia
Posts: 143
So you only like 'em young Fred?

Like Ali G says, "If there is grass on the pitch, let's play".
shillard is offline  
Old 10 January 2007, 22:21   #13
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
I am sure! I am saving for an intel iMac. I am putting aside 1% a day ($20) for a 2.33 core duo 2 gb 20" screen, etc. I have a G4 Powerbook and it is still good, but I definitely want an intel, the age on this baby is starting to show.
I have a serious hardon for the big screen intel iMac, it's awesome!

My previous laptop was (and still is) A black G3 Powerbook, easily the best laptop apple ever made, 4hrs battery, hot swap drive bay, runs 10.3.9 so quickly for a machine of its age.
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 08:15   #14
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
I have a serious hardon for the big screen intel iMac, it's awesome!

My previous laptop was (and still is) A black G3 Powerbook, easily the best laptop apple ever made, 4hrs battery, hot swap drive bay, runs 10.3.9 so quickly for a machine of its age.
A close friend had that one and sold it for a iBook (The clamshell one) and regretted it. That laptop rocks. Sleek and large and wonderful.
I was looking at a guy at CompUSA here show gawking people (including myself) running Vista Pro and OSX Tiger in BootCamp and Parallels, and I was amazed, how rapid and blazing both OS's were, and how beautiful they looked on a 20" iMac.
Ok Vista is no Tiger, but it is a lot better looking than XP.
Anyway Mick, the iMac i want is $2000, so i am saving 1% ($20) a day by cutting back on luxuries here and there. By the early spring that iMac shall be mine
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 08:17   #15
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by shillard
So you only like 'em young Fred?

Like Ali G says, "If there is grass on the pitch, let's play".
Ali G is the man. He is funnier than Borat IMHO.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 11:45   #16
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
I have a serious hardon for the big screen intel iMac, it's awesome!
One word : Erm.
P-J is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 12:18   #17
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
i am saving 1% ($20) a day by cutting back on luxuries
You usually spend $20 a day on luxuries??

Or are you spending $20 a day on rent boys?
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 13:05   #18
dreamkatcha
My elbow tastes of icky

dreamkatcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 713
UAE on the Mac is pretty much unuseable without the Hi-Toro GUI, though even then the core of the emulator lags far behind the Windows version. Last time I checked it didn't even have a save game option which is essential unless you have the time to play everything from start to finish in one sitting.

Sometimes you're better off playing Amiga ports with SNES9x or ZSNES. These two are as advanced as the Windows versions. They've got to the stage where there's very little that could be done to improve them.
dreamkatcha is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 17:25   #19
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
True dream, the UAE core for Mac is decrepit. I tried Hi-Toro and could never get it to work.
As for the SNES emulators, they are probably the best emulators on Mac now.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 19:32   #20
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
the sad thing is UAE stands for Unix Amiga Emulator, what happend? We should at least have a good linux version out there what this e-uae and has anybosy got a good linux config?
superBuster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't 'warm' to emulating Amiga! fatboy Retrogaming General Discussion 19 17 May 2013 19:42
Is there a way of emulating Amiga OS4.0/1 on a PC yet spannernick New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 21 June 2012 12:39
Konami Amiga games...SUCK! Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 33 16 January 2007 04:32
Suck on this (amiga demo fans) Anakirob Amiga scene 4 29 November 2005 00:57
Wait a sec - what about Macs? Computolio Amiga scene 10 02 June 2004 07:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09156 seconds with 12 queries