English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2007, 04:42   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
King's Quest IV gets stuck in the middle of the game

You can make Rosella jump 2 times to the west, then the night closes in: you get a beautiful "night" picture, captioned with "Darkness enfolds you", then the crown icon appears and there is no key possible to press, except for the right mouse button (menu).
Seems that the game tried to load something which it couldn't; hence loading of disk 3 gets stuck tight at track 14. It would be possible that it's a floppy emulation problem, as it DOES occur with the IPFs too.

It will be "quite" an effort to test this on real thing for me with no HD, as I will be required to transfer FOUR disks (3 game disks [4th is not needed at this stage] + save disk).

So could anyone please retest this on the miggy whether it works beyond this point? I'm fairly sure it will, as the disks ARE OK. Save-game disk is in the zone.
Thanks.

[edit] made a HD install with the original IPF disks - same problem!

Last edited by andreas; 07 January 2007 at 14:01.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  




Old 06 January 2007, 15:40   #2
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 35
Posts: 252
sorry offtopic:

why you don't wait for the remake in the look of KQ5 or 6. I have played the remakes of KQ 1 - 3. I really hate the look of the original KQ 1 - 4.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 06 January 2007, 17:31   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Blatant offtopic attempt.
I want the screenshots for HOL! Whether I'd like to play the remake instead, is another story

Last edited by andreas; 26 September 2007 at 21:45.
andreas is offline  
Old 06 January 2007, 19:54   #4
Tweeky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 148
while working on my King's Quest scans for HOL, i saw your posting and installed my original disks on HD on my Amiga 1200 and used your save disk. i have exactly the same problem "darkness enfolds you" with the crown icon. playing from disk is the same.
maybe a bug in the game?
Tweeky is offline  
Old 06 January 2007, 19:59   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks for doing that!

Yeah...Toni is about to suspect that too ... could be a bug in the game. Or maybe it was me who introduced that bug because I used save-state before, then shortly before that scene, I switched to "real" save-games, i. e. a disk?
I'm about to believe that, because saving a game in an "unstable" state of the game may lead to unpredictable results! And save-state really is not that stable yet, see also current sound issues when restoring a state (sorry Toni )

Moreover: I installed the game from IPFs to a virtual HD (directory on Windows partition) using the installer on disk 1 and when restoring the save game, I noticed major sound screeching noise!
Could be an audio problem which I introduced by repeatedly saving and restoring from state files!

It will require "some" time, but it may be worth the trouble ... as there is nothing more annoying than an adventure game stuck right in the middle...

So I'll refrain from using save-states this time. Promised.

Last edited by andreas; 06 January 2007 at 20:10.
andreas is offline  
Old 07 January 2007, 01:35   #6
fisken uno
Commodore's biatch
fisken uno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Age: 34
Posts: 670
This happened to me as well when I played thru KQ4 recently. It turns out that if I carry out the small quests in a different order (not ending with the one where you get the magic fruit for Rosella's father) the game does NOT freeze at the "darkness enfolds you" screen. So yes I guess it's a bug in the game.

Btw I DID play the game with WinUAE though, but could complete it successfully.
fisken uno is offline  
Old 07 January 2007, 14:01   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks!!
That's the best hint I've got so far!

So you're saying the order does matter...will try that thanks!
andreas is offline  
Old 02 February 2007, 10:16   #8
Gooberslot
 
Posts: n/a
I actually had the exact same problem when I tried to play it on my A500 back in the day so it's definitely not a WinUAE bug.
 
Old 02 February 2007, 10:31   #9
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 32
Posts: 7,907
What's wrong with the 116 screenshots Belgarath added to HOL recently?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 02 February 2007, 11:09   #10
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
As this is not a WinUAE bug.....thread moved to prb.games
Paul is offline  
Old 02 February 2007, 23:26   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Thanks for the (reasonable) move Paul.-

Yes, Belgarath had to "reverse-engineer" the problem too when doing the shots; it's simple: do not even think of collecting the scarab BEFORE you have collected the fruit - this is likely to confuse the game completely.

Last edited by andreas; 02 February 2007 at 23:31.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
king's quest vi save game garet74 support.Games 0 02 July 2012 13:04
king's quest IV aohovland support.Games 2 10 February 2010 00:59
Mouse stuck in middle of window jobro support.WinUAE 5 12 December 2005 08:19
Larry, King Quest, Space Quest - fixed games haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 8 01 May 2003 17:07
King's quest 2 sborat request.Old Rare Games 22 04 August 2001 12:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14466 seconds with 11 queries