English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Which Amiga do you own?
Amiga 1000 24 2.41%
Amiga 500 159 15.98%
Amiga 2000 37 3.72%
Amiga 500+ 31 3.12%
Amiga 1500 5 0.50%
Amiga 3000 29 2.91%
Amiga 600 66 6.63%
Amiga 4000 110 11.06%
Amiga 1200 448 45.03%
Amiga CD32 33 3.32%
Amiga CDTV 6 0.60%
I don't have one, but plan to get one 20 2.01%
I don't have one, and I don't plan to get one 27 2.71%
Voters: 995. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 April 2006, 01:01   #441
Aral
TOSEC-PIX Curator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
I started work in 1988 and bought my first Amiga 500 a few weeks later.... I paid around AU$1500 if i can remember right... LOL At home now i have 18 A500's, 2 A2000's both with 50mb HDD and PC Boards (1 of them im using atm to transfer ADF'S ) 3 A600's and 2 A1200's. The funny thing is that the A1200's, the A600's and 9 of the A500's i found on the side of the road when we have curbside cleanups...hahaha Also have 6 1084S monitors that i got that way also
Aral is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 May 2006, 13:47   #442
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
A1200 Purchased in 1995, had the dodgy drive that only read workbench type Disks and hated non-DOS, but that was put right by Escom.

Upgraded to an Apollo 1240 with 4 meg, but then since my house is a PC museum(or junk room as the wife calls it) I upgraded that to 16 meg.

Might bang the good ol' 1200 in a box in the near future. I've got the Amiga bug again!!
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 25 May 2006, 06:40   #443
HymnsomniaK
Onezay Riendfay
HymnsomniaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portugal
Age: 39
Posts: 119
I got:

1 Amiga 500 1.3 + 512k
2 Amiga 500+ 1 working , 1 dead
2 Amiga 600 1 working , the other "sort of" working
1 Amiga 1200 Escomm

Last edited by HymnsomniaK; 23 June 2006 at 06:03.
HymnsomniaK is offline  
Old 25 May 2006, 09:09   #444
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
After selling some Amiga gear and buying some,

My new inventory consists of...

A4000 (Desktop), Cyberstorm 060 (not PPC) with 128MB of ram. (OS3.5 and OS3.9 disks, original) - This is the new one.
A1200, 030 @33Mhz (DKB Cobra) with 20GIG drive.
A500 with 4MB ram expansion (Sold the A530).
whiteb is offline  
Old 13 June 2006, 01:30   #445
gotmashed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: isle of wight
Age: 38
Posts: 83
ok

1x 500 with 1 meg not a sign of yellowing
1x 600 keys are yellow
1x 1200 again keys are yellow harddrive couldnt say how big
1x cdtv which has green screen
i only ever use the amigas never emulaters
gotmashed is offline  
Old 13 June 2006, 09:51   #446
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
I voted A1200 but I also have A500 with 2,5 MB of RAM.
mailman is offline  
Old 13 June 2006, 10:13   #447
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
I voted A1200 but I have:
  • A1200 + BlizzardIV 1230@50MHz + 16Mb RAM + CDROM 10x + HD 340 Mb
  • A500 (naked)
  • CD32 + SX-1 + 4MB RAM + Floppy Drive + PS2 IBM PC Keyboard
But I must admit I mostly use WinUAE lately since I don't have much room to plug the Amigas + the PC and it's really handy to use emulation nowadays. Also I can hardly imagine using my A1200 without a GFX cards now that I tried Picasso emulation under WinUAE.
z00mba is offline  
Old 13 June 2006, 23:26   #448
Tim
 
Posts: n/a
I have an A1200, which cost 295 secondhand, years and years ago. I also have an A500+ with a 1.3 rom switch and 1mb memory expansion. Woo!

Don't use either very much thesedays.
 
Old 14 June 2006, 00:20   #449
spackhead
 
Posts: n/a
Having bought an A500 when they first came out and later an A1200, I have recently decided to see if I can complete a full set of all the 'proper' miggys

Just need an A2000, CDTV, A500+ and an A600 to be there.

Should be able to grab 2 of those on ebay soon but I think the A2000 is gonna be costly to find.

Will be using the A4000 for most things but lets face it, they are all wonderful!
 
Old 21 June 2006, 14:09   #450
zioben
 
Posts: n/a
My machine...

I started with A500, then i passed to plain A1200...
Once started university i acquired an HD, then an acceleretor card.
Then the 1200 died then i bought another one.
Now i got An A1200, 10GB IDE Hard disk, Blizzard 1260 @ 60 mhz with Scsi controller, CD-Rom, CD-RW and 9 gb SCSI 2 HD. Plus Mediator Pci Board, Voodoo 3 PCI, Soundblaster 128, Ethernet card and USB Card with driver developed by myself!!! All putted in a tower-pc modified.
 
Old 21 June 2006, 15:05   #451
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
Why you can't add more than 1 amiga type to the poll?? I have more types of amiga LOL
blade2565 is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 02:57   #452
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 589
Voted A4k, as that is what I have now. Well, for the last, erm, somewhere between 7 and 10 years. Not actually been used, although I lusted after one in the early 90s.

Started with an A500 in 1988, added external drive, 1.5mb RAM, and a monitor. Upgraded to a B2000 around 1989/90. A whopping 80mb drive added courtesy of a Supra controller in '91, internal SCA II, and between 92 and 95, an ICD FFV, GVP 68030-40, GVP I/O, GG Bridgeboard, SuperAgnes, tapestreamer, CD, and a few other gizmos. Used it in anger until 1997; all of my AUI, ICPUG, and PC magazine articles were written on that machine.

Had an A1200 in 1992, but rarely used. Sold it.

Sometime in the late 90's I acquired an A4000, from a reasonably famous Amigan. It cost me a 9GB UW-SCSI drive, istr (or was it the drive and 100). Another fellow Amiga swapped the 68030 card for a 68040 daughterboard, and a rev 11 Buster. It still didn't get used much. At some stage a WarpEngine 68040 card found its way in there.... must have been around 1999, or maybe 2000. Really cant remember which house I was in

Something I'm not too glad about - I was loaned a Tower'ed A1200 with 68060 card, expander board, and other gadgets, as try-before-buy (for 100). I lost contact with the owner, never heard from him and moved a few months later. Other than booting it once, its never really been used.

A couple years ago I bought a Cyberstorm PPC/68060. Its still sat in its box. And a Picasso IV - still in the box. Heck, in 2000 I popped over to Eyetech and bought a network card and FliFi for the C64-3D. They sat in the box until 18months ago, when I got round to fitting the FliFi.. heck, was it really 6 years ago I bought, and 18months ago I fitted... oops. At same time I bought a couple of Promethous cards, an Eagle Tower, some other A4K tower (micronics?), another couple of A4K PC expansion motherboardy things, and a bunch of A1200 PC expansion boardy things, a couple Voodoo 3 and 5 gfx cards... 18 months later still not fitted, still not decided which card to go in which machine. Nor fitted the PPC... oops.

The B2000 was put on ebay. It sold within minutes. To an Australian! It cost 140 to ship it there, but when it arrived, it worked out of the box! Sadly, he mailed me a few weeks after having bought an A4K and PC. That B2000 was the bees knees, it was loaded. No spare slots at all, customised to hell.

And somewhen in 1999/2000, a brother gave me a vanilla A1200. Guess what - it is still sat in the box, unused!

Hmm, I must get the A4K up and running. I've got the time, I've got the kit, and I've got the sieve like memory that means I'll be asking which way round the floppy cable goes, as istr the drive is kaput (can you still buy Amiga FDDs?)
alewis is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 20:45   #453
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 46
Posts: 236
I started in '90 with a 500.. 1084S (amazing monitor, that..) 512 memory expansion, second drive. Later added an AdSpeed (14 mhz, but only for things that fit into it's small cache..) and also hacked it for an NTSC/PAL switch (originally an NTSC machine) as well as a 1 meg chip / 512/512 switch.

Then when the 1200 came out I got that with some multisync monitor or other. Upgraded that with an (internal mini) hard drive and later upgraded to an 030 board with a few megs of memory that kept crapping out on me because of the heat.

Still have both, but in storage and just use WinUAE these days. (I know, I know )
paranoid is offline  
Old 23 June 2006, 21:12   #454
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
@Alewis quote"Something I'm not too glad about - I was loaned a Tower'ed A1200 with 68060 card, expander board, and other gadgets, as try-before-buy (for £100). I lost contact with the owner, never heard from him and moved a few months later. Other than booting it once, its never really been used."

So now I have finally found you!! Send it to me now or the Peelers are on their way!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 24 June 2006, 00:49   #455
Outcast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Peterborough
Age: 56
Posts: 40
Rev 1A Corby manufactured A1200 with A1260 & Scsi.

But thats all yesteryear stuff.

AmigaOne XE G4 & Os4
Outcast is offline  
Old 25 June 2006, 18:22   #456
Raid27
I have a joystick

Raid27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 147
I own a Amiga 500 from 1988. It was a xmas present and came in some sort of package with monitor, printer, mouse, extra-drive and an extra 512kb of RAM.

The monitor is dead, and so is most of my games, but the comp itself works.
Raid27 is offline  
Old 26 June 2006, 00:33   #457
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI
@Alewis quote"Something I'm not too glad about - I was loaned a Tower'ed A1200 with 68060 card, expander board, and other gadgets, as try-before-buy (for 100). I lost contact with the owner, never heard from him and moved a few months later. Other than booting it once, its never really been used."

So now I have finally found you!! Send it to me now or the Peelers are on their way!!
Lol. I wondered how - or many peeps would try that one - sorry matey, wrong location... *if* the owner is still around (and he's younger than me, so should be), he'll remember who I am, and PM me. I hope he does, I have his kit!
alewis is offline  
Old 26 June 2006, 01:02   #458
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
LoL worth a try lol....
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 June 2006, 16:13   #459
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Why are 3000's so rare here?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 26 June 2006, 23:19   #460
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 51
Posts: 589
C= was never much cop at marketing in the UK, they left it to the distributors. And there was no perceived demand for the A3K. C= did announce it, but iirc tried to push it as a workstation, the A3000UX (or was it A3500UX?). Which was a bit uphill, given it was outperformed by the then current workstations so could only compete on cost.

And it didn't really offer anything above a well specced B2000, to be honest. And if you were going to drool over any computer at the time, it would have been the NeXT box...
alewis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who owns which rights? Amiga Inc/Commodore Inc/Cloanto/Hyperion? 1988 Amiga scene 21 13 November 2017 21:06
Who owns the 'oldest' Amiga? Paul_s Nostalgia & memories 20 02 April 2017 07:10
Who exactly owns Amiga now? Jonathan Drain Amiga scene 9 09 October 2012 00:49
Who Owns The Rights To The Amiga? GoldenHeart Amiga scene 61 09 April 2009 13:04
Who owns it? Dr. Dude New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 06 February 2004 21:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24652 seconds with 13 queries