English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Which Amiga do you own?
Amiga 1000 24 2.41%
Amiga 500 159 16.00%
Amiga 2000 37 3.72%
Amiga 500+ 31 3.12%
Amiga 1500 5 0.50%
Amiga 3000 29 2.92%
Amiga 600 66 6.64%
Amiga 4000 109 10.97%
Amiga 1200 448 45.07%
Amiga CD32 33 3.32%
Amiga CDTV 6 0.60%
I don't have one, but plan to get one 20 2.01%
I don't have one, and I don't plan to get one 27 2.72%
Voters: 994. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2006, 10:54   #421
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 1,373
Originally Posted by BinoX
Can I have your A530 then? ^_^ pllllzzzzz

Polish lives not far from me, if i do get it (hopes, hopes, Hopes) I have offered to sell him My A500/A530 to him.

A500 (KS 1.3/2.04 kickswitched, Trapdoor 4MB expansion, ECS Chipset (Rev 6a), A530 is fully loaded with 2x 4MB GVP Simms (My 3rd simm will go to the 2000's GVP card).. Yes, That *DOES* mean the A500 has 12.5MB of ram (1MB chip). Its my original A500 I had since I lived in the UK, it was lost by the airline (I suspect Qantas left it in the hold when i changed planes at Singapore, I went to perth, Amiga went to Sydney.) and was freighted by courier to me a few days later (Qantas Courier).
whiteb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 January 2006, 11:02   #422
Miggy Man
BinoX's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom
Age: 32
Posts: 831
Cool A500

I was hoping to get at A530 'cause I had to put my A500s accelerator in my CDTV so now I'm looking for a replacement one... oh well..

If Polish changes his mind, drop me a PM
BinoX is offline  
Old 26 January 2006, 12:01   #423
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Plymouth, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Er, I bought my Amiga 500 from a friend in about 1990/91 for £200 (earned by doing a paper round!!) and that's the one I still have and use!
Brickbat is offline  
Old 26 January 2006, 16:51   #424
Posts: n/a
Very very long thread…..
I have my Amiga’s starting back from 87’. I jumped to A2000 from (Oric, ZX,C64) then few different Amiga’s, I can’t remember the right orders anymore I was changing them as some woman’s the underwear . I am proud owner of following Amiga products today: “and some other ones (Total of 32 computers )”
A500, CDTV, 2 x A1200 One PAL and One NTSC version, A2500, 3 x A3000, A3000T and A4000
All Amiga’s are in original configuration no “Accelerators”, one A3000 and one A1200 are still as brand new .
I am desperately looking for original A3000T case, just the CASE , my one is in bad shape, abused by former owner.
Old 29 January 2006, 16:02   #425
Posts: n/a
I bought an Amiga 500 in 1989, and were nostalgic/crazy/Amiga-loyal enough to buy an A1200 in 1996. However, I sold the 1200 in 1998, and finally got a PC in 2000. I still own the A500, though, but haven´t used it for many years now.
Old 02 February 2006, 13:53   #426
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 465
Hi guys. Jon here, how you all doing?

I had an A1200 in about 93 I think, using Octamed and stuff and loving Frontier. That gave up the ghost. I did get one from ebay a couple years ago (a1200 w/ 030/42mhz). Getting back into it now though, need to get an 060/PPC and CDROM on it! (Although my lady isn't too keen on it! Not an Amiga fan!)


musojon74 is offline  
Old 02 February 2006, 22:20   #427
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 467
Some changes to my Amigas:

- Amiga A4000T
- Amiga A1200T
- Amiga 1200HD/40

Last edited by DJBase; 29 June 2008 at 18:02.
DJBase is offline  
Old 03 February 2006, 00:37   #428
Zone Friend
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 94
Still got a dusty ol' A500 somewhere in the attic... and it works still.. somehow.
Had an A1200 too but that was toast within a year.

Been happy ever since findig WinUAE tho.
method is offline  
Old 03 February 2006, 18:19   #429
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 40
Posts: 722
about winuae my biggest concern is that audio emulation is still shortly delayed and unstable...didn't you notice ?

also some of my favourites games do not seem to work under WINUAE...for instance, twintris !! the blocks moves are not limited to the frame, making the game unplayable...did you have the same problem ? is this a config problem (i tried to play with it but without any success)

got a1200 +8Mb Fast and 2 Gbytes HD full of whd installs...and think my life won'T be enough to play it all!!
pbareges is offline  
Old 15 February 2006, 01:09   #430
Posts: n/a
I have 3 A500's (whereof one found in a garbage bin - people are crazy!) and one A1200, for which I recently got a 060 card again (sold off the old one back in 2000) and a network card. Amiga - you just can't beat the feeling.
Old 15 February 2006, 13:33   #431
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sosnowiec/Polan
Age: 39
Posts: 41
I bought Amiga CD32 two weeks ago and I'm very happy . Only 20 E . Cd32 pad is very shitty. .
adamst85 is offline  
Old 23 February 2006, 04:32   #432
Zone Friend
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Planet Blot
Posts: 14
A1200 is my amiga of choice but i have a A500 in the attic somewhere.
to be honest tho, these days i just rock UAE for most stuff.Except octamed.this is cos i lost most of my amiga games in the 90`s to the damn "sadam virus"

But when i figure out how to convert adf - real amiga floppy, then il be back to the real thing. gona have to invest in a lot of blank disks....
ClydeRadcliffe is offline  
Old 24 February 2006, 01:17   #433
Registered User
snowman's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
I own two Amiga 1200 and one Amiga 1200 motherboard.
All of them running with accelerator boards. I'm intended to get one Amiga running in a tower ´, equiped with a PCI-Mediator a PPC and a 3dfx grafics card + ethernet. As far as I'm not very experienced with that AmigaOS stuff I would like to see OS4.0, MorphOS, M68K-Linux and that nice OpenGL things running again.
I have 8 port KVM(+Audio) switch connecting my AMIGAs (in parallel) to a Linux-PC. Unfortunately I still search for a good solution to attache the Amigas to the KVM-Keyboard (via selfmade PIC based converter). I found a nice Mouse-protocol-converter, which I want to implement within the next days (I hope my wife gives me the necessary peace).
snowman is offline  
Old 24 February 2006, 01:27   #434
the big end
jenzie's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: renfrew, scotland
Age: 46
Posts: 18
an a600 with a whopping 2 MEG of memory!!!
haven't tried it it years though, i can actually see it from where i'm sitting LOL
jenzie is offline  
Old 20 April 2006, 15:40   #435
Amiga 1000 [1986]
microslave's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mönchengladbach/Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 62
Yet another A1000

My one and only amiga ever was and still is an old Amiga 1000, which I got back in 1986. It came with built-in 256MB (uh sorry KB I meant) and a 256KB cartridge for getting a fantastic total of 512KB! It still had Kickstart 1.1 and Workbench 1.1, but the 1.2 versions where included too. Apart from the Extras Disk it was bundled with the Mindwalker game (thus being my FIRST Amiga game ever!)
Some weeks later I had some money to buy the Infocom "Hitchhiker's Guide to The Galaxy" adventure. I bought it in a regular computer store and it cost me about 80.-DM then!
To catch up with a friend of mine, owning a A500 from 1987, I bought another 512 memory extension which was put in the "sidecar" slot on the right. Of course a second floppy drive was indispensable too, if you wanted to avoid disk-jockeying too much
My Amiga still works today and I would never ever sell or swap it. Nowadays I'm keeping the memories of these days alive using WinUAE on my PC (yes, I'm ashamed of that...)
Greetings to all Amiga(1000)-users!
microslave is offline  
Old 20 April 2006, 18:52   #436
Rick Dangerous
Registered Playmate
Rick Dangerous's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: OZ
Age: 46
Posts: 144
That poll is not multiple-choice. I voted A2000.
The others I have are: A500, A600HD
Rick Dangerous is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 17:15   #437
Posts: n/a
Lots of Amigas here :

Amiga 500 (Stock, 1.3)
Amiga 600 (PAL, 2MB, 2.05)
Amiga 1200 (030/50Mhz, 34MB, 3.9)
Amiga 3000 (030/25Mhz, 18MB, 3.9)
CDTV (Stock)
CD32 (Stock )
Amiga 4000T on order (not sure what's in it yet)
Old 25 April 2006, 20:25   #438
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 8,488
Originally Posted by icbrkr
Lots of Amigas here :

Amiga 500 (Stock, 1.3)
Amiga 600 (PAL, 2MB, 2.05)
Amiga 1200 (030/50Mhz, 34MB, 3.9)
Amiga 3000 (030/25Mhz, 18MB, 3.9)
CDTV (Stock)
CD32 (Stock )
Amiga 4000T on order (not sure what's in it yet)
(stock)...... shudders at the thought
bippym is offline  
Old 29 April 2006, 16:36   #439
Posts: n/a
I first saw magazines about the Amiga in about 1988 I think. I had a C64 and used to buy Commodore magazines and picked up Amiga ones a couple of times. A good friend of mine who also had a C64 and I both dreamed of having one of these cool looking Amiga's. Well, He purchased an A500, but not having much software (just Tetris and Carmen Sandiego) and being frustrated with the difference with Amiga Basic and C64 Basic, he sold it to me. This was probably 1991. I began buying lots of software from Software Support (they had a nice catalog with tons of Amiga and C64 stuff). My brother also got into it, buying an A500 himself complete with a 250mb hard drive (this was in a metal case which attached to the expansion slot on the left, Dataflyer I think). He later purchased an A2000 with an '030/40 which he settled on. I became very much obsessed with Amiga and over the years collected as many of them as I could. At one time, I owned an A500, (4) A2000's, an A3000 and an A3000T '040/50 (I must say that to be honest I might be mixing the speed up with my bros '030 and my '040.. bugs me that I can't remember for sure). Due to financial troubles, all the Amiga's went bye bye . I still kept up on the Amiga, watching it get tossed from company to company, but eventually did something I swore I would never do and got a PC. I had spent alot of time lecturing my other Amiga comrades when they traded their Ami's for PC's and here I was having done the same thing (I did get Amiga Forever though, so obviously, I wasn't going cold-turkey). Well, a couple years ago, the same friend who I mentioned before decided to sell his A1200 (he had purchased one a few years after he sold the 500 to me). So, I bought it. It's pretty much been stored away until recently. It was very irritating to me to see it collect dust. So, I bought an Amiga to PC linkup, a 2.5" to 3.5" IDE adaptor and a 4.5 gig HD and have been back in Amiga land since. I'm currently working on setting up games using WHDload and am looking for an accelerator with RAM (perhaps just a decent '030 or '040 prolly not an '060, unless it was super cheap.. I really just want a bit extra speed and the extra RAM to play the WHDload games with no prob as that's mainly what I want to use it for, although it sounds cool to browse the web with the Ami ). Amiga Forever is very nice but having a real Amiga is so much better. My twice mentioned friend was here a couple days ago (we have been good friends for about 16 years) so I could copy all his old Amiga game and music projects that he still had stored on original Ami disks, from my REAL Amiga to the PC and burn them to a CD, so he can access them with Amiga Forever. I think him seeing me having so much fun with the Amiga again is making him a bit nostalgic. The one Amiga I wished I had owned was an A4000. I think if I saw one for sale and had the cash, I wouldn't be able to resist.
Old 29 April 2006, 17:56   #440
Steve James
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cheshire/England
Posts: 32
Started with a 500+, graduated to various towered 1200's with all kinds of cards from mediators to the zorro II busboard for the 1200, sold loads but always end up buying more for my Amiga fix!
This is what I have left.
A1200 in Power Tower with Mediator, Blizzard 060/50+scsi kit, Voodoo 3, Spider? usb etc etc.
A4000 030, Cyberstorm 060 mkII from my old dead 4000 (not installed yet) Cybervision 64
And Various bits and pieces such as Multiface card, Picasso IV, Apollo 060/75, Blizzard 060/ppc 200? that needs looking at, CD 32, Ateo tower with 1200 motherboard and typhoon 030 and loads of other hardware that I can't remember!!
Also have loads of original software, Pagestream, Image FX etc
And Emulators such as Amithlon and Amigaforever!
Steve James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who exactly owns Amiga now? Jonathan Drain Amiga scene 9 08 October 2012 23:49
Who owns which rights? Amiga Inc/Commodore Inc/Cloanto/Hyperion? 1988 Amiga scene 14 10 December 2010 02:08
Who Owns The Rights To The Amiga? GoldenHeart Amiga scene 61 09 April 2009 12:04
Who owns the 'oldest' Amiga? Paul_s Nostalgia & memories 18 02 December 2007 16:34
Who owns it? Dr. Dude New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 06 February 2004 20:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30369 seconds with 13 queries