English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: Which Amiga do you own?
Amiga 1000 24 2.41%
Amiga 500 159 15.98%
Amiga 2000 37 3.72%
Amiga 500+ 31 3.12%
Amiga 1500 5 0.50%
Amiga 3000 29 2.91%
Amiga 600 66 6.63%
Amiga 4000 110 11.06%
Amiga 1200 448 45.03%
Amiga CD32 33 3.32%
Amiga CDTV 6 0.60%
I don't have one, but plan to get one 20 2.01%
I don't have one, and I don't plan to get one 27 2.71%
Voters: 995. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2005, 12:04   #361
crocked
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Age: 47
Posts: 28
I have the following

Batman Pack a500 (later expanded to 1meg memory)

A1200 twice though one was nicked so I only have one with harddrive now.
crocked is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 July 2005, 16:04   #362
Fenrir
Junior Member
Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tromsų, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 66
Floppy disk

I own an A500 1.2 since 1989 (it costed me a bloody lot but it's still the best computer I've had by far) and an A4000 040 right in front of my eyes now, from 2001. I want to pump it up a bit when I've got time, and my final aim will be connecting on the internet with it - but since I've been using an A500 for so long and I've never owned a high-end system, it's still a bit complicated working it out :P that's what the EAB is for :P
Fenrir is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 16:11   #363
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
fenrir: Get a network card + get a TCP/IP stack (miami or genesis) and off you go
kriz is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 18:07   #364
Figi
Registered User
Figi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 133
I just added an A600 to my collection. :-)
Got it from the local newspaper. 15 Euro for an A600, second disc drive, 2 Competition Pros, a Sigma Gameboard (large Joystick), boxed PGA Tour Golf, Workbench handbook and two boxes with various discs. I left the CRT at the seller because I run out of storage space for all that stuff here...
Figi is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 18:09   #365
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I am now a proud owner of A3000UX. Superb machine. Works like a dream.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 19:24   #366
adgloride
Amiga Mod Chipper
adgloride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 229
I got myself another Amiga off ebay 2 years ago a amiga 1200. I found that my old Amiga 500+ internal battery had leaked and ruined it. I've expanded the 1200 with a blizzard IV accelerator with 32mb of memory, it now runs at 50mhz. I have a dvd-rom drive and os 3.9 installed. Hopefully when I have the cash I'm going to put it into a tower and unleash more of its power.
adgloride is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 20:51   #367
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
expanding an amiga can be very expensive...
keropi is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 21:00   #368
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Towering looks expensive, simple ram and processor upgrades can be cheap enough if you look for a while for a deal.

Thankfully I never had the urge to tower my A1200 030/50 machine.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 23 July 2005, 13:41   #369
Figi
Registered User
Figi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 133
Towering... depends. If you go for a case that's designed to hold an A1200, it's getting expensive. That's why I bought a cheap big tower for PC, got a cutting machine from my brother, cut the necessary holes and went with a selfmade solution that costed about 35 Euro for the case and 10 minutes of work with the cutting machine.

Oh, and I spent another 7 Euro on a "Knight Rider"-style running light for the front.

[Edited] Ok, I forgot the adapter that was needed to attach an external PC keyboard. Dunno how much that was.
Figi is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 06:05   #370
front243
 
Posts: n/a
I have an Amiga 1200 and if everything goes as planned I will have an Amiga 4000 this weekend (I am still waiting for a response from the seller)
 
Old 29 July 2005, 11:36   #371
Rock_Lobster
I'm onboard
Rock_Lobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 25
I have 3 Amigas! Oh, how I love them.

1x Vanilla A500
1x Vanilla A1200

1x A1200 w/ 68030cpu, 68882fpu, 68030mmu
18mb Ram (2chip 16fast)
512mb Hard Disk
External CD-Rom drive (double speed, wooo!)


They're my babies.
Rock_Lobster is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 17:55   #372
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Smile

Time to update my list a bit, I own:

A1200 (almost complete )

A4000, 060/50, 128mb, PicassoIV, MFC III, X-Surf II, OS3.9

A1-XE, G4/933, 256mb, R7000/64mb, SBLive!, OS4

µA1, G3/800, 256mb, OS4
Severin is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 21:18   #373
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
A1200 towered, but in the past also CD32 and A500 with sweet 1.2 Kickstart and 1081 monitor to boot.
wanderer is offline  
Old 02 August 2005, 17:21   #374
Halvare
 
Posts: n/a
During my time with the amiga I went from:

A500 > A1200 > A4000/30
 
Old 03 August 2005, 00:49   #375
Techx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Middletown NJ, USA
Age: 45
Posts: 71
hey all.. well I have somewhat of an interesting story.. I first got an A500 and loved it, and I had a subscription to amiga world magazine which had a contest for a brand new a1200 with deluxe paint. So I entered and one day I got a phone call from someone in that magazine who told me I was the winner! Out of several thousand entries, I had won myself a free a1200.. which I still have to this day and in good condition. The only upgrade I did to it was installed a 245MB external harddrive. And I'm actually looking for an '030 upgrade card to get back into some old school gaming

cya,
Techx
Techx is offline  
Old 20 September 2005, 15:15   #376
haskary
Registered User
haskary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Reus / Catalonia / Spain
Age: 40
Posts: 15
I'm Amiga user since 1989, when I bought a mighty Amiga 500. Now I have a desktop Amiga 1200 from Commodore and a A1200 towered with a Blizzard 1230 50mhz, Hd, CD-ROM, CD-RW, Silversurfer, scandoubler, etc...a beatiful baby. Now I'm looking for a Cd32, if possible not in e-bay. I like to buy a new one.
haskary is offline  
Old 20 September 2005, 19:01   #377
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I have A1000 + phoenix board, A1200, A4000. The A1000 is my favourite machine as it's the only one which plays old original games properly at exact speed and has kickstart 1.3/2.0 selectable. And it was the first amiga model I owned so has many nostalgic memories.
Calgor is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 00:17   #378
BarrySWE
Zone Friend
BarrySWE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 404
I have 3 Amiga 1200!!!
One with 1220 Blizzard 4mb and 420mb HD and lyra keyboard konverter (pc keybord)

One with Blizzard 1230 32mb ram and 540mb HD.

and the last i brought yesterday A1200T with 10gb hd abd cdrom os3.9 and ps/2 mouse adapter , idefix97 and so on....
BarrySWE is offline  
Old 03 October 2005, 01:15   #379
stuntman
 
Posts: n/a
New member here. This seems like a good thread to introduce myself...

I acquired an A500 (1MB) in '89 after pursuading my parents I needed one for college. Of course I just played games on it, with Giana Sisters being one of my favourites (also on the C64). I didn't really know anyone else with an Amiga, and like most students I was always skint so I gradually grew tired of my limited software collection (good as they were, there's only so many times you can play the same games). Then I got hold of Octamed on a magazine coverdisk, and that was it, that's all I ever used (along with a sampler and Audiomaster II that I got from another coverdisk). I was always running out of RAM for the samples, but this restriction forced me to be more creative! I carried on making tunes/remixes in Octamed until one day my monitor gave out a loud crack, and it died. My Amiga days were over....so I thought.

I recently got hold of a nice clean A600. It's so dinky! Actually, it's small footprint is ideal for use alongside my other computer(s). So, I'm just getting back into the Amiga and looking forward to discovering a load of 'new' software, that I missed the first time round!
 
Old 03 October 2005, 04:33   #380
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Well, 1200+Blizzard 040+mediator +voodoo3 +64 mb ram and an 500 (bare, only 512k), that i am willing to upgrade. Also still looking for a viper 530 for my 500
_ThEcRoW is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who owns which rights? Amiga Inc/Commodore Inc/Cloanto/Hyperion? 1988 Amiga scene 21 13 November 2017 21:06
Who owns the 'oldest' Amiga? Paul_s Nostalgia & memories 20 02 April 2017 07:10
Who exactly owns Amiga now? Jonathan Drain Amiga scene 9 09 October 2012 00:49
Who Owns The Rights To The Amiga? GoldenHeart Amiga scene 61 09 April 2009 13:04
Who owns it? Dr. Dude New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 06 February 2004 21:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30566 seconds with 13 queries