English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2006, 09:06   #21
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
AmigaOS looks more like VMS than UNIX at the command line level. :-)
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 December 2006, 17:02   #22
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
AmigaOS looks more like VMS than UNIX at the command line level. :-)
Yes it does, amen to that the CLI is the root of all power using professionals
jmmijo is offline  
Old 28 December 2006, 09:28   #23
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckles

The Amiga was the first home computer with pre-emptive multitasking though. The Lisa and the early Mac would allow you to have several tasks going at the same time, but only one could be active at the same time, and the OS wasn't capable of automagically switching back and forth between them.
I dunno, Chuckslut, (heh)...according to applemuseum.bott.org, the Lisa indeed did have preemptive multitasking..

"...The Lisa team had added extra features not included in the Alto including the dragging, double-clicking of icons, pull-down menus, a menubar at the top, and the famous trash can. The Lisa OS also had preemptive multitasking. This and the fact that the Lisa team had no guide or set of instructions to follow, therefore having to "reinvent the wheel" according to what some of them had seen is reason enough to give them the full credit they deserve. See a Lisa OS 7/7 screen shot, or a color picture of the Lisa."

http://applemuseum.bott.org/sections/gui.html
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 21:30   #24
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 685
Well, that's interesting but I tend to believe that the website is simply wrong. I've just done some searching to try to verify this, and the closest I got was finding one place that said that the Lisa allowed you to run several programs at the same time, but they don't clarify whether more than one can actually be getting CPU time at the same time. Most of the info I was able to find on the Lisa didn't even mention multitasking in any form. With the early Macs being essentially derivatives of the Lisa, I'd have expected that they would have retained the ability to do pre-emptive multitasking if the Lisa had that ability, but the early Macs only allowed you to switch manually between tasks via the Finder, and the tasks that weren't currently selected sat idle. I'd be impressed if the Lisa had pre-emptive multitasking, but would be puzzled why that didn't make it into the Mac right off the bat. Of course, calling the Lisa a home computer at all is a bit of a stretch since the machines originally sold for about $10,000 each, but that's a different issue.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 23:45   #25
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
Why is this being presented by what seems to be some sort of a middle eastern male porn star?
Ultron is offline  
Old 04 January 2007, 12:38   #26
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred the Duck
I dunno, Chuckslut, (heh)...according to applemuseum.bott.org, the Lisa indeed did have preemptive multitasking..

"...The Lisa team had added extra features not included in the Alto including the dragging, double-clicking of icons, pull-down menus, a menubar at the top, and the famous trash can. The Lisa OS also had preemptive multitasking. This and the fact that the Lisa team had no guide or set of instructions to follow, therefore having to "reinvent the wheel" according to what some of them had seen is reason enough to give them the full credit they deserve. See a Lisa OS 7/7 screen shot, or a color picture of the Lisa."

http://applemuseum.bott.org/sections/gui.html
Don't think so. Apple had never seen such technology before, as they saw when they attended the demo of the Alto, yet took WIMP and added Definitely never seen before technology!? That means they couldn't even ask the Alto programmers for help. Doubt they would take double risks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Lisa
Photon is offline  
Old 04 January 2007, 20:36   #27
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Well I've read several articles that say it's a commen misconception that Lisa had pre-emtive multitasking, like the one linked below under "Notes":

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Lisa

Quote:
It is a common misconception that the Lisa OS used preemptive multitasking.
but to be honest, does it really matter? Many computers were putting up firsts back in those days and they all fed off one anothers ideas. They're all golden age machines and did their bit at improving the market as a whole.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench on amiga CD? G.Longsword support.Hardware 6 10 August 2012 19:06
Amiga Workbench 1.3? capa Amiga scene 5 05 October 2011 19:50
Amiga Workbench 3.0 ami_junkie MarketPlace 2 11 September 2009 12:21
Workbench 3.1 and Amiga os 3.5 support.Apps 4 31 March 2002 21:05
Will the Amiga 500 or Amiga 1000 run workbench 2? anim8 support.Hardware 12 18 August 2001 06:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19072 seconds with 11 queries