English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2006, 00:32   #21
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
Dosbox Ultima, EOTB, full Mt32 support, sbpro.. It's worth some €500 in hardware setup but runs better.

AdvanceMAME - Running great in my arcade cab. Such a cool concept to even emulate a 15hz output of the original arcade screen. Ran my neo-geo next to it and couldn't see any difference. Even the bios boot crap was the same.

ePSXe - Symphony of the night, 1240 FSAA, 52xCD and so on, yum!

winUAE - Great a500 emulation, but will only run on my XP system :/ I'd love 15hz support, nix and all the updates.

Picodrive - Running sonic on my p900 is pretty darn sweet.

VMware - compile, swap environment, get files, get back.. in under 30 seconds. OK, not really emlulation, but close enough.

Last edited by spiff; 14 December 2006 at 01:19.
spiff is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 December 2006, 12:21   #22
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Snes9x - PC
DrMDx - GP2X
gpSP (gameboy advance) - GP2X
Svummvm - PC, OSX and GP2X
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 14 December 2006, 12:30   #23
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 608
My faves...

Snes - Zsnes
Genesis - KegaFusion
ST - Steem
Amiga - WinUAE
Spectrum - Realspectrum and EmuZWin
Amstrad CPC - Caprice
NES - FCE Ultra
PSX - EPSXE and PSXfin1.0
Dreamcast - Chankast
Arcade - Mame
GB/GBA - Visual Boy Advance
C64 - CCS64
Archimedes - Virtual A5000
N64 - 1964
Master System/Game Gear - Meka
Lynx - Handy

I like emulators! Much less leads! Have a pile on my Dreamcast too.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 14 December 2006, 12:48   #24
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
WinUAE - Amiga
WinVICE - C=64
Stella - Atari 2600

HOL2001 is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 01:03   #25
aldo
Registered User
aldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus
My faves...

Snes - Zsnes
Genesis - KegaFusion
ST - Steem
Amiga - WinUAE
Spectrum - Realspectrum and EmuZWin
Amstrad CPC - Caprice
NES - FCE Ultra
PSX - EPSXE and PSXfin1.0
Dreamcast - Chankast
Arcade - Mame
GB/GBA - Visual Boy Advance
C64 - CCS64
Archimedes - Virtual A5000
N64 - 1964
Master System/Game Gear - Meka
Lynx - Handy

I like emulators! Much less leads! Have a pile on my Dreamcast too.
How do you get psxfin to go fullscreen? Tried everything I can think of
Forget it, I have it, I got the psx frontend and done it through that. Strange that there wasnt an option within the emu to do that.

Last edited by aldo; 15 December 2006 at 02:09.
aldo is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 09:06   #26
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldo
Anyone have a link to a Wii emu then?
http://www.nintendowiiemulators.com/wii-emulation.htm

Dizzy is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 10:21   #27
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 608
aldo, I don't use the frontend for PSXfin - it's the old Right Alt+Enter to go fullscreen!
Coagulus is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 10:31   #28
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I use WinKawaks. It's a great Arcade emulator.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 10:56   #29
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
WinUAE coz it utterly amazed me (and I love being able to play games on it that my unexpanded, HD equipped A1200 can't manage) & CCS64. That's both of my most loved compootas emulated. I downloaded ZSNES for the Missus and was thoroughly impressed with that too!

I had heard you can get the old Arcade classics emulated too like Robocop, Street Fighter, etc. but can anyone recommend any good ones and where to get the games from?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 14:12   #30
aldo
Registered User
aldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus
aldo, I don't use the frontend for PSXfin - it's the old Right Alt+Enter to go fullscreen!
Thanks, I couldnt for the life of me remember the button combination
aldo is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 14:56   #31
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri
I had heard you can get the old Arcade classics emulated too like Robocop, Street Fighter, etc. but can anyone recommend any good ones and where to get the games from?
The legendary MAME

Get the Windows GUI version from here MAME32
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 17:38   #32
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 489
Well I forgot about sidplay2/w.
Avanze is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 19:37   #33
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
DamienD - Where do you get the games from and does MAME emulate the Capcom machines, etc.?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 December 2006, 20:12   #34
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri
DamienD - Where do you get the games from and does MAME emulate the Capcom machines, etc.?
It sure does emulate Capcom machines. CPS-1 and CPS-2 at the moment, CPS-3 is still being worked on. CPS stands for Capcom Play System

Make sure you check out some Neo-Geo games also

MAME actually has 6372 supported ROM sets, 3428 unique games at present.

Also check out this EAB thread for recommended games and pictures: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25897

As for where to get games from, I'm not going to post that in this thread. I'll send you a PM...
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 03:11   #35
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
It sure does emulate Capcom machines. CPS-1 and CPS-2 at the moment, CPS-3 is still being worked on.
Well MAME is currently changing the CPS2 internal system which will require an insane 4GB decryption table per game, so use Kawaks or Nebula. Also you can forget about CPS3 being decrypted is will never happen.
Avanze is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 04:25   #36
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avanze
Well MAME is currently changing the CPS2 internal system which will require an insane 4GB decryption table per game, so use Kawaks or Nebula. Also you can forget about CPS3 being decrypted is will never happen.
Yeah, sure I know this... I read ALL the MAME WIP pages on a weekly basis (if not sooner). CPS-2... IIRC this was mentioned a month or so ago on either Aaron Giles http://aarongiles.com/ or Charles Macdonald's websites http://cgfm2.emuviews.com/ ...

Luckily it hasn't been implemented as yet. You know MAME though, always trying to achieve 100% accurate emulation no matter what the costs i.e. speed / size of files. As you can imagine they always recieve complaints from various LAMERS saying this game or that game used to run better in earlier versions of MAME or on other emulators like Kawaks / NeoRage / Nebula / Raine where they runs at full speed with my 3 year old PC, why doesn't MAME etc...

Something I remember reading in the past few months about Bubble Bobble emulation on Nicola Salmoria's (i.e. the GODFATHER of MAME) website i.e. and I quote:

Quote:
So, how close was the simulation to the real thing? Very close; "too good", actually...
CPS3 being decrypted is will never happen

Yeah, true it is a long way off

...but saying I would have thought the same about SEGA Model 1 / 2 emulation but recently it's improved a little. All these things take time, luckily I'm with MAME for the long run
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 05:12   #37
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Yeah, sure I know this... I read ALL the MAME WIP pages on a weekly basis (if not sooner).
Yes so do I, but I have quit downloading the frequent intermediate updates now. I just wait for the point releases, less hassle.
Avanze is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 05:53   #38
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avanze
Yes so do I, but I have quit downloading the frequent intermediate updates now. I just wait for the point releases, less hassle.
Definitely...

Never have downloaded / updated intermediate releases... No point IMHO as they change too frequently

Ever since I found out about MAME (1997) and started dowloading it I've always read all the progress on the MAME Status page. Then of course this changed and virtually all major MAMEDev members started to have individual pages where they report their current projects / advances...

I only ever download "full" releases, none of this "u1 / u2 / u3" etc stuff...

Once the next full release version comes out I download all the ClrMAMEPro DATs / artpacks, run them on my roms / chd / artpacks files and download what I'm missing and what's changed. This takes enough time as it is
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 December 2006, 13:36   #39
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Once the next full release version comes out I download all the ClrMAMEPro DATs / artpacks, run them on my roms / chd / artpacks files and download what I'm missing and what's changed. This takes enough time as it is.
I know what you mean as in the beginning I never use those DAT files for checking the validity of romsets. However, now I use RomCenter which makes life a lot easier for handling all those frequently changed rom files, not that I am a big rom collector or anything like that. To be honest you can get quite dependant on these things.
Avanze is offline  
Old 19 December 2006, 23:29   #40
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,943
ePSXe, WinUAE, blueMSX, Dosbox, Project64, zsnes, Mame32, PCSX2 (ps2 emulator which can actually run SOME games)

I forgot the name of the Atari2600 emu I use.
gimbal is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
Emulators on the amiga JACK98 Retrogaming General Discussion 20 18 January 2009 22:55
Playstation 2 emulators Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 6 14 January 2008 16:34
TOP 5 best emulators laser Retrogaming General Discussion 76 05 November 2007 21:09
Emulators on XBox? Adeptus Retrogaming General Discussion 31 26 April 2004 05:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29603 seconds with 11 queries