English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2006, 00:11   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Happy Just got a Vortex GoldenGate 486SLC, plan to play some DOS games...

I grabbed from eBay a Vortex GoldenGate 486SLC 25mhz in order to use it on my 2nd 060 4000...
The main idea is to use the amiga to play also some nice older dos games, like alone in the dark, apogee games, maybe ultima underworld 1, scorched earth... dunno how good that card is, I plan to use a real ISA vga and an ISA soundblaster on the amiga... I am also gonna use the spare amigakit.com UMON monitor switch I got to switch between amiga/pc...
anyone tried anything similar with a bridgboard?
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 December 2006, 02:46   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Man how did you find it ? could you post the link ? I couldn't find it in the completed auctions.
coze is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 08:49   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yeah, ebay search sucks from time to time...
look HERE!
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 08:52   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
WOW that was a good price Keropi, well done indeed!!!!

if you need any sims to max out memory just gimmie a shout i 'l post ya I believe that bad boy can take 16MB (4x4mb)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 09:02   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
lol, thanx, it already comes with 16MB onboard
do you have any other 30pin simms? like 8MB or 16MB ones?
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 09:49   #6
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
shit I'm jealous So can you use isa vga cards or soundcards with this baby ? if you can, you could build the ultimate retro gaming machine ... wow.
coze is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 10:00   #7
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I've got 2 Vortex 486SLC cards in my 2 060/PPC A4000s - they work a treat. Just get yourself an ISA VGA and Sound card and you'll be running great

IIRC the Vortex maxes out at 16mb Keropi... that's what my 2 have anyway.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 10:04   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
I have plenty of 8mb's

what ya need?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 10:26   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
@Zetr0: Amigaz grabbed a Fastlane, we where looking for some 30pin simms... I bet he could use some maybe MOS PUP can see the mem, who knows...
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 11:20   #10
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Can you use a Soundblaster with that card? I think the 286 bridgeboard (that I have) does not support DMA so the Soundblaster does not work.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 13:36   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
@Unknown_K:
I really don't know if it supports DMA? musashi5150 knows more, he uses 2!
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 14:46   #12
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I've never used a sound card (ran out of ISA slots )... but I've used a Cirrus Logic VGA and a 3Com Etherlink III without any probs.

I couldn't get it working with my Central Point Deluxe Option Board though
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 14:59   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
does it at least have a buzzer (pc-speaker) musashi5150 ???
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 15:54   #14
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
It certainly does have a buzzer I've played Wolf3D with the buzzer and also it goes 'daaaa da da' everytime the PC side boots
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 16:38   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
allright!
then play "Alone In The Dark I" , or even Monkey Island / Maniac Mansion... pc speaker is cool, and for those who think the pc speaker is lame check those 2 mp3's:
Original Sample
played through the pc-speaker

and some muzik, lol:
Monkey Island 1
Maniac Mansion

And here is a great article with the history of pc-sound in games (where I "borrowed" the samples too lol) be sure to check adlib and the roland cards sounds...
Crossfire Designs PC Sound History Article

Last edited by keropi; 06 December 2006 at 21:07.
keropi is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 20:40   #16
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Me clicks on Original Sample link in keropi post and what do I hear...

“There’s a mushroom in my Bedroom...There’s a mushroom in my Lawnroom...There’s a mushroom in my Barthroom and a lovely fragrance in the air...”
Paul is offline  
Old 06 December 2006, 21:13   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
lol yeah!
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cloning the Vortex GoldenGate Monitor Master... keropi Hardware pics 9 07 September 2017 04:37
Windows 95 and the GoldenGate 486SLC Tryphon support.Hardware 13 27 August 2012 16:46
For Sale: Vortex GoldenGate 386 with Monitor Master keropi MarketPlace 7 09 March 2008 00:02
Goldengate 486SLC and GVP 040 Combo problem AmiNost support.Hardware 17 23 October 2007 13:06
GoldenGate 486SLC and OS3.9 keropi support.Apps 17 10 October 2007 20:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28714 seconds with 11 queries