English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2001, 00:01   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Got GBA? Got TV? Got GBA *and* TV?

Then, my bosom buddies, you are in glorious luck :
http://www.gamegizmo.com/gbatv.html
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 December 2001, 00:17   #2
sgt_chimp
 
Posts: n/a
If you have a TV and dont want to play games on the go then buy a SNES for less than 5 from ebay or your local 2nd hand console shop (my mate picked up an N64 + 2 pads for 4 from a 2nd hand shop). Mario Kart, F-Zero, Street Fighter, Castlevania, Mario, Bomberman, etc. all games for the GBA that are on the SNES and SNES games wont cost you 30 (more like 2 - 5 ).

I have a GBA and thier great for on the go but there is no way I would pay that price to play it on a TV

almost $80 for a TV adapter that's obscene! Americans can get a Dreamcast + games for about that cant they???
 
Old 14 December 2001, 00:37   #3
sgt_chimp
 
Posts: n/a
Nah! 1 SNES (5-8) Multitap (2) Super Bomberman (2-4) Street Fighter Turbo ( 2-4) Mario Cart (2-4) + 2 or 3 crates of Stella (35-45) = a Saturday of complete mayhem for 4 people. much better than one guy at a PC with a flimsy PC joypad (and I personally wouldn't want a load of drunk mates any were near my PC).
 
Old 14 December 2001, 00:49   #4
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
The actual GBA screen is crappy, and playing great exclusive GBA games on TV is cool.
RCK is offline  
Old 14 December 2001, 19:56   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
80 is a bit steep, but this device is good. There are exclusive GBA games, and you cant compare SNES F-Zero to GBA F-Zero... the GBA game is so so so so superior!

Keep in mind this accessory needs you to make a small modification in your GBA, so you better buy a spare unit for home :P
Akira is offline  
Old 15 December 2001, 00:45   #6
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
screw paying money just get an emulator i recommend...

Visual Boy Advance - http://vboy.emuhq.com

and if you need roms... go here...

Link Removed

and...

get yourself a serial link and flash reader cartridge, buy a 64mb flash card and chuck a load of games over to your GBA, works like a treat!!!!



Last edited by Ian; 15 December 2001 at 01:30.
Djay is offline  
Old 15 December 2001, 01:29   #7
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
I removed your GBA rom link.

We're not part of the emu-warez scene yet, just a bunch of retrogamers
Ian is offline  
Old 15 December 2001, 01:45   #8
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
sorry Ian
-----------
okay i'll put another way search the net using a good search engine....
Djay is offline  
Old 17 December 2001, 19:34   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
I would not tell people to get a flash linker for piracy either. Please stop this bollocks.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 December 2001, 02:36   #10
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
so akira, you've never, ever used pirated or software that you don't own the original license to?

WinUAE and Fellow have both been designed for use with the original copyrighted kickstarts, back-up is no excuse now as ElSPA recently decided that because we have stable storage media, back up is not to be used!

Okay, so maybe your using a Real Amiga or whatever, but like it or not your in a scene with alot of ex/pirates in it!

sorry....
Djay is offline  
Old 23 December 2001, 11:11   #11
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Of course. But remember that emulating an Amiga doesn't nescesarily have to be for the purpose of doing something illegal Djay.

I understand what you mean about it being a little stupid to emulate when you have a real one. But take me for example. I have an A500 which for a good while didn't work because I had no way to connect it to a TV. I still had the original Kickstart rom, but could I use it? NO not without an emulator.

Then take memory. I have an A1200 with a harddisk though but still no memory upgrade. Emulating more memory would be beneficial as would emulating a larger harddrive. Plus with emulation you can easily alternate between different tasks.

These two are just examples of ways to use an emulation. I'm not saying I don't have any pirated software. I do have. Actually the kickstarts I have I downloaded illegally from the net and afterwards went to buy the real things.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 December 2001, 13:01   #12
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
DJAY@WORK

working in the computer industry, right from a base level you see many forms on piracy, sometimes people don't even know they a commiting a crime!

so it's very hard not to be involved, if you don't like piracy just don't do it!
 
Old 04 October 2003, 18:39   #13
Mojo
Junior Member
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 132
Send a message via ICQ to Mojo Send a message via AIM to Mojo Send a message via Yahoo to Mojo
...

How many people use photoshop here??

How many have paid for it?

According to Adobe, only 5% have licenses for their software.

I can guarantee that a vast majority of people on this forum have that piece of software.
Mojo is offline  
Old 04 October 2003, 19:56   #14
Fissuras
Old Luny

Fissuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brazil
Age: 47
Posts: 563
And why bring back a 2 years old thread?
Fissuras is offline  
Old 04 October 2003, 20:14   #15
Frootloop
Junior Member
Frootloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Eh
Posts: 167
I use Gimp Win32 for all my image editing needs, even though it's prone to crash (atleast on my setup). But I'm not a graphician so I don't know how it compares to Photoshop, which I've never used. Still, free is good enough for me!
Frootloop is offline  
Old 04 October 2003, 20:35   #16
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
I simply can't WAIT for a native OSX port of GIMP! C'mon you coder types! Not all of us can afford PhotoShop!
rattus is offline  
Old 04 October 2003, 22:49   #17
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
how do you do 2D graphics in Photoshop?

I got grey hair when figuring that out.
cv643d is offline  
Old 04 October 2003, 23:01   #18
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Can a MOD split this thread pls!

I don't see how Photoshop has ANYTHING to do with GBA on a TV!!!!
BippyM is online now  
Old 05 October 2003, 00:42   #19
Mojo
Junior Member
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 132
Send a message via ICQ to Mojo Send a message via AIM to Mojo Send a message via Yahoo to Mojo
lol.

Sorry to bring that up, Couldnt resist.
Mojo is offline  
Old 05 October 2003, 07:11   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
Quote:
Originally posted by rattus
I simply can't WAIT for a native OSX port of GIMP! C'mon you coder types! Not all of us can afford PhotoShop!
Just download teh X11 server, recompile GiMP and use it .)
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GBA splash Djay Amiga scene 7 04 March 2008 19:43
Nightfire on the GBA Nexjen MarketPlace 2 03 July 2004 23:25
GBA bits... for 1 Djay MarketPlace 1 11 February 2003 05:11
Where is GBA Speedball 2? Dastardly Retrogaming General Discussion 10 06 October 2002 17:17
Elite coming to GBA, But will the GBA's target audience like it ? sgt_chimp Retrogaming General Discussion 9 15 December 2001 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.00880 seconds with 11 queries