English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 November 2006, 15:57   #1
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Building a scart cable

Recently I've just acquired a nice xrgb-2 "upscan converter" (read : scan doubler). I have tested the composite input and it works nice with my amiga, but of course I'ld like to use the rgb port instead so I set my self to building a amiga rgb - japanese scart cable. I checked some pinouts on the net, some mention use of some resistors, while some don't. What are these resistors for ? can I get away without them ?

http://www.omega.ntnu.no/~kamben/hwb/ca_AmigaScart.html
http://www.jeacle.ie/pub/articles/scart/
coze is offline  
Old 28 November 2006, 16:03   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,122
The resistors are used mainly to bring the +12v power line down to the +1v and +3v required on the AUTOSWITCH and FASTBLANKING signals.

If I were you I would try without anything connected to AUTOSWITCH(8) or FAST BLANKING(16) pins on the SCART (as in the second webpage) but you may get a blank screen.

If you choose to use them without resistors you risk damaging your shiney new XRGB thingy

Auto-switch(8) is also WSS (Widescreen signalling) get the wrong voltage on that and you may get the XRGB thing stretching your image?
alexh is offline  
Old 28 November 2006, 16:44   #3
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
yes ! i also bought an xrgb box and just connected red, green, blue, ground, and composite sync from what i remember!! the result is really awesome!! ...do no hesitate to ask for more help if needed...i will try to remember in details...good luck!!
in previous posts, i submitted the links i used for the wires----

japanese:
http://www.gamesx.com/avpinouts/rgb21pinj.htm

euro:
http://www.selkirkshire.demon.co.uk/...sat/scart.html

good luck!
pbareges is offline  
Old 04 December 2006, 16:38   #4
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Ok, I just built the cable with rgb and composite sync and their respective GNDs connected. I get a good picture, but there is still a faint flickering. (and my eizo lcd screen complains about syncing down to 49Hz) is it about my screen ? or did I mess up the cable (bad contacts ?) ?
I didn't connect autoswitch cause it's not necessary. And what is blanking for ?
The second link in my first post mentions some resistors on the rgb channels and composite sync. Would these increase image quality ? (and why resistors on both sides of composite sync ?)
so many questions
coze is offline  
Old 04 December 2006, 17:23   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,786
The x-rgb2 will always flicker a bit.. A CRT will work better than a LCD.

And yes, not all monitors will sync that low.
Jope is online now  
Old 04 December 2006, 17:34   #6
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze
Ok, I just built the cable with rgb and composite sync and their respective GNDs connected. I get a good picture, but there is still a faint flickering. (and my eizo lcd screen complains about syncing down to 49Hz) is it about my screen ? or did I mess up the cable (bad contacts ?) ?
I didn't connect autoswitch cause it's not necessary. And what is blanking for ?
The second link in my first post mentions some resistors on the rgb channels and composite sync. Would these increase image quality ? (and why resistors on both sides of composite sync ?)
so many questions
i first tried to use xrgb2 with a LCD myself but i had two main issues, i was not able to extend the size of the screen to overscan (because of the auto screen setup) and when moving very fast ,scrolling rendering was really ugly... so i decided to plug it to a good old CRT....and the result was perfect clear!! but you have to go through the fine tuning process that can be quite long to master all xrg2 features..your first move should be to switch the xrg2 output to the higher hsync frequence (above 40Khz from what i remember) to improve image stability...then find the good lines balancing ( i think the best i found is to let one line out of 2 black to get the same kind of output as old 15Khz monitors with 256 lines) to avoid slime graphics and get sharp rendering..then adjust sharpness to avoid foggy / flashy graphics, finally brightnee/black balance will help you adjust brigtness & contrast..the final touch would be to fine tune the colors...about the wiring , i did not use any resistor and everyting is fine...i don't think i connected anything but the ones you did.
pbareges is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do we really need another Scart cable ? ceedy Hardware mods 10 20 April 2011 12:17
1081 Cable Actually a SCART Cable? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 2 11 February 2009 08:43
RGB to scart cable Hungry Horace MarketPlace 9 07 November 2007 10:06
WTB: SCART cable girv MarketPlace 4 07 July 2007 01:04
Hello! A500 and scart cable JuGz support.Hardware 8 24 February 2003 01:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06229 seconds with 12 queries