English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2006, 17:03   #1
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,351
Thylacine Zorro USB 1.1 card available again

Just received an email from the guy who has taken over the Thylacine operation.

"Hi,

Just a follow up email. Scott of boing is not dealing with thylacine anymore. So I am taking over completely. There was some problems with the shopping cart before.
If you want to purchase, my website is http://home.iprimus.com.au/loofy

Regards,
Robert"


Its all working again and the Thylacine card costs $90(+GST)+S&H AUD or $117(+GST)+S&H AUD including the posiedon stack


Last edited by Smiley; 11 February 2007 at 22:08.
Smiley is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 November 2006, 18:33   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Damn that is a good price.

£33 for a Zorro USB card.

Does that also include the Poseidon USB stack or is that extra?

Even though the transfer rates figures are slow (well below the 12Mbit USB 1.1 bandwidth) this looks like good value for money.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 November 2006, 18:47   #3
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,351
Just checked and I was looking at the old website front.

New Prices:

Thylacine AUD$90(+GST)+S&H

Thylacine USB Card with Poseidon Keyfile - AUD$117.27(+GST)+S&H

Edited first post
Smiley is offline  
Old 22 November 2006, 18:53   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Ah, that explains it. Probably coming close to the £60 mark including delivery to the UK

http://www.thylacine.boing.net/
alexh is offline  
Old 20 December 2006, 02:04   #5
loofy
 
Posts: n/a
Thylacine USB

Announcemnet:

My website has moved to:
members.optusnet.com.au/~loofy/thylacine.html

I couldn't update my old website as I've unsubscribed to the ISP.

Current specials AUD$70.

Regards,
Robert Tsien
 
Old 20 December 2006, 02:19   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Thaks for the info Robert, best of luck with your venture and new site
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 20 December 2006, 15:43   #7
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
How about registering poseidon, is it possible for us, poor ppl without MOS capable machines?? I have A4000 with CS-MK2 and it will be really nice card for it.
Chain is offline  
Old 26 January 2007, 14:53   #8
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Got thylacine yesterday

ive just tested two mices and cheap chinese hub

logitech wheel mouse works perfect!
microsoft mouse hangs stack completely
hub isnt detected at all
flashdrive is properly recognized, but i dont know how to mount it or whatever.
Chain is offline  
Old 26 January 2007, 16:53   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I remember reading a problem with bus powered HUBS and Amiga's while ago.

I mentioned it over on Amiga.org with regards to another USB product and Michael Boehmer instantly contacted me to say that there was never an issue with E3B products.

Perhaps the problems I read about a long time ago were for the thylacine?
alexh is offline  
Old 26 January 2007, 17:35   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
better avoid bus-powered hubs, it is not healthy.
e3b products work OK, but on recommendations it is written to use external powered ones...
keropi is offline  
Old 28 January 2007, 21:28   #11
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
I know its a cheap card, and i just want to experiment with it
better hub (i will buy Belkin) will work i think
Chain is offline  
Old 30 January 2007, 13:50   #12
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
Is there any reason why this card only has one USB port on it???
jabsy is offline  
Old 30 January 2007, 14:14   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Cos it does? (i.e. maybe it doesnt have a port mux built in)
alexh is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 08:11   #14
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
Got thylacine yesterday

ive just tested two mices and cheap chinese hub

logitech wheel mouse works perfect!
microsoft mouse hangs stack completely
hub isnt detected at all
flashdrive is properly recognized, but i dont know how to mount it or whatever.
What USB stack are you using- Sirion or Poseidon?
DrBong is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 08:33   #15
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Im using sirion at this moment, as i found only poseindon 2 on aminet. Poseidon complains about some errors and its really unstable. and SD reader isnt usable with it at all ) so who needs it.

Ive found compatible ethernet adapter already on ebay,
epson scanner will be next purchase
Chain is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 08:46   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
@chain:

what usb->lan adapter u got? post a link!
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 09:00   #17
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Poseidon 2?? It is up to V3.x these days and you can d/l the demo version off Chris Hodges' website:

http://www.platon42.de/poseidon.html

You can even register Poseidon again for Thylacine if you think it's worth the money:

http://platon42.de/poseidonreg.html

Obviously Sirion is bundled with the Thylacine card and the package comes at a very good price, but support for USB devices looks to be limited (if you look at the Thylacine website) and it hasn't been updated for quite some time (and won't be anytime soon according to the author). That's why you probably didn't have much luck with the devices you tried initially.

Still, if you're managing to find devices that work with Sirion that aren't listed on the Thylacine website, then tell us (and Robert Tsien) about them. I'd be interested to know as I have a Thylacine card too, but haven't installed it yet.

Last edited by DrBong; 01 February 2007 at 09:07.
DrBong is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 09:10   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
any chance of a screenshot of Sirion? never heared of it...!
keropi is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 12:57   #19
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
@chain:

what usb->lan adapter u got? post a link!
its still somewhere between us and europe
SMC USB 10/100 2202
http://www.vanpeltinteractive.com/eb...34222-9145.jpg
Chain is offline  
Old 01 February 2007, 12:58   #20
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
any chance of a screenshot of Sirion? never heared of it...!
i will post it at evening
Chain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thylacine USB supported by NetBSD strim News 0 05 May 2013 20:19
Thylacine USB stack on kick 3.1 hooverphonique support.Apps 3 26 March 2013 02:47
Thylacine USB Drivers & Software Cymru support.Hardware 4 17 October 2012 17:18
DENEB USB 2.0 card is availlable for all Zorro capable Amigas ! voxel News 7 12 June 2008 23:27
Thylacine USB Zorro card....is it good? Smiley support.Hardware 4 09 August 2006 23:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27310 seconds with 12 queries