English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2006, 13:53   #1
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
Supercars International! - Now in the zone!

HEY HEY!

Ive just thrown in Supercars international into the zone, works fine with dosbox, and MAN ITS AWESOME!!!!

IF you like any other supercars game you HAVE to try this!! ... its BRRIIIILLLIIIIAANNNTT! and only 3mb! :-D
EmuChicken is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 November 2006, 14:38   #2
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
HEY HEY!

What settings did you use? Mine lagged as hell, completely unplayable. Latest Dosbox with Game Frontend. I'm not very skilled at technical settings and such nonsense.
StarEye is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 14:39   #3
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Thanks EmuChicken, I love DOS games.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 14:47   #4
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
when you're ingame- you need to hit CTRL and F11 or F10 to speed up or slow down ticks (in dosbox) ... I find that anything over 4500 ticks gives a nice smooth game

Ive just completed easy mode
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 14:54   #5
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Ah, thanks! That worked perfectly. Now, to see if I can get my joypad working with it.
StarEye is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:26   #6
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Wow, this is way fucking cool. Thanks for the link!
P-J is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:33   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Excellent!!

Shame there isn't an A1200 version as it would have run fine in 256 colours.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:35   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
Excellent!!

Shame there isn't an A1200 version as it would have run fine in 256 colours.
Definitely

Maybe somebody could could create an Amiga port out of this (if it's at all possible)?
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:36   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Actually, I think that's exactly what jotd is doing:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=24705

Now he can rip the graphics!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:38   #10
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
he'd better give me greetz ingame
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 15:41   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Hmmm, I think the one jotd's creating is actually a remake of Super Cars I + II

Porting Supercars International to Amiga would rock
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 18:50   #12
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
This game actually works without DOSBOX.

It'll run fine in Windows 95-ME with no tweaking.

Win XP requires you to run the executable in compatibility mode and set a few options to auto for DOS memory.

The game itself is quite good; not sure about the music though. Just love that heavy guitar in the original Amiga SCII.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 18:53   #13
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
Thanks Emuchicken awesome find
sarek2k is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 18:59   #14
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
Win XP requires you to run the executable in compatibility mode and set a few options to auto for DOS memory.
Are you sure about this? I've tried every permutation (with compatibility mode set to Windows 95) and it just says :

Code:
Copyright 1996 Magnetic Fields (Software Design) Ltd.

Supercars International Startup
Initialising EMS Memory
EMS not available
I'm not convinced
P-J is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 19:09   #15
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yeah, I've just had it running 15 minutes ago! It was an offline SP1 install and I just slapped it in Win 95 mode, set auto for some of the DOS memory options (like EMS) and it fired up with sound.


Erm, and oh yes! You also need to select 640x480 for the screen mode as well.

EDIT: See below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SCIII_1.png
Views:	204
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	12510   Click image for larger version

Name:	SCIII_2.png
Views:	209
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	12511  

Last edited by Bloodwych; 19 November 2006 at 19:23.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 19:48   #16
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Tsk, no need to run it clean. Dosbox with a GUI is tidy and clean. Have all your DOS games on one list, and doubleclick the game you want to play. As easy as using Gamebase.
StarEye is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 19:49   #17
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
That's weird. It doesn't work for me, even with those exact settings on XP SP2.

Just complains about EMS and dies. Oh well

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
It was an offline SP1 install
Maybe it is SP2 that kills it.
P-J is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 20:23   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hmmm, just tried it on a different SP2 machine and again it works fine with the above settings. For some reason EMS isn't available on your install even though you've selected it???

As Stareye says however, Dosbox is a great and easy to use solution for multiple games. I just thought I'd mention I've got it working without emulation for those who can't be bothered to use it or don't have a powerful PC.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 20:51   #19
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 738
Man, where the heck did you dig out this awesome game?
I never knew this even existed for the pc!
It's sooo good.
For some crazy reason it must have sold, like, zero copies!
rsn8887 is offline  
Old 19 November 2006, 21:09   #20
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
Hmmm, just tried it on a different SP2 machine and again it works fine with the above settings. For some reason EMS isn't available on your install even though you've selected it???
Yeah, I've mirrored your options exactly but it still doesn't work. I wonder if having 2GB of RAM causes it to go bonkers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
As Stareye says however, Dosbox is a great and easy to use solution for multiple games. I just thought I'd mention I've got it working without emulation for those who can't be bothered to use it or don't have a powerful PC.
It's good, but native is much better. Lots of people prefer real Amiga to emulation
P-J is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
International Tennis Uploaded to the Zone (Please Test and Provide Feedback) Abaddon project.WHDLoad 2 18 January 2012 02:15
SuperCars 2 Eclipse MarketPlace 2 28 December 2005 00:47
Supercars jettaman MarketPlace 5 02 December 2005 15:08
Supercars 3 : A Supercars 2 ripoff written in Java jotd Nostalgia & memories 12 21 September 2005 23:18
Supercars 2 Magix Games images which need to be WHDified 25 30 August 2005 14:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21753 seconds with 12 queries