English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 November 2006, 01:42   #1
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Amiga CD32-Expanded Compilation

Hi!!!

As nowadays WHDLOAD Compilations are legal with the use of WHDLOAD32 by Wepl , does anyone are intersted in a compilation working only for expanded CD32..........

Some suggestions will be welcome whenever i have some games to put in for me because i'm just a new owner of an SX32 and i'm frustrated on some games.......

If i have some good returns, i'm able to do to a really great comp

And this one will be 100% legal with the agreement of Wepl....
Rochabian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 November 2006, 02:21   #2
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
Hi!!!
Some suggestions will be welcome whenever i have some games to put in for me because i'm just a new owner of an SX32 and i'm frustrated on some games.......
Um.. with an expanded CD32, what's the problem??
Basically every WHD that doesn't absolutely need save to disc, and you're done? It's got the PS2 keyboard attached, and memory is no longer an issue.
spiff is offline  
Old 11 November 2006, 08:38   #3
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
I'd use it, I have a CD32/SX-1 combo.

However I'd have to kick my son off first, he's hooked on Zool.
jabsy is offline  
Old 11 November 2006, 12:08   #4
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I've got an SX32-Pro, so I'd be happy to use your disc
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 06:22   #5
Ze_ro
Registered User
Ze_ro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Winnipeg / Canada
Posts: 50
Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't quite see the point in this... The purpose of WHDLoad32 was to get games working on stock CD32's, but if you have an SX-1 or similar expansion, why not just put a hard drive in there and use regular WHDLoad instead?

--Zero
Ze_ro is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 08:53   #6
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 830
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
I've got an SX32-Pro, so I'd be happy to use your disc
TheBoss is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 09:02   #7
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
I only have a bog standard CD32, so it wouldn't do me any good
Phiber is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 10:34   #8
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze_ro
Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't quite see the point in this... The purpose of WHDLoad32 was to get games working on stock CD32's, but if you have an SX-1 or similar expansion, why not just put a hard drive in there and use regular WHDLoad instead?

--Zero
It's just a laziness thing - it's nice to have it neatly on 1 bootable CD with a nice menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBoss
Heh - looks like I've definately got your approval there
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 14:35   #9
Psygore
Moderator

Psygore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 482
For info, WHDLoadCD32 is only running on a plain CD32 not expanded.
Psygore is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 20:10   #10
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Arf , i don't have seen that, so i just have to do without WHDLOAD.....
Lots of games that needs an expanded CD32 to work, has HD Install so i think i can do this without using WHDLOAD...
Rochabian is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 22:35   #11
tteich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stuttgart/Germany
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
Some suggestions will be welcome whenever i have some games to put in for me because i'm just a new owner of an SX32 and i'm frustrated on some games.......

If i have some good returns, i'm able to do to a really great comp

And this one will be 100% legal with the agreement of Wepl....
I'd be interested in a compilation for NON-expanded CD32's. You would reach a lot more happy Amigans, as expanded CD32s are sooo rare.

Just imagine how much reputation you could gain ;-) if you create one which runs on any plain CD32 console...
tteich is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 23:05   #12
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by tteich
I'd be interested in a compilation for NON-expanded CD32's. You would reach a lot more happy Amigans, as expanded CD32s are sooo rare.

Just imagine how much reputation you could gain ;-) if you create one which runs on any plain CD32 console...
Rochabian has already created a very cool compilation

See the thread called CD32 Games & Demos Compilation Release..

...but unfortunately it contained an illegal WHDLoad keyfile in order to work

@Rochabian, maybe you can re-release this with the new WHDLoadCD32?
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 00:19   #13
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
@DamienD :
I've spend about one year to create my last compilation

Rewriting the scripts to use WHDLOADCD32 is about to spend quite the same time ......too long

So i don't think i will do it
Rochabian is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 00:48   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
...and an awesome compilation it is

Oh I see, with my very limited knowledge I thought it would have just involved swapping the old WHDload file with the new WHDLoadCD32 file...

Is there no way to use the find / replace function of some program like UltraEdit32 to change the information in the scripts? If not then I can totally understand why you would not want to do this then
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 01:17   #15
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
In fact it's not exactly about the time needed to edit scripts
You're right, with a powerful editor it could be simple...
But i don't really want to test/replace non working games as i think that i've spend enough time on it.
If someone wants to do this, so he's free to edit my comp to release it in a legal way using WHDLOADCD32, but for now, i don't want to do this.
Perhaps later.......
As i don't want to release non-legal WHDLOAD compilation anymore, i have to try a new comp without WHDLOAD, because WHDLOADCD32 can't be used with an expanded CD32
This will be for sure a smaller compilation than the last one......
Rochabian is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 01:41   #16
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 145
dont forghet a program to run into amiga normal (like a 1200 or 4000)
i'm a arcade cabinet end a cd32 compilation nterface for a lot of whdload game are very good for me
Dexther is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 03:29   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
as i think that i've spend enough time on it.
You sure have my friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
As i don't want to release non-legal WHDLOAD compilation anymore
Defintely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
i have to try a new comp without WHDLOAD, because WHDLOADCD32 can't be used with an expanded CD32
I see... So was your last compilation only for expanded CD32s then? As you know I just played it through WinUAE...

I didn't realise that the normal WHDLoad works on expanded CD32s
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 14:07   #18
tteich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stuttgart/Germany
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
In fact it's not exactly about the time needed to edit scripts
You're right, with a powerful editor it could be simple...
But i don't really want to test/replace non working games as i think that i've spend enough time on it.
If someone wants to do this, so he's free to edit my comp to release it in a legal way using WHDLOADCD32, but for now, i don't want to do this.
Perhaps later.......
As i don't want to release non-legal WHDLOAD compilation anymore, i have to try a new comp without WHDLOAD, because WHDLOADCD32 can't be used with an expanded CD32
This will be for sure a smaller compilation than the last one......
Hi Rochabian, if your compilation is so great, why don't you just release an image which does not contain the key-file / WHDLoad executable, and add a readme-file "place key file and exe here" so that anyone can burn one using his licensed WHD copy. Okay, okay, burning CD32-CDs is a bit tricky, as you have to know how to deal with the .tm file, but the average experienced CD32-enthusiast should be able to do it...

What do you think?

Or: is there a place where you already made it available for download?
tteich is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 19:38   #19
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
I don't really want to speak about my last comp in fact...
I think i've got enough problem with it...

Let's go to new one that i speak about in this thread.......

Thanks for your understanding.....
Rochabian is offline  
Old 16 November 2006, 18:19   #20
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
As i don't want to release non-legal WHDLOAD compilation anymore, i have to try a new comp without WHDLOAD, because WHDLOADCD32 can't be used with an expanded CD32
This will be for sure a smaller compilation than the last one......
There is no problem to make a compilation with the normal WHDLoad and SX32 because the keyfile can be stored on the harddisk and not on the CD.

So there is also no need that WHDLoadCD32 will run on the SX32 or similar stuff.
Wepl is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit: create your own ultra-fast compilations! lennonlives project.CD32 Conversion 196 14 August 2016 17:24
CD32/AMIGA Compilation CD's. Deaths_Head Retrogaming General Discussion 14 28 November 2013 01:27
AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit - Need it j_sntos request.Apps 3 23 March 2012 02:08
Amiga CD32 Compilation Toolkit help markeggertsen support.WinUAE 0 21 November 2011 07:21
Expanded CD32 vs A1200 NytroX86 Retrogaming General Discussion 13 14 November 2002 22:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24099 seconds with 11 queries