English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2006, 18:16   #1
MrA600HD
In rust, we trust.
MrA600HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: HERTS, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 33
A600 internet browser ?

Whats available for a 2mb 600 ? Just for a bit of fun, im not expecting anything phenominal !
MrA600HD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2006, 18:26   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
You cannot browse with just 2Mbytes. Even using TermiteTCP the smallest TCP stack there is nothing left for anything but command line applications.

You could try the non-graphical Lynx

IBrowse and AWeb are the graphical web-browsers.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 18:38   #3
MrA600HD
In rust, we trust.
MrA600HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: HERTS, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 33
thank you. I suspected as much.

What memory upgrade options are further available ?

I suppose i could use a mac 68k emulator ? that'll have internet explorer !
MrA600HD is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 18:45   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
There is nothing worth considering. It is cheaper to sell your A600 and buy and A1200 with 8Meg RAM.

Ebay prices start at about 99 for an A620 and 130 for an A630. There was a new product coming from Individual Computing, but that was 120 euro as well.

You could add 4Mbyte of RAM for about 25 to the PCMCIA port using an SRAM card, but then you couldnt get on the net because you couldnt use a Network card at the same time.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 18:46   #5
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
I used AMossaic with my A600. It's not very good though.
adolescent is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 19:03   #6
MrA600HD
In rust, we trust.
MrA600HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: HERTS, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent
I used AMossaic with my A600. It's not very good though.
Im happy to try anything.....more details please !!
MrA600HD is offline  
Old 24 October 2006, 19:04   #7
MrA600HD
In rust, we trust.
MrA600HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: HERTS, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
There is nothing worth considering. It is cheaper to sell your A600 and buy and A1200 with 8Meg RAM.

Ebay prices start at about 99 for an A620 and 130 for an A630. There was a new product coming from Individual Computing, but that was 120 euro as well.

You could add 4Mbyte of RAM for about 25 to the PCMCIA port using an SRAM card, but then you couldnt get on the net because you couldnt use a Network card at the same time.
I've already got another 1200 in the pipeline, i just like trying different things, some crazy prices going on there !
MrA600HD is offline  
Old 25 October 2006, 21:03   #8
MrA600HD
In rust, we trust.
MrA600HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: HERTS, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 33
Right, i've downloaded Alynx, how do i run it ??? I appear to have totally forgotten how to use an Amiga ( years of Atari 400's ! thats what that does to you )

clicking on the downloaded files via FTP produces error 10, and i don't seem to be able to drag them to copy them to the a600's HD, im sure its something banal and embarassing, but i really have totally forgotten...
MrA600HD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voyager V3 Browser Retrofan support.Apps 22 24 August 2017 14:24
Amiga Browser attila06 support.Apps 91 22 August 2013 06:20
Internet Browser SkippyAR request.Apps 15 10 June 2008 08:11
IBrowse or Better Browser the2 request.Apps 29 08 June 2007 10:50
internet housey support.WinUAE 3 07 February 2003 12:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20378 seconds with 11 queries