English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2012, 15:07   #41
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
#@Part of my subscription review,prune and revival process@#

3 years later and not a lot happened. I know Jens has brought us stuff like Indvision but what about Clone-A - thats what we wanted? Has he spoken about it in recent months (years) at all? I haven't seen anything....
Jens is on here from time to time, you could ask him.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 June 2012, 16:15   #42
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
I haven't seen anything....
That's because I don't talk about the project at all. There are other FPGA computers out there, and each of them lacks the one idea that I have put into Clone-A. The idea is simple, but very effective. Simple enough to be copied just from hearing it, but complicated enough to require lots of man-years to implement it properly.

Just this one thing: Clone-A is not dead.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 19 June 2012, 16:38   #43
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Just this one thing: Clone-A is not dead.

Jens
That's great news... and worth this thread being revived on its own!!
Methanoid is offline  
Old 19 June 2012, 19:02   #44
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
I'd like to see incremental replacements of 68000, then custom chips, a new case, a new keyboard and finally a motherboard replacement. Then it wouldn't have to be "all perfect at once or bust".
Photon is offline  
Old 19 June 2012, 21:56   #45
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Just this one thing: Clone-A is not dead.
+1, Like, AOL
moijk is offline  
Old 20 June 2012, 15:37   #46
gunni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dundee
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to gunni
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The idea is simple, but very effective. Simple enough to be copied just from hearing it, but complicated enough to require lots of man-years to implement it properly.
let the guessing begin!!!

great to hear Clone A is still in the works
gunni is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 02:43   #47
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 328
Finally!!! A confirmation that my favourite amiga project ain't dead!!!
Jens can you tell us anything else about it?
spoUP is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 03:25   #48
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I think it will be very interesting which way Jens goes with this.

The FPGA Arcade is very similar to the original Clone-A idea (along with the Chameleon 64).

I'd personally love to see a drop-in replacement MB but I doubt it would profitable for Jens. I guess some kind of stand-alone machine running 68k AROS would be of some interest but unless it's packaged to in a case that looks like a mini A500/A1200 and marketed as such it still probably wouldn't make that much money.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 05:32   #49
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Very cool !!!
kriz is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 10:18   #50
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
That's because I don't talk about the project at all. There are other FPGA computers out there, and each of them lacks the one idea that I have put into Clone-A. The idea is simple, but very effective. Simple enough to be copied just from hearing it, but complicated enough to require lots of man-years to implement it properly.

Just this one thing: Clone-A is not dead.

Jens
Woohoo ! Go Jens
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 10:28   #51
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
complicated enough to require lots of man-years to implement it properly.
understanding women?
Paul_s is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 11:36   #52
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,010
Happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
understanding women?
Haha! You got that right.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 11:48   #53
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
That's because I don't talk about the project at all. There are other FPGA computers out there, and each of them lacks the one idea that I have put into Clone-A. The idea is simple, but very effective. Simple enough to be copied just from hearing it, but complicated enough to require lots of man-years to implement it properly.

Just this one thing: Clone-A is not dead.

Jens
My thought, HW that you plug on a real Amiga (or any digital computer chip?), you do this chip by chip , it analazye the chips and output Verilog or VHDL code. You through that code into a FPGA and it run like the original. In a word a cloning device hence the name.

Kamel
kamelito is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 19:17   #54
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
Great news, thanks !
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 21:03   #55
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Probably not. The fact there was no AGA upgrade for A3000 points to this.

Depends if AGA chips rely on 32-bit data I/O.
I've maybe imagined it, but wasn't there a prototype 3000 AGA upgrade demoed in the 90's by Phase5 or some other company?
Akiko is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 21:46   #56
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
You mean the "AGA Go" kit by DCE. That was essentially an A1200, mounted on a CPU card that goes into an A500. More expensive than a new mainboard, therefore never mass-produced.

The only connection between A3000 and AGA is a prototype mainboard that Commodore made during the development of the AGA chips. Here's a photograph of one that I took when I visited Dale Luck in summer 2003. Note the hand-written serial number #28 ;-)

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A3000_AGA_proto.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	159.5 KB
ID:	31944  
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 23:26   #57
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The only connection between A3000 and AGA is a prototype mainboard that Commodore made during the development of the AGA chips.
Dusted, but... Beautiful! Mommy, I want one of those!
moijk is offline  
Old 24 June 2012, 03:21   #58
imigger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 135
i would sooner see a complete clone of a amiga aga in real chip form as in clone whats already there but make it better and make it nice and small to fit into a nice cheap pc case, fpga,s suck too expensive how much would it cost to reproduce a small amiga clone but fits into pc case from china i bet they could clone it easy.
imigger is offline  
Old 24 June 2012, 19:25   #59
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by imigger View Post
i would sooner see a complete clone of a amiga aga in real chip form as in clone whats already there but make it better and make it nice and small to fit into a nice cheap pc case, fpga,s suck too expensive how much would it cost to reproduce a small amiga clone but fits into pc case from china i bet they could clone it easy.
They probably would if they thought they'd sell enough. I doubt they'd worry about IP rights
Methanoid is offline  
Old 26 June 2012, 00:29   #60
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
One thing is for sure, there wont be Apollo emulation in the Clone-A

Looking forward to it, hope it gets released before I am 85 years old
cv643d is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers Schoenfeld News 1644 02 April 2017 00:25
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual computers to quit selling hardware. whiteb News 7 20 December 2010 22:46
TAM EXCLUSIVE! Individual Computers Reveals Clone-A Project Mikey_C News 18 12 October 2006 09:46
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22178 seconds with 12 queries