English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2007, 21:04   #101
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Quill2007

Thats a damn powerfull A600!!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 May 2007, 05:26   #102
leethax0
 
Posts: n/a
Worst: Bought a brand new A1200 just released here in Brazil for U$800,00, later bought a GVP A1230 for U$ 1250,00, yes...that high...
Had to sell my much greater-than-PC machine 2 years later for U$1000,00 with 3.2Gb 3 1/2" internal HD cause I needed money (new child coming)

Best: Just before I join EAB I got a near yellow A1200 with A1230II with 8megs, molten 80Mb hd and a 1084S. Barely working due to bad storage, no mouse...
Now its shiny white, with a 4.2Gb HD, internal CD, a PCMCIA etherlinkIII and Orinoco Silver, a nice hacked MS intellimouse and a blue power led!

Wish I never had to sell my Ami...
 
Old 22 May 2007, 06:01   #103
shillard
Registered User
shillard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Newcastle / Australia
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quill2007
Best and Worst deal I ever did was buy just the Picasso IV card, no addons, as I thought I could get those in about 6 months when I had saved more.... and then Villagtronic went bust, and by the time I knew about it the cards had all sold out ...RATS! Still looking for a concierto card too.
Watch ebay Bro', I've got a choice one coming up that's sitting in me garidge.
shillard is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 14:55   #104
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
see here ... everything about 100$, except A530, and A2386 bridge board (165$ for both together).

http://picasaweb.google.com/arda.jp/A2000Set

Unfortunately, the 1950 monitor is dead, but the 2000 is alive, and it had a G-Force 030 with 16 mb ram & 2mb chip mem !
coze is offline  
Old 29 May 2007, 15:47   #105
Quagaar
 
Posts: n/a
Best deals for me have to be being given an original A500 (1.3) a couple of years ago for free and finding an A600 with mouse and PSU at a car boot sale for 3 about 4 years ago.

Both work perfectly, although I had to find another A520 for the 500 as the one that came with it had no sound coming out of it for some reason........ luckily one turned up at a car boot for 1 not long after getting it!

Used to have an original A500, which got sold when the A1200 (which I still have boxed, but lurking in the loft) came out. Still wish I had my original A500 for some reason.... pure nostalgia I guess.

Funny, I've now got 3 Amigas and never use any of 'em due to lack of space. WinUAE does a grand job, but I'd hate to get rid of the original hardware.
 
Old 31 May 2007, 03:23   #106
FastRobPlus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 57
Worst:

Amiga 1000, Rejuvenator, Derringer 030 w 8MB Fast and 68882 FPU, PaloMax HDD and chasis w/3 drives installed, HAM-E Plus, SC1224 Med gun monitor with Redmond Cable custom interface, ATOnce Plus 286, Kickstart switcher, Spirit Inboard w 1.5MB, DigiView gold and copystand with digidroid.

In trade for a 386sx
FastRobPlus is offline  
Old 03 June 2007, 13:38   #107
Zetec-s
Registered User
Zetec-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Best Deal

Got a couple;

i) My original A500, which I managed to get from Boots for 200. My mum worked at a store at the time, and knew I really wanted one, and I had been washing my parents cars every weekend for a year, but was still way off the 400 the packaged A500 cost. Someone brought one back to Boots after Christmas claiming that it didn't work. The manager of the electrical section told my Mum who suggested that I could have a look at it, and see what was wrong with it, as he suspected that nothing was wrong with it all. Had a look and it was fine, just missing all the packaged games, although it still had Workbench and DPaint II. With all the missing games we managed to convince the Manager that I could pay 200 for it, as that was about the price Boots actually paid for them. Only condition was that I had to test all the games that they got returned as not working. Which turned out to be really good fun, as I got to play loads of games, as most of them worked fine.

ii) Second best deal was much later. I was at Uni and my girlfriend said that she wanted a Computer to finish her 3rd year project with. Was going to get an old Laptop, but she said she actually wanted an Amiga. Put an advert on Amibench and managed to find a guy in London willing to sell a A1200 with PPC card for 120. When we got there he also chucked in loads of other stuff, like a complete A600. I kept the PPC and put it in my Power Tower, and gave the A1200 and my old Blizzard '030 to her. Then about four years later I sold the A1200 for 50 stock, and the PPC card for over 140. So after four years usage I actually made money. Only with the Amiga

Worst Deal

When downgrading from my PPC Power Tower to a CD32 and SX32 for size reasons, I advertisied on Amibench for a CD32. A guy got in touch pretty quickly claiming he had a CD32 which was brand new and still boxed. When it turned up there was no power supply, and even eventually after I bough another CD32 from ebay, the one he had sent would not power up. Guy claimed he had never said there was a power supply, and I had never asked. Cannot remember what it cost but was about 50, I think.
Zetec-s is offline  
Old 14 June 2007, 13:26   #108
eithelnim
Registered User
eithelnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manchester/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 20
My short story..

Hiya, I am new here, but not so new in amiga world..

Most of my deals were great I guess

Early 90`s - got from somewhere black, fancy console called pegasus, which was korean clone of NES. Manage to swam it for cool air rifle, which was fun for a while, but best of it - at some point swapped it to A600, 2mb chip, ab 200discs (including my favorites - k240, ishar2 and 3, sim city,goblins, etc.)

Later on .. lost somehow that A600, but got from my sist boyfriend - exotic MSX2 (philips nms8280, still remember) with video digitalizer, 150 discs (2x3,5" 720kb drives!) that was really cool. Even if most of software was in italian (he was italian) and japanise. I loved that machine, but Amiga..oh well
So I sold it for spoiled kid, my neighbour who had rich dad and always make him buy stuff he want, that was great deal for that time. With some extra money from my mother I manage to get brand new CD32+keyboard+mouse+system cd (workbench and all software to make life easier and run demos, A1200 games, etc.) it was ab 1994 I guess, so it was really something!
I never forget Diggers - what a sound and atmosphere!

Heh, it was funny with my CD32. One day I came back from post office with brand new Rise of the Robots cd, me and my bro got ready to play and then we realised - CD32 is gone! Someone robbed our house!
Few months after we got it back, but it wasn`t same one, and it has more cd`s hehe. To make it even better, two months after we got another one, which was ours Police must of mixed everything, well, can`t complain.

Need to back to work now, tell You some more stories later. Amiga is more then computer, isn`t?
eithelnim is offline  
Old 14 June 2007, 13:49   #109
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Welcome onBOARD, eithelnim!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eithelnim
Few months after we got it back, but it wasn`t same one, and it has more cd`s hehe. To make it even better, two months after we got another one, which was ours Police must of mixed everything, well, can`t complain.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 14 June 2007, 16:30   #110
eithelnim
Registered User
eithelnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manchester/UK
Age: 36
Posts: 20
Continue..

Some more of my stories ..

After A600 n few CD32 was time for bigger sisters - choice was second hand A1200. Deal was good - it was about 150 (ab 1998-2000 in Poland where I am from) for A1200 in standard case, apollo 1240/25mhz/16mb fast + 850mb hdd. Quickly 040 became 33mhz (40 didn`t work ), we add CD-romX16 and extra 16mb ram, 2gb hdd. That was so cool machine! We spend so many hrs playing on it - games, demos (great trips with some joint or mushrooms n best demos ) - that was it!
Then I`ve lost it in Holland in Utrecht...shame.

My config never came back to such a good form. I manage to swap my brother`s PC Celeron 800 (he was in States in that time, wasn`t impressed ) to another 040, 40mhz this time. But not long after some bastard stoled my hdd with all data n system...then I gave up for a bit.
I had to sell 040 (for ok prize - 160)...

Recently (last year) i got from one scotch man a box full of suprizes - Blizz 603e200/040/33+64 ram+BVision+A1200tower+2,5"hdd, etc. for 200!!
But, unfortunately i was really skint - so had to sell most of parts
But profit was...scary! I`ve sold it for ab 600!!!! And I am still got my amy in tower. It`s time now to build it and look after it...

If Amiga Inc. would sort itself out, and they would came out with some new system (i mean working OS and hardware) - I am willing to get it, if not - it`s fun to build older systems anyway hehe
eithelnim is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 13:28   #111
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Got an A600 with games etc for a tenner off fleabay the other day. I cant remember my worst deal, its that long since i had an amiga.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...8717&rd=1&rd=1
Raffaz is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 15:00   #112
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Not sure if this is a good deal or not, but im happy.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...8218&rd=1&rd=1
Raffaz is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 16:05   #113
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@raffaz
espceially when i have just seen an apollo040 sell for 100 on its own!

I love the apollo 040's there so simple to upgrade!

three steps to Apollo upgrading
  • 1. fit a 3.5v regulator (10) (theres pin holes on the board)
  • 2. buy an 060, thes come up every so often on fleabay for arround 40
  • 3. buy a 100mhz crystal wich is arround 10.

all you need then is a ROM update on the accelerator card and WHOOT!you have apollo 060

ahhh yummy...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 16:14   #114
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Not sure if this is a good deal or not, but im happy.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...8218&rd=1&rd=1


You outbid me at the last few seconds, I had 85 squids set.... It was a bargain. I really only wanted the '040.... The rest would have been a bonus.
jabsy is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 17:49   #115
Thalion
Amiga Collector

Thalion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 34
Posts: 643
The best deal i ever did was buying 30 A1200 spare mainboards and 15 A600 Boards for lovely 50€.
Since then i can sleep very good as i know i will have spare parts for the next 10 years.

The worst deal i ever did was 1996. My A1200 had a severe hardware crash and was totally defect. I was so in depression that i sold all my Amiga stuff.
Just a week late i wished i had never done this.
Thalion is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 18:12   #116
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabsy View Post
You outbid me at the last few seconds, I had 85 squids set.... It was a bargain. I really only wanted the '040.... The rest would have been a bonus.
Sorry about that man. Theres always this for 150
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...7164&rd=1&rd=1
Raffaz is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 18:15   #117
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@raffaz
espceially when i have just seen an apollo040 sell for 100 on its own!

I love the apollo 040's there so simple to upgrade!

three steps to Apollo upgrading
  • 1. fit a 3.5v regulator (10) (theres pin holes on the board)
  • 2. buy an 060, thes come up every so often on fleabay for arround 40
  • 3. buy a 100mhz crystal wich is arround 10.
all you need then is a ROM update on the accelerator card and WHOOT!you have apollo 060

ahhh yummy...
Is this similar then?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Amiga-1200-Apo...QQcmdZViewItem

Do you think i should swap the HDD out of the 1200 and put in the CF card? Also, is it worth upgrading to even more RAM on this card, and if so, what type does it take. Cheers. Looks like im gonna be selling my 600 now.
Raffaz is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 18:24   #118
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
What a result, the guy lives 10 miles away from me, and hes offered to drop it off for me tomorrow aswell ha ha.
Raffaz is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 18:49   #119
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Do you think i should swap the HDD out of the 1200 and put in the CF card?
Yepo i sure do CF is better, faster and a lot less noiser than a harddisk!

(also gets extra style points)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz View Post
Also, is it worth upgrading to even more RAM on this card, and if so, what type does it take. Cheers. Looks like im gonna be selling my 600 now.
Apollo's Initially can only hand upto 32MB of ram. they can be a little fussy of what ram at what speeds, but Any good quality ram at 60 - 70ns Apollos seems to like. (well my two here do!)

if you want more memory then 32mb of ram you will need to fit a 72pin socket to the adapter board, its not difficult if you are half handy with a soldering iron.


and indeed you are a bit of a jammy git! just 10mile up the road... sheeesh....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 09 July 2007, 19:41   #120
Raffaz
Kebab Lover
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
Yepo i sure do CF is better, faster and a lot less noiser than a harddisk!

(also gets extra style points)



Apollo's Initially can only hand upto 32MB of ram. they can be a little fussy of what ram at what speeds, but Any good quality ram at 60 - 70ns Apollos seems to like. (well my two here do!)

if you want more memory then 32mb of ram you will need to fit a 72pin socket to the adapter board, its not difficult if you are half handy with a soldering iron.


and indeed you are a bit of a jammy git! just 10mile up the road... sheeesh....
Looks like im out of luck then, i havent done any soldering for years so i think il give it a miss. I should be playing this tomorrow at around 11am, so looks like the 600 will be going back on ebay.
Raffaz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your worst Amiga joystick Dastardly Nostalgia & memories 31 09 September 2016 14:34
great deal for D&D RPGs @ gog pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 0 22 February 2012 21:49
A1000 & A2000 package deal for sale Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 5 18 February 2011 00:18
National Hockey League & Amiga announce deal mintsauce82 News 12 07 March 2009 13:51
Ebay dispute - Worst deal I ever had ... coze MarketPlace 11 27 April 2008 19:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24318 seconds with 11 queries