English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2006, 02:58   #1
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
backing up Arkanoid

I've been trying to make a back up copy of Arkanoid using the great software I was provided from some cool kids on this site. I've tried using Lockpick, Maverick, and Project D. Has anyone made a successful backup without hacking the game and if so, how?
boing_1000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 October 2006, 17:02   #2
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
If it uses the RN Copylock protection you won't be able to back it up it on a standard Amiga - that's kind of the point of the copy protection You will need a hardware copier dongle (like Cyclone or Synchro Express), some luck, good quality floppies, some luck and some more luck.

Good luck!
girv is offline  
Old 13 October 2006, 22:15   #3
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
I found some .lha archive a while ago that was called CopyLockDecode.lha. I still have it but I dunno how to utilize it in order to copy the game properly then. Any idea how I could do this? I'm not much of a hacker lol.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 13 October 2006, 22:45   #4
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
If it is RNC protected the Copylock decoder won't help you my friend, it's a crackers tool only - it won't help the average user copy anything. It's not a magical 'one click and it's cracked' tool.

As girv said you'll need a hardware copier and luck

...Or you could just download a version someone else has cracked already
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 13 October 2006, 23:29   #5
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 45
Posts: 1,838
No, it is not Copylock at all, and yes you'll need hardware to back it up.
IFW is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 00:36   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Sniff sniff... mmmm... I smell longtracks
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 01:22   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,524
Arkanoid is MFM with a fake AmigaDOS root directory
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 14 October 2006, 02:09   #8
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW
No, it is not Copylock at all, and yes you'll need hardware to back it up.
What kind of hardware are we talking about? A special floppy drive?
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 03:04   #9
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 45
Posts: 1,838
Analogue copier and luck.
Alternatively mastering equipment...
IFW is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 04:05   #10
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW
Analogue copier and luck.
Alternatively mastering equipment...
I doubt I'm going to be able to find an analog copier. I guess when the disk I have passes on, I'll have to just use the ipf image on the computer.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 05:17   #11
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,102
Get a hardware copier that goes between the disk drives, like Syncro Express or Super Card Ami. I backed Arkanoid up this way.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 05:37   #12
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer
Get a hardware copier that goes between the disk drives, like Syncro Express or Super Card Ami. I backed Arkanoid up this way.
Any idea where I can get one for myself?
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 10:55   #13
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
eBay is the best source. Look for X-Copy or Syncro Express - make SURE they include the hardware dongle. You will also need to have an external floppy drive. The dongle plugs between the Amiga and the external drive.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 14 October 2006, 16:05   #14
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 30
Posts: 560
Alright I'll look there. Thanks for all the help guys!
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 28 October 2006, 03:25   #15
HCF
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Age: 47
Posts: 97
Did you try Marauder, Raw Copy or a good copier ? Good copiers would be Fast Lightning, Amiga Copy, X-Copy ? Project D is not exactly a great program to duplicate copy protected software (other than Atari disks). Hardware copiers were not really necessary for most ancient software that I encountered. Hope this helps and hope by now you managed to copy the disk...lol
HCF is offline  
Old 28 October 2006, 10:56   #16
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by boing_1000
Alright I'll look there. Thanks for all the help guys!
I've been using Cyclone on many RN protected disks and it worked everytime (it even displays a little smiley because it recognizes the disk format)

Wasn't it possible using MFMWarp and special module for it to write back the copylock without any extra hardware? Or was it just a fake rumour. Never tried this, since I'm using IPF images and CopyLockDecoder to break the protections. But it's not a piece of cake every time.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 October 2006, 12:11   #17
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,128
I believe that was a rumour. However I have been told that Eurosoft by luck had an Amiga drive that spun more slowly than it was supposed to so he could write longtracks back from warp files on his A500 back in the day. Maybe the rumour is based on a bit of fact like that?
Codetapper is offline  
Old 28 October 2006, 19:38   #18
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd
I've been using Cyclone on many RN protected disks and it worked everytime (it even displays a little smiley because it recognizes the disk format)

Wasn't it possible using MFMWarp and special module for it to write back the copylock without any extra hardware? Or was it just a fake rumour. Never tried this, since I'm using IPF images and CopyLockDecoder to break the protections. But it's not a piece of cake every time.

Phil Douglas' Philwarp in conjunction with the Sybil Mac hardware interface meant that longtrack files could be written back down correctly.
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 28 October 2006, 19:40   #19
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT
...the Sybil Mac hardware interface...
That's about as rare as hen's teeth
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 28 October 2006, 19:48   #20
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
That's about as rare as hen's teeth

Yup, I had one, gave it to Wepl
Galahad/FLT is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backing up games on Speccy +3 fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 130 21 September 2014 22:16
Backing up an amiga HDD Raffaz New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 28 October 2007 20:42
Backing up an Amiga HD Galaxy support.Apps 8 13 September 2004 10:10
Backing -Up E-Mail to a CD Steve support.Apps 1 31 January 2003 18:16
backing up amiga originals before they die tassy support.Apps 17 29 July 2002 01:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25364 seconds with 12 queries