English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2006, 14:52   #1
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
MAC & Amiga Graphics ?

Can someone give me some information on how the Amiga & MAC compared graphically from 1985 right up to Commodores demise in 1994 ?

Was the Amiga the king in the Graphics stakes still, due to the AGA chipset or did the MAC wipe it out before 94 ?
blade002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 October 2006, 15:22   #2
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Well the Amiga was more purpose built for Multimedia/Games in mind, Sprite Hardware and amongst other things.
If you remember the reviews of the A1000 there was somewhat confusion surrounding it when they aimed at the Business Market.

This was due to all the graphical and sound demos they showed which were not really deemed useful for business application.
The Mac on the other hand as i understand it is just a big Bitmap Graphics display. It doesn't sound much but due to the more simple and straight forward approach it makes it pretty usable at any graphical task at the time.

For example it makes it more ideal for High Resolution display and Polygon based drawing. But less ideal for 2D Platformers etc.
But the truth be told it didn't need any Sprite Hardware as it was powerful enough to do such things and you could always get a full 256 colour display or more in later models.

In the long run the Macintosh graphical route was a better option for supporting it today, In the day the Amigas option was better to get max performance.

Edit: To answer who was king in Graphics i would say the Mac was when the first colour models arrived, But the Mac didn't have anywhere near as many games. But the games that did come on the Mac like Lemmings and Worms are much superior versions, Much more colour and 640x480 resolution etc.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 00:28   #3
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
I read some where that Apple computers were very happy that commodore did such a shit job marketing the Amiga or Apple would have been in a lot more trouble.
redblade is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 00:36   #4
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UmeŚ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake
To answer who was king in Graphics i would say the Mac was when the first colour models arrived, But the Mac didn't have anywhere near as many games. But the games that did come on the Mac like Lemmings and Worms are much superior versions, Much more colour and 640x480 resolution etc.
Hm... did Worms scroll smoothly on any kind of x86 Mac? When reading what you wrote I just came to think of the fact that I can't recall having seen one single x86 Macintosh game that scrolls smoothly... (and when running ShapeShifter on RTG/060 Worms doesn't scroll smoothly at all, while still being perfectly playable).
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 01:35   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Yeah the AGA is very good for a lot of 2d stuff! But 3D is worse

And its Mac 68k game
kriz is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 01:41   #6
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legerdemain
Hm... did Worms scroll smoothly on any kind of x86 Mac? When reading what you wrote I just came to think of the fact that I can't recall having seen one single x86 Macintosh game that scrolls smoothly... (and when running ShapeShifter on RTG/060 Worms doesn't scroll smoothly at all, while still being perfectly playable).
Don't you mean 68k Mac? If so then it does scroll smoothly. Shapeshifter the emulator pretty much craps out when trying to emulate Worms and Lemmings and quite a lot of other high resolution games.
Also you can't compare the Shapeshifter emulator to real 68k Mac performance.
For example it won't run Dark Forces, Shapeshifter is decent for desktop stuff just not games.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 01:44   #7
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UmeŚ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake
Don't you mean 68k Mac? If so then it does scroll smoothly. Shapeshifter the emulator pretty much craps out when trying to emulate Worms and Lemmings and quite a lot of other high resolution games.
Also you can't compare the Shapeshifter emulator to a real 68k Mac performance.
For example it won't run Dark Forces, It is decent for desktop stuff just not games.
Haha, yes, 68k Mac... I have been discussing x86 processors too much today... can't think clearly...

Is there a particular reason for DarkForces not working, by the way?
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 01:48   #8
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
The game does a lot of non implemented features that are not present in Shapeshifter.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 02:00   #9
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UmeŚ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake
The game does a lot of non implemented features that are not present in Shapeshifter.
Oki. Well, I haven't really tried that many games... but the ones I have tried have worked pretty well (except Worms that simply doesn't look good when scrolling around the screen).

The main reason why I ever started using ShapeShifter was that on my Blizzard 1230 equiped A1200 Sim City 2000 ran so insanely much faster under ShapeShifter than it did in its native Amiga version... that I later on could play games like Alone In The Dark, Monkey Island, Monkey Island 2, Indiana Jones And The Fate Of Atlantis in full 256 colour glory (and updated GUI for the original Monkey Island) and WarCraft 2 was merely a bonus... Sim City 2000 was the main reason for me using ShapeShifter...



So, had it not been for Maxis not putting any effort at all into the Amiga version of Sim City 2000, I am not so sure I ever would have bothered about the 68k Mac... or, rather, emulating it...

Legerdemain is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 12:19   #10
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
What was Warcraft like under emulation?
redblade is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 16:50   #11
Sune Salminen
DinamŠquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 43
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legerdemain
Oki. Well, I haven't really tried that many games... but the ones I have tried have worked pretty well (except Worms that simply doesn't look good when scrolling around the screen).
I remember getting Worms to run well with Basilisk II a few years back.
I think the latest version have gone SDL so it might be slower now than it used to be though.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 17:21   #12
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade
What was Warcraft like under emulation?
Now I wonder the same question.

I have original CD, but I'm missing Warcraft II original CD which was PC/Mac compatible. Not sure if first CD was the same PC/Mac compatible. Will have to check it.
Anubis is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 18:32   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
I have original CD, but I'm missing Warcraft II original CD which was PC/Mac compatible. Not sure if first CD was the same PC/Mac compatible. Will have to check it.
I have Warcraft II which I think I bought from Sold-Out software for £5 http://www.sold-out.co.uk/soldout/index.html

Also grabbed Broken Sword 1 + 2 and House of the Dead 2 at the same time
DamienD is online now  
Old 03 October 2006, 18:46   #14
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
I also got Warcraft II Battle.net which includes both original game and scenario. Got this after I couldn't find original. The lost Warcraft game was also part of Battle Chest, which means it includes both first game, second game and scenario. I've lost only original CD for Warcraft II, but still have other cds from chest.

Can't you tell I liked the game?
Anubis is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 19:28   #15
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UmeŚ / Sweden
Posts: 188
WarCraft 2 runs rather decent. Fully playable.

Concerning Dark Forces... the demo I have run, I just recalled, a friend of mine confirms that he has run it aswell...(under ShapeShifter, that is). I have not tried the full version though...
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 03 October 2006, 21:20   #16
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legerdemain
WarCraft 2 runs rather decent. Fully playable.

Concerning Dark Forces... the demo I have run, I just recalled, a friend of mine confirms that he has run it aswell...(under ShapeShifter, that is). I have not tried the full version though...
Interesting, Because Shapeshifter doesn't work with multibinaries which Dark Forces is. 68k/PPC
If it does run i wouldn't imagine it would work well as you really need to a PPC to run it at its best.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 October 2006, 01:15   #17
X-ray
Angry Kid Fan
X-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 230
I played and finished Warcraft II and it was definitely playable...no complaints here. That was with Shapeshifter on my A4KT/060, no gfx card.
X-ray is offline  
Old 04 October 2006, 02:13   #18
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
So Warcraft II would of run smoothly on a Amiga 1200/030? or would the std 020 with 2mb chip and 2mb fast be good enough.

Isn't Warcraft 2 at 256cols @ 640x480 resolution?
redblade is offline  
Old 04 October 2006, 16:33   #19
X-ray
Angry Kid Fan
X-ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 230
@ redblade

I can't envision it being very good on anything less than an 040.
X-ray is offline  
Old 04 October 2006, 16:36   #20
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UmeŚ / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-ray
@ redblade

I can't envision it being very good on anything less than an 040.
If you have an 060 you will need MacOS 8.x to get it to run at all... not sure about 040, though...
Legerdemain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Amiga Emulation & Lion Washac support.OtherUAE 11 23 November 2011 20:55
Caveman coinop-not joe&mac rare_j Retrogaming General Discussion 6 19 February 2011 07:29
Emplant Board & what Mac OS? amigasociety New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 14 February 2010 12:47
experimental uae for linux ( & mac too?? ) mtb support.OtherUAE 57 15 September 2004 14:19
Joe & Mac Exodus HOL data problems 1 28 April 2004 15:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.53885 seconds with 11 queries