English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2001, 09:45   #1
Exodus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 89
WHDLoad

I have no idea what WHDLoad is. What is it and where do I get it? What I understand is tha it's a program that lets you load Workbench hard disks? Is this correct?

Exodus
Exodus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 December 2001, 09:52   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
It's installs games to hard disk. Here's some text that I wrote about WHDLoad in this thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?threadid=1480

WHDLoad:

Most Amiga games comes on floppy disks. This was fine in the old days of the Amiga, as games tended to be small. Hard disks were not common. Long loading times and disk swapping were problems, however.

Eventually, hard disks started to become more common and many games (mostly flight sims, RPGs and strategy games) had their own installer which meant that you could run the game from hard disk - all the files would be copied into a directory. Other games without an installer could be run by using the assign command too.

But, there were a large number of games which couldn't be installed to hard disk. The disks would be in a non-DOS format, for copy protection reasons and so that the programmers could take over the whole machine. This often meant that the games wouldn't work on newer Amigas.

After having bought a shiny new hard disk, this wasn't good news.

The first attempt to solve these issues were to create individual installers for each game. However, it was likely that each installer would share similar code.

Jean-Francois Fabre and Bert Jahn created two separate systems to fix these problems. Jean-Francois created JST and Bert created WHDLoad. They encapsulate common functions that can be used to install games.

With WHDLoad, a slave needs to be written for each game. The data on the game floppy is read into a disk image on the hard disk once and the slave redirects floppy access to this file afterwards. WHDLoad has all the advantages listed in the first posting of this thread.

Essentially, you can run hundreds of Amiga games off the hard disk with a double-click and never have to worry about disk swapping, long loading times and incompatibility with your A1200 again.

WHDLoad is about $20 to register. Not registering means that a nag screen appears each time it is run. JST used to need registering, but it is now freeware and discontinued.

See:

WHDLoad - www.whdload.de
JST - http://jffabre.free.fr/amiga/patches.html


Here are the advantages of WHDLoad:

1. Runs games/demos completely from hard disk.
2. Removes disk swapping nightmares.
3. Fixes compatibility problems with newer Amigas.
4. Removes any copy protection.
5. Saves the original game from death by floppy corruption.
6. Writes/loads save games/hiscores to hard disk.
7. Sometimes fixes bugs.
8. Apart from the initial registration, the installers are provided free.
9. Often fix incompatibility problems with Amiga emulators, by eliminating problems with disk loading problems, badly coded pirate intros and anti-copy protections.
10. Supports nearly 1000 games and over 170 demos.
11. A quitkey can be used to exit from all games to Workbench.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 05 December 2001, 10:43   #3
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
WHDLoad is some of the most important utilites for amiga gaming these days ... (at least for me)..

it means that my A4000/060 can play all the good A500 oldies from HD and with a quit key (wow, that is almost like something i could have dreamt about in the early 90`s )..

great stuff...
kriz is offline  
Old 05 December 2001, 10:57   #4
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
An A1200 with a hard disk full of games is the only way to play!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 05 December 2001, 18:19   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
I preffer disk swapping in my A600
Akira is offline  
Old 05 December 2001, 22:12   #6
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Are you sure you didn't just copy-'n'-paste that lengthy text from a previous discussion on this board about WHDLoad, Cody?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 06 December 2001, 00:00   #7
Exodus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 89
Re; WHDLoad

Thanks for the info. I'll check this program out.

Exodus
Exodus is offline  
Old 06 December 2001, 08:44   #8
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
Quote:
Are you sure you didn't just copy-'n'-paste that lengthy text from a previous discussion on this board about WHDLoad, Cody?
Don't worry, the monkeys typed it in for me!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 15 December 2001, 15:49   #9
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Question

Sorry to reopen this thread,but by the sounds of this info WHDLoad sounds like an Amiga program,(ie:distributed as a native Amiga program for amigas). What about installation into something like WinUAE-will you need a LHA type extraction program?

Unless the program is registred, I take it you cannot update the installers list,(Or however it is WHDLoad works-never used it, so I don't know.)?
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 15 December 2001, 21:19   #10
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
You'll need to extract the LHA/LZX archive on everything - emulator and real Amiga.

WHDLoad has a nag message for unregistered users and doesn't run some installs.
CodyJarrett is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE - Unregistered WHDLOAD : WHDLOAD.KEY - FIX Neil79 support.FS-UAE 14 29 January 2013 22:34
help me executing an whdload-installed game without whdload Gaula92 support.Games 7 26 January 2011 21:44
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 06:36
WHDload issues (Complete WHDload nub, apologies in advance) dire_wolf project.WHDLoad 31 09 October 2009 20:41
http://www.whdload.de/whdload/vip/ Crank79 project.WHDLoad 37 11 April 2007 16:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14689 seconds with 11 queries