English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2006, 11:36   #1
Solid Snake
Wonderful World Of Amiga
Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 331
Frontier First Encounters (FFE)

Since this game failed to materialise on the A1200, I managed to track down an original PC version on CDROM. The system requirements on the box are: 386DX/486DX, 4-8MB RAM, Hard disk with 5MB free space, standard VGA graphics and CD-ROM drive.

It suddenly occured to me that it may be possible to write a port program (like Scumm) to allow Amiga users to finally play this sequel to Frontier. I am not sure about the copyright issues or if the game code has become open source.

Maybe some resourceful Amigan can produce a playable port of FFE?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ffe.jpg
Views:	218
Size:	9.3 KB
ID:	11961  
Solid Snake is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 September 2006, 03:00   #2
BlaCkAdDa
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 211
Send a message via ICQ to BlaCkAdDa
Considering Frontier is written entirely in assembly, I doubt anyone would have the requisite time or skills for such a task.... unless the data files were some how closely compatible..... Didnt frontier have some option for loading a data disk or something that was never utilised?
BlaCkAdDa is offline  
Old 01 September 2006, 03:31   #3
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 257
there`s a reversed open-source Version available. I dont think its fully portable though, currently seems to be still limited to x86. It would however be a good starting point.

On the other side, you could just play it on Windows or Linux. I doubt many people have no PC, but only an Amiga that would play FFE nice.
Npl is offline  
Old 01 September 2006, 09:18   #4
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 48
Posts: 510
there appears to be an AGA (well, CD32 version) for download here:

http://innociv.sam-city.com/frontier/e_games.htm
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 01 September 2006, 10:08   #5
metalrules
Registered User
metalrules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 32
Good idea, just take all the bugs out of it.
metalrules is offline  
Old 02 September 2006, 22:45   #6
Solid Snake
Wonderful World Of Amiga
Solid Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 331
Yes, I know its possible to just play FFE under windoze, but to see it running on an Amiga would be great. The kind of feeling you got when PC Doom was ported to the Amiga. I believe a port is possible under AGA OS3.5+/040+/16MB

Basically, how does a 'port' of a program work?
Solid Snake is offline  
Old 03 September 2006, 00:14   #7
Npl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solid Snake
Yes, I know its possible to just play FFE under windoze, but to see it running on an Amiga would be great. The kind of feeling you got when PC Doom was ported to the Amiga. I believe a port is possible under AGA OS3.5+/040+/16MB

Basically, how does a 'port' of a program work?
Depends on what you have from the program. In the case of FFE not much besides the binary, which leds to the hardest part: understanding 10 thousand of lines of assembler code and get an idea how everything works together. Then reimplent it for another system.

Its different for id games as you can get sources for their old games (including comments how everything works). In the optimal case you only replace OS-specific parts and hit compile, without having to understand the innards of the game itself.

So in a nutshell its alot harder than porting Doom, and I dont think many people would care. The feeling I got when Doom was ported?
Npl is offline  
Old 03 September 2006, 02:23   #8
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
Elite 2 doesn't have data files on Amiga, most of the data is held in the main .exe file, so porting just isn't an option.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 03 September 2006, 16:18   #9
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmomelb
there appears to be an AGA (well, CD32 version) for download here:

http://innociv.sam-city.com/frontier/e_games.htm

dude.... the link.... its broken..... (((((((((
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 September 2006, 14:44   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
excelent thank you k2uphill.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 September 2006, 17:39   #11
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
What exactly are the differences between this and the usual version of Frontier? Any texture mapping?
Antiriad is offline  
Old 05 September 2006, 20:31   #12
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
apart from the bugs which render it completely unplayable imho (which is good going considering how buggy Frontier seemed!) one thing i cant stand on FFE is the little video clips you get for the people you communicate with (this may only have been on the CD version) - they look unbeleivably dated and tacky.


i still much prefer Frontier, and the best thing that could happen would be a disassembly of that and the insertion of the textures from FFE. fat chance of that happening though .
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 06 September 2006, 02:24   #13
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
The thing is it's more than "insertion" as code would have to be written to render the textures, and a whole lot of other shite!

Too much hastle I suppose!
BippyM is offline  
Old 06 September 2006, 11:09   #14
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
more the point texture mapping to most levels on a stock amiga would cripple its performance...

its a shame though... i would to see Elite stocked on the shelves again... taking on the galaxy in a MK3 cobra.... with military lasers of course....


maybe i might wright a spacer game... as soon as a finnish an engine for a certain project might even have some screenies for a special moderator by the end of the month....
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ffe D3d synchro Retrogaming General Discussion 0 22 November 2012 14:19
Elite 2: Frontier Galahad/FLT support.Games 28 06 November 2010 17:52
Elite First Encounters and Amiga HonoredShadow Retrogaming General Discussion 8 10 August 2007 19:07
Frontier: First Encounters Shrub Retrogaming General Discussion 5 06 September 2005 12:26
Frontier Elite Dr. Dude support.Games 10 25 October 2004 14:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19735 seconds with 12 queries