English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 August 2006, 18:57   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
PC DOS Games box - for free!

I didn't put this in Market place as it's not Amiga hardware, so off-topic it is!

What we have here is a P233 MMX base unit, but possibly one of the best examples you'll find these days! I built it as a project years ago with the idea of putting together a DOS games box. Rest of the hardware:
  • Intel motherboard and chipset
  • Matrox Millenium II (considered the best card for DOS games)
  • Sound Blaster AWE32 ISA with 8MB onboard memory (very rare with the mem and more compatible than the later AWE64)
  • 64MB RAM (P1's can't cache anything over 64MB so adding more reduces performance)
  • 6GB Hard Disk
  • CDRW (plus a batch of 10 4x CDRWs I bought with the drive)
  • Install CDs with Win95b, Win98 drivers etc
  • Windows 98 and DOS support through a boot menu (I'm sure I setup several boot menu DOS configs that work with nearly all games)

The case and CPU cooler are brand new, there isn't a spot of dust anywhere in the case. Can throw in a keyboard and mouse as well, but these are a little used.

I really don't want to throw this PC away as it's too good! Wish I could keep it but room is an issue. I thought I'd offer it for free to EABers first, then give ebay a go, before finally seeing if I can find a charity that takes old PCs.

Be aware however that you'll need to pay for the postage, which will be a fair bit. Parcel Force is reasonable and will pick up from my gaff and deliver to anywhere in the UK.

So, anyone have a good home for this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DOSBOX.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	129.9 KB
ID:	11960  

Last edited by Bloodwych; 30 August 2006 at 23:19.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:02   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
wow, I would like to get my hands on the matrox + awe32 card...
keropi is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:05   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
oh, and why do u say matrox is best for dos???
I have a Diamond Stealth 3D PRO 4MB on my 166mmx dosbox...
keropi is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:11   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Just going on picture quality and the very fast VESA modes. Should have said "one of the best".

Obviously it isn't a 3d accelerated card, but it rocks for the older games that didn't require such features.

I know you're a PC legend Keropi, so I'll down grade it to the second best.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:18   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
LOL, no need to downgrade it really... only had experience with mystique, but it was not better than S3 in 2D...
and don't forget, for proper VESA modes support UNIVBE (former Scitech Display Doctor) is essential... it is a software TSR VESA 2/3 driver that takes advantage of each chip's individual acceleration features...
keropi is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:25   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
and don't forget, for proper VESA modes support UNIVBE (former Scitech Display Doctor) is essential... it is a software TSR VESA 2/3 driver that takes advantage of each chip's individual acceleration features...
Yep, an old Dos classic like Discworld 2 runs well under XP with UNIVBE & VDMSound too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 19:59   #7
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I’m moving this thread to Retrogaming General Discussion as some members may have Off Topic in ignore list.
Paul is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 22:13   #8
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
The best Pentium era DOS video cards were the Tseng et6000 based cards with full 4MB of RAM, and the Nvidia Riva cards (PCI only, the AGP had issues). There are quite a few runner ups also.

For older machines using the ISA or VLB bus you have the TSENG, ARK, and a few other chipsets.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 22:15   #9
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,943
Dos *sigh*

Conquest of the New World (deluxe), Crusader: No Remorse, Redneck Rampage 1 & 2, Daggerfall... all classics that I enjoyed a lot and simply will not boot under Windows XP with VDMSound and any kind of compatibility mode (on my system) And to emulate them with Dosbox will probably take an AMD64 with 8 cores...

Damn Microsoft for not supporting direct memory vesa modes in a fullscreen Command prompt
gimbal is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 23:23   #10
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Add a pair of Voodoo2 boards in there for some good ol' SLI GLide goodness...
adolescent is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 23:27   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks Paul.

Gimbal, yeah I had loads of fun playing many of those DOS games and others that I missed during my Amiga years. Never will replace my favouritism for my A1200 however - back then the PC had a powerful CPU, while the Amiga had a unique class.

And Unknown, you are the PC daddy! The PC scene was really slow to take off in the UK compared to America. I'll defer to your PC knowledge any day.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 00:08   #12
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I grew up gaming on the PC (had to sell my C64 back in 1990 or so to buy a 286 for college). Over the last 3 years or so I went about reconstructing the best DOS gaming rigs I could to finish up some of the games I never finished and to play some of the games I never had. It is nice being able to afford the cards I might have wanted back then but did not have the money to buy (like the Dual Voodoo 2 SLI I have now but could only afford one when they were $300 each).
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 00:41   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
lol, I had SLI voodoo2's from creative... they where almost at the same speed as voodoo3 and faster than TNT2_M64 ...
3dfx rocked!
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 00:53   #14
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
lol, I had SLI voodoo2's from creative... they where almost at the same speed as voodoo3 and faster than TNT2_M64 ...
3dfx rocked!
The SLI setup gave you 1024x768 while the single boards limited you to 800x600 so having 2 was nice (but if you look close enough you can see some distortion where one cards scan line stopped and the other cards started).

The M64 version of the TNT2 was crippled for OEM cards (64 bit memory instead of the 128Bit used on the performance cards).
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 00:57   #15
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yes I am aware of that, but they rocked
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 05:16   #16
BlaCkAdDa
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Adelaide / Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 211
Send a message via ICQ to BlaCkAdDa
the tseng et6000's were alright but had lots of driver issues if i remember rightly, but were better than the real cheap alternatives.
The matrox cards were a lot better, but cost as much as current 3d Cards (ie near $300!) compared to $60 or so for an et6000.
BlaCkAdDa is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 05:24   #17
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
The ET6000 had some funky MDRAM and if you had the full 4.25MB (yes not a clean 4MB) the RAM was interleaved and was faster. I find the Riva to be a bit faster and has more VESA modes for games in ROM.

$300 for a Matrox Millenium is about what I paid for mine back when it was hot (still have it).

I was planning on doing some benchmarks with my cards but never got around to it.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 08:12   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
the rivaZX was good for DOS? wow... never actually bothered with it, I had a Diamond Stealth 3D (and later a speedstarA55) + voodoo2 SLI combo... though I doubt that a pentium1 would benefit from it or the Millenium card...


nice looking p1 Bloodwych !
keropi is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 12:00   #19
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
i HAVE 2 voodoo 2's ready and waiting for what ever reasons lol...

I would love to bolt 'em onto an amiga, but i doubt theres any drivers

secondaraly i have a voodoo 5500 pci....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 22:41   #20
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I have a Voodoo 5500 also (AGP) used it a few years and retired it for a Kyro 2 which was retired for my present ATI 9000 in this relic of a game machine.

The 5500 was placed back in its original box with all packing incase I need it someday.
Unknown_K is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MS Dos Games equal or better than Amiga games Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 131 17 June 2016 05:50
Where to get old DOS games? Fingerlickin_B Retrogaming General Discussion 7 11 June 2008 16:20
DOS games JohnnyBeGood project.SPS (was CAPS) 5 08 April 2008 20:48
For those of you that must run old MS-DOS games, DOS Box has been ported Pyromania Amiga scene 19 06 June 2003 12:44
*DOS* Fellow problems with my Athlon TB box andreas support.WinFellow 10 17 January 2002 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34401 seconds with 12 queries