English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2006, 10:04   #1
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
foreign language workbenchs.

Hi

I was wondering what it was like living in a non English speaking country and using Workbench.

Was it recompiled with German/French/Spanish.. comments and the commands renamed, or did you have to rough it out and do the Amiga course in English?
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 August 2006, 11:47   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,551
Beginning with Workbench 2.1 localisation was introduced. This means, you had a prefs program where you could choose one of the installed languages and the Workbench immediately changed its language. Most programs supporting locale.library do the same, some need to be stopped and restarted, but you don't need to install another Workbench version, you don't even need to reboot in order to switch languages.

Installing new languages just means to copy the catalog files to the Locale directory of the boot partition.

Earlier Workbench versions (2.0 and below) only existed in english. Only the keyboard layout could be changed.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 11:53   #3
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade
Was it recompiled with German/French/Spanish.. comments and the commands renamed, or did you have to rough it out and do the Amiga course in English?
and italian, don't forget it... however, menus and other stuff was localized, NOT the commands (thinking about it, now, 16 years later i wouldn't know how to translate many of them in italian, they are crystalized in english) and program names
Marcuz is online now  
Old 29 August 2006, 12:20   #4
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
http://ato.bitbrook.de/
Chain is offline  
Old 29 August 2006, 13:44   #5
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
Last update: 11th of January 2001.

however, i always wondered at the attitude many people have about untranslated english applications. they have the access to the information, as they are indeed handling a computer, and they pretend to fully manage this mean but only if it gets localized in their language, when, mostly, the language that flow thru this mean is totally indipendent by the geographic area where you live. it's like to say you want to appreciate latin literacy or you do appreciate latin literacy but you only know about it and read it through italian translated texts, and you don't even know latin is a whole different culture.
why don't invest some time in learning something new?
Marcuz is online now  
Old 30 August 2006, 09:53   #6
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Well, I never liked and never used any OS in Greek. However, there was a Greek Workbench version and apparently, it was one of the best releases I have seen.
manicx is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 11:31   #7
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
a greek version? with greek letters? cool! i would like to see it! do you have a screenshot?
Marcuz is online now  
Old 30 August 2006, 11:48   #8
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana
a greek version? with greek letters? cool! i would like to see it! do you have a screenshot?

Here: http://main.aminet.net/pix/wb/AristWB.jpg

Cool indeed!

I always liked the ability on the amiga workbench to change language on-the-fly.
amiga is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 12:42   #9
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco pedrana
and italian, don't forget it
Hehe sorry dude.

Any one got the Russian Locale?
redblade is offline  
Old 30 August 2006, 23:01   #10
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 188
I am pretty sure I have seen a Workbench in Japanese aswell. Does anyone know anything about this, or have I just mixed up it with the russian locale?
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 31 August 2006, 09:53   #11
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
Legerdemain: I have seen some Japanese tools on aminet and there are also some Japanese translators on that ato site.

But I am not sure if there is a Japanese/Nihongo locale.
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any one use foreign alphabets on their Amiga redblade Amiga scene 5 05 August 2008 18:08
EAB Users workbenchs DDNI Retrogaming General Discussion 44 29 January 2007 09:55
I want all FOREIGN versions of SWOS Galahad/FLT request.Old Rare Games 0 20 February 2002 01:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20330 seconds with 11 queries