English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2006, 12:09   #61
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
Lemmings has built-in NTSC-switch key, i think it was <TAB>. And Lemmings 2 too had the same thing if i remember, maybe a different key though.
Just tried it... yes, it works in both games, it even removes that 'time is running to fast'-bug in Lemmings 2. However, what it does in reality is simply to switch the entire system to NTSC 'on the fly' and unless one switches back before quiting the game ones PAL-configured Workbench (if not running on RTG) will suddenly be shown in NTSC. A nice feature, overall, but I do prefer the 'true' NTSC versions, though, and those are the ones I would recommend to others aswell.
Legerdemain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 September 2006, 12:17   #62
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Why do you wish to run NTSC games and a PAL workbench anyway?

why not just run an NTSC workbench in the first place if you wish to play NTSC games all the time?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 September 2006, 15:32   #63
Legerdemain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Umeň / Sweden
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Why do you wish to run NTSC games and a PAL workbench anyway?

why not just run an NTSC workbench in the first place if you wish to play NTSC games all the time?
I do not wish to run NTSC games all the time... I just prefer to run the dedicated NTSC version of the game if there is one (instead of running the PAL version in NTSC, which at times gives some strange results, like in some of the games earlier mentioned). I'd say that 99% of the games I do run on my Amiga, I run under PAL... because most of the games were made for PAL in the first place.



Running Workbench under 320*200 NTSC isn't really pleasant, according to me... the screen simply feels to small to be all that useful. The extra 56 rows of pixels you get when running in PAL easily makes me prefer PAL instead of NTSC.

The main reason for me bothering about NTSC and PAL at all... comes down to the fact that I am disturbed that many PAL-games shows their intro screens in full PAL-glory... just to throw us the actual gameplay screen also in PAL but using only the first 200 vertical pixels giving that ugly looking black border at the bottom of the screen. It just looks wrong, according to me. Brian the Lion, for example, looks like it was designed for NTSC... showing off 56 rows of black pixels at the bottom of the screen all the way through the game (which just looks plain ugly) but if run in NTSC the game slows down considerably at times when some visual effects are at work (there isn't even any NTSC dedicated version of that very game, as far as I know). It's just something that I have to accept... except in those cases that there are dedicated NTSC versions of particular games.

So, while in reality not being THAT problematic to me... it is one of those things that just bothers me. Just like some people can't stand to use TFT/Plasma screen together with any other resolution than they were designed for (just to avoid the 'blurred' effect or the 'wrong pixel aspect ratio' effect). Silly, yes, maybe... but I have always been pretty silly, I think... and I guess it all comes from the fact that I grew up with the NES, where we european people were given 50Hz versions of games that were designed to be run in 60Hz, often with music playing to fast or to slow, the entire gameplay always slowed down... always having to live with those damn black borders at the top and the bottom of the screen.


Last edited by Legerdemain; 28 September 2006 at 16:00.
Legerdemain is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 10:37   #64
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
So... is there a new site for all of Killergorilla's most excellent WHDload compilations?
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 11:42   #65
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Yes. but currently there is nothing on it
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 14:51   #66
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
AHA!

Ooh, the anticipation is better than Lost or Prison Break!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 14:54   #67
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Lost is rubbish, I will not deny access to the site from your IP.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 10:21   #68
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
A thousand thank yous I bestow upon thee...
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 22:02   #69
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
its all ready done, just waiting on KG to finalize and then its gona be relased

Its taking a while as KG is really busy, but he's getting there
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 November 2006, 23:01   #70
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 41
Posts: 566
Gawd bless y'all, ya lovely, lovely peeps!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 15 November 2006, 01:57   #71
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
its all ready done, just waiting on KG to finalize and then its gona be relased

Its taking a while as KG is really busy, but he's getting there
don't you fear the bandwidth use will kill it? maybe a parallel bittorrent release?
Marcuz is offline  
Old 15 November 2006, 02:04   #72
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
The hosting i have allows for UNLIMMITED bandwidth, so I am not worried.

I have a high spec commecial package

I cannot guarantee download rates though lol
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 15 November 2006, 22:28   #73
Thom Braxton
 
Posts: n/a
No downloadable files

Hello,
I tried to download the zip-file, but ich is not available.

Is there any other download-adress?

Greetz!
Thom Braxton
 
Old 16 November 2006, 00:14   #74
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Heys Thom the links here are from a website that was taken down. a new site will be up and running soon... links will follow, just give the KillerGorilla a bit more time... he's busy, but most certainly getting there.
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga WHDLoad Games MARCH-JUNE Updates 2006 killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 43 17 July 2006 17:09
Amiga Future Issue 61 (July/August 2006) Out AndreasM News 0 06 July 2006 13:26
Amiga WHDLoad Games July Update 2005 killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 48 10 December 2005 00:53
Amiga WHDLoad Demos & Games August 2004 Update DeCreator Amiga scene 19 07 September 2004 11:39
Amiga WHDLoad Games July Update DeCreator Amiga scene 29 08 August 2004 22:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27895 seconds with 11 queries