English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 August 2006, 23:30   #1
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Mame

Is there a way for me to test Mame under Winuae?
every time I try it crashes?
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 August 2006, 23:45   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
... the legendary arcade emulator created by Nicola Salmoria???

Why would you even try, I don't see the point??? Running a Windows emulator in another Windows emulator...

I don't believe it would even be possible... Again I say why, what are you trying to achieve???
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 August 2006, 13:25   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Ooops, sorry Boo Boo

I remembered there is an Amiga version available. It must be very, very old though and probably only runs old games...

A while ago I also believe that I read on some thread here that a member (dlfrsilver???) was trying to run Strider with it
DamienD is offline  
Old 18 August 2006, 13:39   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes i have run strider on mame on my amiga 1200.

2 things : the CPS1 system is very near technologically from A1200.
I have checked many things, the hardware, the way it operates.
The CPS1 system is PLANAR like the amiga, and best of all, CPS1 games never
display more than 256 colors at the same time on screen.

It's fucking slow for 2 reason : mame has never been optimised for amiga.
it transform the CPS1 planar screens to Chunky display and reconvert to planar on amiga 1200/4000.

If mame was corrected to support plain PLANAR display, and then push the
data on stack on the amiga, the machine could be able to power any CPS1 games.

the second reason is the sound hardware to support. you'd need to convert
to mod each sound file, or have a soundcard like delphina, or having a stronger 680X0 to push on the sound via AHI system.

and also, we have enough memory to stock the game graphics in 16 mb of fast memory.....

but who can do a nicer conversion of mame ? hmm ? ^^
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 18 August 2006, 14:34   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Thanks for the info dlfrsilver

Good memory hey (for once)
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 August 2006, 12:10   #6
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Cross Emulation

Hi wanted to Test Mame on Uae cos my Migi is under spec 6mb untill i upgrade
And always had problems under Uae any advice?

An update of Mame could be a good bit of crippleware/Shareware
Do you think anyone out there could do it?

Most emulators donít often take advantage of Amiga - ArcEm? but limited donít know about AMame
I wonder if the Mega Drive emulator could be much faster....

Its cool playing with Coolnes and AmiMasterGear it more satisfying Emulating/Playing them on Amiga than Pc!?!
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 21 August 2006, 21:01   #7
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 46
Posts: 236
Traditionally, Mame doesn't take advantage of anything at all.. It's mainly for documenting the hardware and perfect emulation. That games run at all is, according to the devs, a side effect.. For example, Mame doesn't use any 3D effects from a PC's graphics card for 3D arcade games like Tekken. (having said that, it does use D3D, but for effects and overlays -- just drawing the frame itself) About the only thing that helps Mame run faster is raw CPU power.

For something like CPS games, I think what's really wanted here is for someone to take the CPS driver from Mame, and write an emulator for the Amiga using it as reference, as opposed to optimizing Mame for the Amiga. Perhaps in that way, use could be made of the 68000 and graphics capabilities. Zinc and Modeler, for the PC, use 3D routines in this way to emulate 3D arcade games. (I'm not saying an Amiga optimized Mame wouldn't run faster than whatever port there is for it now, but I doubt it would help much, or at least, not nearly as much as an entirely new emulator written for the Amiga)
paranoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mame Fissuras Retrogaming General Discussion 19 01 August 2013 10:16
MAME: How to use HLSL? Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 3 28 December 2012 03:55
MAME thread Marcuz Retrogaming General Discussion 124 25 August 2007 18:26
mame or mame32? tarr Retrogaming General Discussion 14 21 September 2006 22:04
Mame 0.60 Big-Byte Retrogaming General Discussion 0 17 April 2002 12:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13956 seconds with 11 queries